We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic resort at an even better price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic resort at an even better price!”
Reviewed January 20, 2010

I wasn't sure about this hotel when we first booked, as I had never heard of it before. But we couldn't pass up a 4-star hotel for $100 per night, on waikiki! It is across the street from the beach, which was just fine. The hotel is a little small and slightly compacted, but that is Hawaii! The room was beautiful, clean, with lovely plush linens and *trendy* tropical decor. Our view was spectactular, we could see the beach, pool, and everything in between. The "Breakfast on the Beach" was so lovely - we were given free coolers, and every morning, we'd go downstairs to a beautiful assortment of breakfast items, load up our coolers, and head to the beach! What a great idea! My only dislike was that there was no jacuzzi/hot tub/spa outside, but that is hardly a big deal. The hotel and surrounding area is busy... but hello, it's Waikiki! That is to be expected - it's like the Vegas strip of Hawaii! If you want a more quiet resort, try North Shore or the leeward side of the island.

I'd absolutely recommend this hotel - it was a great value for a 4-star hotel in Hawaii!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigwavesurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    1,575
    814
    275
    174
See reviews for
1,095
1,564
122
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We stayed at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel from December 24 - 30, 2009. We had a beach view of Waikiki. Housekeeping was fine. Breakfast on the beach was ok. You need to get there early, before 7:30 a.m. to beat the crowd. We parked our rental car about 2 blocks away to save us some money. We did our laundry about a couple of blocks away before we left. The elevators worked fine.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RedRaiders63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is at an amazing location and has a great staff. The price for this hotel was fabulous and the ammenities were just what we needed, walk across the street to the beach, trolley picks you up at the hotel, not to mention the free breakfast buffet! Our first trip to Hawaii and definitely not our last! We do a lot of travelling and this hotel was great, especially for the cost!

Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mugzy609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We stayed at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel for 2 nights before boarding our cruise. It was perfect for us. It is definately a basic property BUT the rooms are clean (no bed bugs-which is a huge problem in the area) and it included breakfast. The staff were friendly and the valet parking was quite efficient-they need about 15 minutes notice. Side note: if you are staying in the area, don't rent a car.
The hotel is located right across from Waikiki Beach and at the far end of the strip closest to Diamond Head. We could walk to the far end of the strip easily in about 20 minutes.
We booked the ocean front room and it was worth every single extra penny!
Any questions-let me know!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awhite219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

We stayed here for the first two nights of our trip to Hawaii and it turned out to be a great start! The staff was friendly, the room (and the whole hotel) was very clean and the view from our balcony outstanding. The beach is right across the street, restaurants are all around, you can start running along the ocean right from the doorstep, we got a really low rate via Hotwire – all in all: perfect!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bavaria77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

i split my trip between the Aston and the Outrigger on the beach and while the Outrigger is certainly a more upscale hotel, i really have no complaints about the Aston. First of all, i actually love that it's by the (east) end of Waikiki beach...it's a little away from the center of the action, but not completely by any means and the beach itself is nicer and a little less crowded by this hotel.
bottom line is that for the price, the Aston is a very good spot/value. the room was clean, they really get the basics right and for this location, if you don't need the frills of a more upscale hotel, the Aston is a good option...and it's still basically right on the beach (ok, so you have to cross the street, but you can handle that!).
i also think it's kinda funny that i had a flat screen tv at the aston and a regular old-school tube at the outrigger, but i barely watch either...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonkaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We have visited Waikiki Beach 6 times in the past 6 years and always stayed at a different hotel. This is one that we probably wont be visiting again. The positives first: the rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. Our room was on the 22nd floor and was a "partial ocean view" room. And funnily enough we could see the ocean partially. However, the view of Diamond Head was breath-taking. The balcony for these rooms is a faux one - you can barely fit on it - just enough for 2 people to stand. Other rooms facing the pool etc have larger balconies, but lack the spectacular view. The beds are super comfy and the amenities are fine - small bathroom, but great shower. Huge flat screen TV, in room safe ($3 a day). Nice Hawaiin decor. The location is prime. Right across the street from the beach - shops all around and the trolleys ad buses pull up right out front of this hotel ($2 fare to Ala Moana Shopping Mall). In room internet ($9.95 a day) or free wireless by the pool (although we couldnt get ours to work).

Now for th negatives - the breakfast that is included is bit of a joke. You are given a little cooler bag which you fill up at the breakfast station (by the pool) and you can take it where you like to eat it. Well, its like feeding time at the zoo. There are people everywhere stuffing as much as they can into their cooler bags as if it were the last day on earth. Not to mention the entertainment (yes, at 6.30am) - a guy singing and a girl hula dancing. All I can say is Im glad at our room is on the other side of the hotel - because waking up to that every morning would definately get on my nerves.

Finally, the pool is like day care - full of screaming, splashing, noisy (and in many cases unsupervised) children - not what you want when you are on a "relaxing" holiday. After 2 days we had had enough and opted for the beach instead!

The Tiki restaurant has nice enough food - but is over-priced. Plenty of other nice places to eat for half the price (like Lulu's right next door).

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank SMMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
1,440 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,476 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Property: Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3698
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 645 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing