We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Resort Quest Waikiki”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Aloha, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved the Resort Quest Waikiki”
Reviewed October 31, 2005

We spent two weeks at this resort hotel and found everything more than we expected. Our room, jr. suite, was clean and comfortable..however the bamboo curtains on the closet got a little irritating. The guest laundry facilities were bad, but we met a lot of nice people while we were waiting for the 2 working machines( out of 8)
Other than that all was good. The hotel is across from the beach and close to all things Waikiki. We had reserved a car, but turned it in after two days. we walked and took the bus everywhere. The retaurant at the hotel had really good food, especially the fish and chips..check out the offer of free lilikoi cheescake..delicious!!! We would go back!!!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank sarasponda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    1,575
    814
    275
    174
See reviews for
1,095
1,564
122
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2005

My family and I booked this hotel with a flight and rental car and our package was a good deal. When we got to the hotel from the airport rental car area (which took about 20 minutes with slow moving traffic), the valet parking people were the first to greet us aloha. The valet boys were the nicest people at the hotel which is why they tended to get the most of our tip money. We travel outside of California almost every year so we weren't new to waiting for valet to take care of a few things before checking-in to the hotel. Check-in for this hotel is 3:00pm and we actually arrived a few hours early at 12:30pm. That was not a problem though as the room was already clean and ready to occupy.

When going up to the room (we stayed on the 23rd floor), we noticed that the first elevator we tried was having a hard time reading our room key. The elevator was difficult to operate at times but I wasn't going to have that spoil my vacation.

The free Breakfast on the Beach was good food. We took our breakfast to the beach twice, to our room once, and outside of tiki bar twice. The atmosphere is great because there was a hula dancer and live music at breakfast, lunch, and dinner. At night, this hotel is very noticeable because of the torches and the music coming from the 2nd story Tiki's Grill and Bar.

The hotel was great. We had a great view of Waikiki Beach AND Diamond Head from the 23rd floor, the room was always clean and the food was good. For the fair price we paid, I think it was definately a good deal.

HERE'S A TIP FOR THOSE STAYING HERE IN THE FUTURE: If you keep a positive attitude with the hotel staff you might get some free surprises AND faster valet service. We sure did!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank AsianHummingbird18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2005

This hotel has a great location. At first i was very disturbed by the negative reviews on this site. But i was thinking, what the heck, it doesn't hurt to try, how bad can it be if i have a partial ocean view room. When we checked in our room, I was very glad that it wasn't as bad as I expected. The only bad thing i shall say about the room was....bathroom. I wish it can be just A LITTLE BIT bigger. I hardly have any space to place my things on the sink counter. Other than that, everything was perfect about this room.

The breakfast was a good idea, but the selection wasn't that great. I mean, after two days of same kinds of food, you eventually get tired of it. BUT you always have the options to eat else where, right?

Tiki bar food was just alrite...i wouldn't give too much credit for it, but it's a GREAT place to chill at night, get some drink if you don't want to walk far or find other place to dine at.

Elevator was a little slow, but we are in Hawaii and what's hurry? One more minute at the elevator won't kill you! Plus most of the time people don't even know how to operate it, so, why blame it to the elevator if you can't even operate in the first place?

Overall, it's a very good deal to stay with this hote. If you are looking for hotel with the reasonable price and not so bad rooms and service, this is the hotel you are looking for. DO I WANNA COME BACK TO THIS HOTEL? YES, i would. Because with the room i get, price i pay, and the location and services i get, where else can you go? You can pay 300 a night to stay at higher end hotels with just the street view, but with this hotel, you get to book a ocean front view and great service with great room with just the same price you pay!!!

and I MISS HAWAII ALREADY!!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank rachelcchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 20, 2005

I've been reading internet review sites and their precursors on usenet and BBS' for many years. Even though I should have known better, I got nervous when I read some of the extremely negative reviews for the Aston Waikiki Beach on this site. Fortunately I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel, and I hope that this will put some others' minds at ease.

First, some perspective on the type of traveler I am. I stay in hotels only 2 or 3 times a year. I have no problems staying in a Motel 6 class of lodging, especially for an overnighter, but I enjoy staying in a better place if the price isn't too outrageous. I don't tend to take advantage of the amenities of a hotel beyond room perks, restaurant/bar and pool (i.e. no spa, or concierge level service for me). I'm usually travelling to enjoy something in the area, and not to spend a great deal of time in a room. I do however appreciate cleanliness, service, and a good view, and will complain if I don't feel things are up-to-snuff.

Our trip to Waikiki was short - 3 nights and 4 days. We got a great rate from a travel site for the stay + airfare and it was the reason we picked this hotel over others. We did not rent a car while in town.

The Aston Waikiki Beach is obviously an older building, but has been perked up by a recent renovation. The theme is best described as a kitchy take on 60's Hawaiian decor, with lots of bamboo, tikis and bright Hawaiian colors and patterns. The ground floor contains lots of shops (Wolfgang Puck's Express, the general store, Coldstone Creamery, a surfwear and accessories rental place, and perhaps a couple others) and a lounge area where you can wait for tour busses and cabs. The second floor has reception, a small pool, some computer workstations and several travel desks (including Pleasant Holidays and Expedia), as well as an area that serves the free breakfast in the morning, and dispenses towels/chairs as well as some snacks during the rest of the day. Also on the second floor is Tikis, a restaurant and bar which has very good food and friendly service.

The stories people tell about the elevators do have a kernel of truth in them. We found that holding in the button for your floor, then putting your card in worked well, but as long as you press your floor while the green light is blinking you should be fine.

The hallways are as people mentioned a little dim, but they spruce them up with some palm-tree projection lights at the end of the hall.

Our ocean-front and ocean view rooms are pretty much exactly as pictured on the website. It is wonderful to wake up to a beautiful view of the ocean through your window, and go to bed to the moonlit water as well. The rooms aren't overly large, but not overly small either. If you want to see a small hotel room, stay on Santa Catalina Island off of Los Angeles! The bathrooms were definitely remodelled, with new tub, sink, fixtures and mirror. They did pick an odd shade of beige paint for the walls, which may make it appear a bit dingier than it really is. Nice perks in the room include a mini-fridge (empty), complimentary copies of Newsweek, and some creams and lotions beyond the usual basic soaps. Important note so you don't need to call down like we did - the hairdryer is not in the bathroom but on the top shelf of the closet. The lainai is a bit small but you can fit another chair beside the chair and ottomon already there.

Breakfast is a nice affair. They have one hot breakfast-sandwich style item, cereals, fruit, muffins or cinammon rolls, some Japanese items (we saw miso soup and sushi rice cakes) and various drinks including kona coffee, milk, juice and soda. You can load it up and take it to the beach with towels and beach chairs with cupholders or eat it on the deck while a Hawaiian singer performs, usually accompanied by a dancer as well.

Tikis, the in-hotel restaurant, is a great place to eat with nice wait staff and bartenders. Definitely try some of their seafood dishes for lunch or dinner.

The hotel is located at the end of Waikiki beach, literally right next to a park which includes a zoo and aquarium, both worth the short time you'll need to tour through them. Directly across the street is a beach protected by a seawall. The hotel is by the deeper end, if you move toward the other end it becomes shallower until even toddlers could stand right by the seawall. The water is crystal clear and you can see schools of small fish swimming around if you take the time. A sundown swim is truly enjoyable. Beside the protected beach is another which has waves to enjoy, and stands which rent boogie boards and snorkling equipment as well.

To sum up, I think this is a nice place to stay for the average traveller who is not obsessive-compulsive about every detail of their hotel. The nice perks like the free breakfast, free entertainment, free room safe and refrigerator and other small plusses in the rooms, plus good service from the staff in the hotel and restaurants, and finally its great location, should make a pleasant stay for you as long as you're paying a reasonable price.

However I have to agree that the Muaka tower, which is obviously a seperate hotel, looked very run down and seedy, and I would not choose to stay there.

One last tip, be sure to refer to it as the Aston Waikiki Beach around town, as almost nobody knows it by its new name.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2005

We spent 5 days on Oahu at the Resort Quest Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel from August 31 to September 5, 2005 and it was wonderful. We were told that every hotel room on Waikiki Beach was filled and this was the first time this happened. The weather was great, our hotel room was very, very nice and the people were very pleasant. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who may be considering a trip to Hawaii, and if we would decide to go again, we would look to this hotel for our stay.

Helpful?
7 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2005

Not overly impressed. Small rooms. We were in 3 rooms in the first 24 hours before they got it right. They knew it was our honeymoon, yet they couldn't put us in a room with one bed. Staff was unhelpful and unwilling to help.

Tiki bar, on-site, convenient, good.

Be careful if you take a shuttle from the airport, this hotel is one of the last on the Wikiki Stretch so you'll be the last drop off. Took us almost 2 hours to get to the hotel. Argghh.

The all-you-can-grab breakfast was good.

We've never stayed elsewhere in Honolulu, so we have no basis of comparison.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank earnd193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 8, 2005

We got our honeymoon as a gift and this hotel met our standards...although for a honeymoon, I would have rather stayed at something a lot nicer, but I am high maintenance. We were just happy that we were in Hawaii. We had an oceanfront room which I would suggest getting BY FAR. It was nice to get ready for the day watching the waves, checking to see if it was a good day to surf or not. And just listening to the ocean from our lanai (balcony) and watching the sunset from it. They give a soft cooler (that you get to take home with you) to fill with as much food from breakfast as you want. We just packed extra and ate it for lunch or snack later in the day...probably saved us quite a bit of money doing that and plus, we got to enjoy more of the beach or our activities than going to a restaurant and eating. We went to Sea Life Park and swam with the dolphins....a MUST! Also, we went on the Navatek sunset dinner cruise...WONDERFUL! Make sure to get the highest price deal...the "Elite" Club as they treat you like royalty...we even had a limo pick us up (and only us) and take us home afterwards. Our food was brought first and we got our own waitress. Also, the Paradise Cove Luau was wonderful. It really does not matter what seating you get there. We got the best again...box seating, but it did not seem to matter. They did give us drink tickets, but we could not drink that much in a few hours. They serve you instead of buffet style in the other seats as well. We also went horseback riding at Kualoa Ranch...the 2 hour ride. It was BEAUTIFUL. That's where they taped Jurassic Park and the hit show Lost, and several others. Right around the corner from the hotel, there is a wonderful caricature artist named Yousef....go see him and get your picture drawn. Tiki's grill and bar in the hotel was always a hit. We heard the music coming from there all sorts of the day and it was a popular hangout of tourists and locals alike. Their fries are great! :) When we go back to Hawaii, we would probably stay there again as it is a great deal for what your getting. You are not in your room or hotel much in Hawaii anyways, but when you are...you want a nice view and they provide that. Oh! The maids would come by when we stopped in between morning and night activities getting ready and we would ask them to come back at a later time (like 4pm) and they would come back so we would come home later to a clean room. That was very nice and flexible of them to do that for us. Enjoy your stay at ResortQuest...it is worth the money.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
22 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
1,440 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,477 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Property: Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3698
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 645 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing