We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, excellent location, some ridiculous aspects”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed November 27, 2010

Excellent location right across the street form beach. I walked there with bare feet.
Excellent and helpful staff.
I think good value for the money (I found a discount web site)
However you are charged for each little thing ($3/day for the in room safe!)
Parking is really expensive
Rooms very nice except:
The Beach side view rooms on one side although quiet really face another condo and one needs to keep the shades closed for privacy. The pool side rooms have a lovely view but it is very noisy with traffic and the music from the breakfast band and the evening restaurant band.
Breakfast, although free is from 6:30 to 8:30 am only. Terrible hours for someone on vacation and not on a daily routine of tours. It is so crowded during those hours that you have to stock up and take it away. Eggs are $5 extra (!)

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelskikayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,672 - 2,678 of 3,953 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2010

This hotel was a great location in Waikiki! Nice and clean, free upgrade at check-in, and literally a 90 second walk to the beach across the street! Small and simple pool, nothing to complain about. My daughter and I enjoyed the hotel and loved the Tiki Restaurant next to the pool. Lunch prices were great (plus kids eat free) but dinner prices were a bit too high. Loved it, and would return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlmoran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Great front desk staff at check in, very friendly. Nice size rooms and decor. Housekeeping was okay, could have be better. Tiki Grill resturant in hotel is good, service okay. Good choice for lunch, pricey though. Dinner way too expense for what it is $30+ per entree! Free breakfast is good, they have quick stuff..Muffins, doughnuts, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt...Elevators had issues twice in which we had to use the service elevator. Overall the stay was very good and the location is great if you spend a lot of time on the beach!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

We had the unfortunate experience of staying at this motel after spending a week on the big island. The contrasts were striking. This motel is being run as a cash cow. They have so much business they don't care if you are there or not.

High spots., location is on Waikiki beach, great restraunt.
Low spots, minimal staffing so cleaning the rooms can go late into the evenings, elevators have long waits, rooms are particularly small, and you pay extra for everthing. Waffles for breakfast, extra. Use the safe in the room, extra. Loose your room key, extra. Don't turn in key when you leave, extra. Parking, extra and it goes on. I enjoyed my stay in Hawaii. I did not enjoy this motel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CommanderReeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

the room was not that clean and when they did our room they didn't even vacuum. It was so crowded in the room. (very small) the bathroom tiles were not to clean or at least they don't look like it. The location was great.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharlenealdrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2010

Aloha and thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not have a positive impression of our property. You comments about the bathroom tile are being addressed in future Capital Expenditures, as this is one of the few items that were not performed in our most recent renovation. We also will share the comments about vacuuming with our Executive Housekeeper, as that is one of the most basic tenets of our daily maid service.

Our apologies once again for a less-than-spectacular stay. Should you ever need any assistance with future stays in Hawaii, please contact me at the hotel. I certainly hope that we will receive another opportunity to serve you and change your impressions of the hotel.

Sincerely,

Mark DeMello
General Manager
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

After the confusion of the room (double beds vs. king size bed), we were very pleased with our accomodations. We had an excellent view of the ocean, and even left our sliding door opened at night to get the breeze and listen to the waves. As pointed out in many reviews, the elevators were sometimes a problem, but the continental breakfast was ample and covered a mulitude of choices for various tastes and appetites. The location was an excellent spot, because it one of the major meeting spots for tours and excursions, and the beach was right across the street. We can't wait to come back next year!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pegleg333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Overall, this was an ok hotel. I don't think I would try it again though.

PROS include location, nice pool, and friendly staff.

CONS include VERY thin walls (neighbors were up past 2am), interesting smell in bathroom, and charging extra for internet access in rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissingHawaii25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
1,660 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
2,301 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,648 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3698
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $182 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 645 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing