We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“End of wonderful vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Ranked #75 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“End of wonderful vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at here just for an overnight stay before heading back to Canada after 2 weeks in Hawaii. We were very pleasantly surprised. After reading reviews we prepared ourselves for the worst and thougth itis just a place to lay our heads. However the room, which was on the 9th floor had AMAZING views of the beach and the sunset. The room had tile floors and even thouh it was small, was very clean and quite. Yea you can tell it is an older hotel, but what we saw it was worth staying at.

The staff at the desk were great. This made it even better since we had a late flight out. They allowed us to keep our luggage there and use the facilities all afternoon and then in the evening before we flew out. All we needed was to ask and they were very accomadating.

Just watch out for the "concierge" service out front; not part of the hotel. They were rather pushy about buying their tours.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elroyjetson40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    216
    153
    55
    64
See reviews for
59
306
71
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My sister and I had a great time at the Aston Waikiki Beachside. We stumbled upon this hotel in a package deal with our flight booking, and were so happy that we did! Since we like to be active on vacations and knew we'd spend little time in the room, we were looking for a clean, budget hotel close to Waikiki Beach. The Aston Waikiki Beachside was a perfect fit!

You can't beat the location. It's just across the road from Waikiki Beach and provides guests with complimentary beach towels and mats. Our room was spacious and very clean. The room furnishings were basic but very comfortable. The housecleaning staff were so cheerful and helpful. It was a joy to see them each morning when leaving the hotel. Lave, who staffs the front desk in the mornings, was an absolute pleasure! He was always in a happy mood and incredibly helpful. He provided us with great directions and recommendations for local restaurants.

If you're looking for luxury, splurge for an ocean-view room or pay the extra money for a luxury hotel. It seems a little unfair to pay budget rates then expect lavish furnishings and ocean views. Overall, we had a wonderful time and would highly recommend the hotel for anyone looking for clean, basic accommodation with a fantastic location and great staff!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kbev86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naharia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We are a mature couple.
When we first arrived we got a shuttle from the airport and they took us to the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 2 blocks up from where we were staying. We had to walk with the luggage.
We stayed at the hotel before and after our cruise trough the islands.
At our first stay, we got a room with a view to the ocean. It was good comfortable and clean. There is no coffee maker in the room, but they gave us an electrical kettle .
In our second stay, they tried to give us a room with no windows, the ventilation was through the glass door, that was to the corridor!!! After some discussion, they agreed to give us a back room with windows to the next building roof. At least it was not noisy.
The hotel is old and decadent. No care for the furniture or paint in the walls.

Room Tip: Beware of the rooms with numbers that finish with 5. They have no windows!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zvifab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

When I first arrived I got a taxi from the airport and they took me to the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 2 blocks up from where I was staying. Finally got to the hotel and my heart sank when I saw it, too late to cancel. The room is ridiculous. I asked for 2 beds, and they are twin beds, that's not so bad, but I opened the curtain and I look out onto a wall...I don't think coming thousands of miles to Hawaii should give me a wall to look at. I booked my hotel stay on Black Friday and got a 50% discount... I would never pay full price to stay. I thought I was getting a great deal. No pool, no restaurant, even though there are tons within walking distance, but sometimes the convenience is just nice. I will never stay here again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clz_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon-Norman D, Manager at Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Aloha:

Thank you for taking the time to complete the guest survey that was sent to you upon departure! I sincerely apologize if our property was not what you expected.

Aston Hotels & Resorts manages both our property (Waikiki Beachside Hotel) and the Waikiki Beach Hotel. And although our names are very similar, there are many differences ranging from amenities, pricing and rooming options. We understand that our property may not be the most modernized nor updated; however, we offer our guests amazing room rates for clean accommodations and unbeatable customer service. Please note that the room you booked and confirmed in (Moderate) was in fact the room category you received.

Once again, I sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you. may have encountered. If you should ever change your mind and wish to stay with us again, please let me know directly as I will be sure you enjoy yourself as much as possible.

With much Mahalo!

Jon-Norman DeFries
Guest Service Manager
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Booked months ago and asked for a king sized bed with a view. "No Problem". Called again about 3 weeks before coming and same response.
When we got here today we are in a very small room with twin beds and absolutely no view except the walls of the next building. A terrible way to end our very nice vacation.We cannot believe that this is an Aston property. We have stayed in other Astons and had great rooms and our requests were honored.
Wi-Fi does not work in our room. Have to use in crowded reception area. Few plugs in room. No amenities. This reminds us of our first hotels we had to stay in when we had small children and little money.

Room Tip: Don't Trust the requests. Told we could not check in before 4 and then when we arrived said we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmalatesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon-Norman D, Manager at Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Aloha:

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with your recent stay with us! Please allow me some time to address as many of them as possible.

Please be reminded that when you booked/confirmed your room reservation, the Agent kindly asked for your requests (bedding, etc). Although we do not guarantee requests, we truly try our best to accommodate every single guest with their preference. The Moderate category, considered to be our "run-of-house" does in fact have a lanai; however, no view. This allows our guests to at least get some fresh air, if they choose to spend some time in their room. A few months ago, we began to offer our guests with Complimentary WiFi which has been very much appreciated. Please note that this service is provided through a 3rd party (Oceanic Time Warner) and I can guarantee that if one of our Agents were made aware of your troubles logging on, they would have done whatever they could to resolve the matter.

I truly hope this information helps shed some light on your concerns. I am also happy to hear that our Agents offered you a room move during your stay to that king bedded room (once one became available).

With much Mahalo,

Jon-Norman DeFries
Guest Service Manager
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I thought being an Aston hotel, quality should be guaranteed. To my surprise, this is certainly not the case.

I booked a standard interior room, being interior, I don't expect ocean view, but I don't expect a storeroom either. The room has no window at all, I suspect they converted the storeroom into a guest room just to earn more money. The room is humid, I mean humid! The air conditioner was operating at full capacity when we got there, it feels like a fridge when we arrive. We turn it down before we went out for a walk. When we get back to the hotel room, the floor is completely wet (just because we turn down the air conditioning)!

We need to have to air conditioning running at full capacity at all time to deal with the humidity. We complained to the reception lady, she asked us to pay extra to upgrade to another room (but they don't have any)!

Another thing I don't like about the room is that the door is just a wooden frame with a series of slip on frosted glass in the middle. So, to be clear, you do not need a key to get in! All you need to do is to slip the glasses down, then you can break into the room! I did not feel comfortable leaving any valuables in the room, so we ended up carrying almost everything when we go out.

We didnt sleep well that night, as it was so cold due to the air conditioning.

Well, all I want is a "normal" room with comfortable bed. I don't think this is a big ask, especially when you are staying with aston. Lucky that I only stayed 1 night, but this was my last night at Hawaii before flying back home, so my first trip to Hawaii didn't end perfectly.

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. It is right at the beach.

Room Tip: Not standard interior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon-Norman D, Manager at Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Aloha:

Thank you for choosing Aston Hotels & Resorts and the Waikiki Beachside Hotel!

Our property offers a wide variety of rooms ranging from the Standard Interior that you mentioned (our basic, most affordable room) up to our Ocean Front (our top room, facing the Ocean, on the 9th floor or higher). Please note that the category you reserved was never a storage room nor would we ever offer something of that nature; however, for those travelers who choose to not spend much time in their rooms, this option is great as it is cost-friendly and comfortable among other things. If you were looking for something with at least a window/lanai, I would recommend the next category (Moderate). Although it overlooks another building/wall, it does at least have a private lanai and some fresh air.

If you wish to share any other concerns with me, please let me know.

With much Mahalo,

Jon-Norman DeFries
Guest Service Manager
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Id have to say thanks for the reviews on this website, because I have to totally agree with most of them. This place is in an awesome location, very reasonably priced. We stayed in an inside room for 1 night and 2 nights on the 10th floor ocean view room. The inside room was nothing special, but clean. The ocean view room is definitely worth it. You do need to be high up though, because there is a tree that will block the lower level rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for the 10th Room - ocean room - perfect! Just be aware cleaners knock on your door early (like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bradley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#38 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Waikiki Central Hotel
Waikiki Central Hotel
#36 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel

Property: Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Address: 2452 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6204
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel offers value accommodations in a prime location, directly across from world-famous Waikiki Beach. You'll be right in the heart of Hawaii's premier beach city at an incredible value. Onsite amenities include FREE WiFi, an activities desk, and a serene patio for lounging. Valet parking is available for $25 per day. With a convenient location and affordable accommodations, Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel is a gem on the Waikiki beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Beachside Honolulu
Resortquest Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Hotel Aqua Waikiki Beachside
Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing