We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs work....but Great location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Ranked #75 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Lake Somerset, Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Needs work....but Great location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel is a great location and we had a wonderful view of the beach, which is across the street. However, the room was small. There was no place to put anything....no shelves. Seemed like everything went on the floor. The shower leaked from the glass door, onto the floor. There was no bedspread on the bed. That may be a good thing! There was a lighted mirror in the bathroom that was literally hanging off the wall and exposing wires. That was an accident waiting to happen. We didn't spend much time in the room other than to sleep, but the elevator broke down while we were there. I think it was a good 24 hours out of service and we were on the 7th floor! The workers were very nice and those things were certainly not their fault. I was quite disappointed overall with the quality and up keep of this establishment. It has great potential with the right management.

Room Tip: If you don't have an ocean view, don't bother staying here. That was the best amenity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debharas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon-Norman D, Manager at Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Aloha:

Thank you for choosing Aston Hotels & Resorts and allowing the Waikiki Beachside Hotel to host youI

In your review, you mentioned that our rooms are fairly small which I agree with. Our rooms only average about 200 square feet with the largest square footage being our Partial Ocean rooms. Nonetheless, with our prime location and stellar customer service, our property is able to stand proud and bold in a sea of much higher priced neighboring hotels. WIth that being said, please note that our Management has been working feverishly with the Owners to assure your concerns are addressed as well as the many other ideas and suggestions that former guests share with us.

Also, thank you for your patience as we dealt with that unforeseen elevator trouble. As I am sure you noticed, our Staff did anything and everything possible to assist with the problem and our trained technicians were able to resolve the issue as quick as possible.

If you should ever choose to return to the Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel, please let me know.

With much Mahalo!

Jon-Norman DeFries
Guest Service Manager
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    216
    153
    55
    64
See reviews for
59
306
71
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great staff, super friendly, maid service on top of everything. We had the deluxe ocean balcony room and the view is stunning! Right next to Eggs 'n things, international market place, ABC convenience store, shopping outlets, and of course, you just cross the street to get to the beach. SO convenient. My room was super clean, the bathroom looked brand new, and I will stay here again next time I come.

Room Tip: No fitness center or restaurant on site, also no pool but the pacific ocean is literally 10 feet awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichelleK7654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I'm used to staying in nice hotels so i was not prepared for what i got when we checked in. Place looked good in pictures. Places is tiny and cramped. Litterally not more than a 10x10 room. Elevator held 3 people with luggage barely. Rooms were kind of gross. I would not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zdemsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon-Norman D, Manager at Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Aloha:

May I please ask what pictures you are referring to and where you might have seen them? Please note that our website and its content are updated and maintained on a regular basis and they truly reflect the "gem" that we are. Showcasing such rooms as our Standard Interior (basic category, no view, only window on the main door), Partial Ocean (largest rooms, window) and our Ocean Front (best category, 9th - 12th floors, private lanai), they truly document the quaint property called the Waikiki Beachside Hotel that Aston Hotels & Resorts has had the privilege of managing since 2011. I truly apologize if you were mislead or misinformed from a 3rd party website.

With much Mahalo!

Jon-Norman DeFries
Guest Service Manager
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

The only thing that can save an average hotel from being average is empeccable service and I did not find it here. My fault from coming from an amazing hotel in Mauii to this one. Staff were inconsistent.
One nice one, one uncaring one. I am on holiday, I am super happy so make me feel welcome please. Rooms were fine, small and very basic but I did pay for just that. I very much liked the location so you win there but please feel free to say hi when I enter the building and mean it, the reviews will be much better if you do. The second level just up the stairs from the foyer had free Internet, much appreciated. The beach opposite was lovely too, alot going on so expect noise but after midnight when the shops close it was actually pretty quiet so I slept well. Good for couples wanting something a little cheaper but wanting a decent location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank melfromaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Probably wouldn't stay here again, we booked an ocean view room which we could see a glimpse of the ocean. The room was TINY, really not much room for luggage even, also the lift was sooo small, I don't think more then 2 people with suitcases would fit in there. Our room wasn't cleaned properly, there was rubbish left behind after it had been serviced. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Don't expect wireless internet, Yes they offer free wireless but it does not work in your room, only works in the lobby and not very well. This hotel really needs a massive makeover, the rooms are so old and dated, its in the perfect location so could be sooo much better, get rid of the big cabinets in the rooms and old school TV's, put a tv on the wall and you will find there is much more space in the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MyLittleTravelFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. The room was clean and worked great, the location is awesome right next to eggs n things for your breakfast and right across from the beach and bus pick up. The staff was supper friendly and took great care of any thing we needed. I would highly recommend this hotel if your looking for a great value right at the heart of everything. The water pressure was fantastic in the shower and the air was ice cold which are two important things I look for.

Room Tip: We stayed in the non ocean view with a king size bed. Next time we would spring for the ocean view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rscritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights the room we were given was not what we requested. So, we did talk with the person at the front desk but, there was nothing he was willing to do for us. The room had a horrible smell the curitans were dirty never been cleaned. The lamp shades had never been cleaned either they were covered in dust. We told the front desk that we had allergies and needed to be in another room, Our request was denied there was nothing that could be done. We had to deal with the headaches and sinus pain everyday because they wouldn't move us.

Our room was rarely cleaned we did remove the do not disturb sign each day and still had to call the front desk after a long day asking for towels, toilet paper, ect.... the floor in our room was horrible it looked it never been cleaned. Every cornner of the room was dirty with cobwebs, The Tv remote didn't work the fridge didn't keep anything cold.

Don't expect much help from the front desk because if you need something they will make you come down and get it. They will not bring anything up for you.

I did ask to speak with the manager regarding this horrible stay but, the manager was not in is what the person working the desk told me.


I will don't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: don't stay at this hotel if you want to enjoy your trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LANI A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon-Norman D, Manager at Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Aloha:

Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding your stay at the Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel!

Please note that Aston Hotels & Resorts took over Management of the Waikiki Beachside Hotel on January 1, 2011. Since then, we have tried our best to refurbish and upkeep the property under quite a few obstacles. I have shared your concerns directly with my Housekeeping Supervisor who will in turn address all Staff members. Although we do not plan to renovate the entire property, cleanliness is a key factor and I humbly apologize for not meeting our standards. For future reference, our Room Attendants service all guest rooms anytime between 8am and 4pm unless a time is specified.

With regards to your comment about having to go down to the Front Desk to retrieve whatever you may have needed, please be advised that we operate with a very minimal Staff and in turn can continue to extend our guests some amazing rates for such a prime location, especially when compared to our neighboring hotels. During "normal business hours," we have Staff readily available and accessible should our guests need anything.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. They will surely help us perfect our Operations going forward.

With much Mahalo!

Jon-Norman DeFries
Guest Service Manager
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#14 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Central Hotel
Waikiki Central Hotel
#36 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel

Property: Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Address: 2452 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6204
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel offers value accommodations in a prime location, directly across from world-famous Waikiki Beach. You'll be right in the heart of Hawaii's premier beach city at an incredible value. Onsite amenities include FREE WiFi, an activities desk, and a serene patio for lounging. Valet parking is available for $25 per day. With a convenient location and affordable accommodations, Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel is a gem on the Waikiki beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Beachside Honolulu
Resortquest Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Hotel Aqua Waikiki Beachside
Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing