We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“On the right end of the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Ranked #51 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“On the right end of the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Aston is in the east end of Waikiki beach. The benefit is that there is much less foot traffic at that end of the beach. Plus we were directly across the street from the beach. Great location. Room was large and kept clean by staff. The bathroom was a little dated. Breakfast, while included, was a little skimpy. Yogurt,fruit and cereals. The muffins were institutional. We ended up at the Starbucks around the corner most days.
I get irritated at the add on costs of 'resort hotels'. Why do travelers let them say the rate is $x but then they add on a "resort fee". Just quote the REAL price! All the hotels seem to do it and it is not right.
The pool area was clean. Tikis restaurant served good food at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Pay to upgrade to an oceanfront room. The view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TTidball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Aloha TTidball,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review here on Trip Advisor! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our premier Waikiki location and comfortable rooms. We regret to hear that our Breakfast on the Beach wasn't all that you had expected. Amenity fees are standard in most hotels, and we make special effort to communicate them clearly, along with our rates. It's great that you enjoyed Tiki's! We're thrilled that you enjoyed the beautiful ocean view, and hope to have another opportunity to serve you!

Mahalo,

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    922
    1,443
    736
    251
    163
See reviews for
991
1,414
109
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (869)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Aston provides hospitality with breakfast, friendly staff, and clean rooms. Activities, tours, sights are available to all without waiting. Very safe and organized hotel with convenient stores, eateries and shopping. Trolleys stop in front of the hotel. So lucky to experience all this whenever we stay in Waikiki.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shizueiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Aloha Shizueiji,

Thank you for taking the time to share your spectacular review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our Breakfast on the Beach, friendly staff, and comfortable rooms! It's wonderful to hear that you found our location to be convenient! We look forward to another opportunity to serve you!

Mahalo!

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I've stayed at the Aston a few times and overall it never disappoints. Every room has at least a partial ocean view. My only complaints are 1. The check in process is slow. I was in line for nearly an hour and there was only one employee checking vacationers in 2. The parking has something to be desired. Most nights the line was out on the street and took over 45 minutes to get into the garage.

The free breakfast is always fresh and the rooms are clean. Overall a great value if you have handle the front desk and the parking.

Room Tip: All rooms have at least a partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Aloha Philip G,

Thank you for being a loyal returning guest, and for sharing your review! We regret to hear that you had an untimely check-in and valet experience. Constructive feedback like yours helps us to re-evaluate the way we operate in hopes of improving our guests' stay. Thank you for sharing your valid concerns. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed Breakfast on the Beach with us, and that your room was clean and comfortable. It's wonderful that you found value in our hotel, as we truly value our wonderful guests! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Mahalo!

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for ten days and had a ball. Loved Hawaii and the Aston was a great place to stay. Nice tidy rooms, excellent position and view. Loved the Tiki Bar down stairs. Breakfast on the deck was fine although a few too many pastries. Sometimes struggled to get downstairs by the 9.00am finish but that was our fault. We booked trips at the tourist booking booth in the hotel but found later there are cheaper options available just by talking to people on the streets. Very friendly and helpful staff. Will stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Aloha Paul C,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review! We are glad that you loved our island, and enjoyed your stay. It's our pleasure to provide clean, comfortable rooms for our guests. We're thrilled that you enjoyed our convenient location and beautiful views! We are sorry about the challenges you experienced with Breakfast on the Beach and activity bookings. Our friendly, attentive staff looks forward to welcoming you back on your next stay!

Mahalo!

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The pool was less than average size, nothing "resort" about it but they make you wait long times (usually with only 1 person at front desk), they don't answer front desk phone, and also they charge you resort rates with an average hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Aloha Jennifer C,

Thank you for sharing your constructive review. We are terribly sorry that we did not provide you with an excellent experience. We apologize for the challenges with the Front Desk, and that our amenity program did not meet your expectations. From check-in to check-out, we aim to give exceptional service with remarkable rooms to our guests. We regret that we failed in this with you. Please accept our sincerest apologies. We would be honored to host you again and have another opportunity to serve you. Should your travels bring you back to Waikiki, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at gsc@astonhotels.com to arrange your booking.

Mahalo,

Stephanie Helms
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

...and it only took one time to figure out the elevators! Don't worry, other hotel guests show you how if you get confused. We were surprised it didn't take that long to get our car from valet parking when we wanted to go sight-seeing. The free breakfast every morning has regular American fare, but also miso soup, noodles and ginger--lovely change of pace. We got a kick out of the (well-made) cotton Japanese robes, so we bought two ($25 ea) to pack for our trip over to a condo on the Big Island. This hotel also has the Tiki Bar which overlooks Kalakaua Avenue--great place for people watching & a sunset drink or two; good prices too. Close to shopping, Starbucks and probably 50 steps (we counted) to the beach. That Friday night, we got to enjoy fireworks from the Sheraton down the beach (either it's a Friday thing or a wedding).

Room Tip: Get a room high up--the views are great & no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaMThatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Aloha LindaMThatcher,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on Trip Advisor! It's great that you found our elevators, Valet services, and delicious breakfast to your tastes! We are happy that you liked our premier Waikiki location, and that you could see fireworks on the beach! What a great memory! Should your travels ever bring you back to Waikiki, we would be honored to host you again!

Mahalo!

Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We recently stayed at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel and were very impressed with the hotel and amenities. The location, room and amenities were great! We really enjoyed the complimentary morning breakfast by the pool each morning with Hawaiian entertainment. Tiki's located by the pool had great food and drinks at a reasonable price. The next time we come back, we plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room had a partial ocean view for a more reasonable price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bradley U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Aloha Bradley U,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your awesome review! We are happy to hear that you liked our location and enjoyed your room! We're thrilled that you liked our Breakfast on the Beach and live entertainment by the pool! We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Park Shore Waikiki
#15 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#32 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 929 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 3,726 reviews
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Property: Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3698
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 644 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing