We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Heart of Waikiki”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Bellingham, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“In the Heart of Waikiki”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Only stayed one night at this hotel (last night on the island) and upgraded to an oceanfront room. Recently updated decor in the bedroom, cute table and chairs (stool type) set by the sliding glass door to the lanai. This room had a Keurig coffee maker and a mini-fridge which was very nice. The bathroom could really use a makeover. Shower head was very low, even for me...I'm 5'3", can't imagine a 6' person taking a shower in there. The breakfast, included in the "resort fee" of $25 was ok. Not much protein, but you can add an omelette for an additional $8. Make sure you check your bill at the end of the stay. They overcharged me $40, but were great about clearing it up.The view on the oceanfront was worth the extra $$$$.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an oceanfront, you get a great view and you don't get awakened at 7:00 am by the band...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Aloha Mitch, and thank you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed the changes and improvements we made to the guest room. We also thank you for providing us your honest feedback about the bathrooms and breakfast arrangement. As we continue to improve our property and services our Management Team welcomes your input, and will take it into consideration. Mahalo for staying with us; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Rebecca; Guest Services Coordinator gsc.wow@astonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    1,588
    820
    277
    178
See reviews for
1,109
1,577
122
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (979)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was our second time staying at this hotel. We booked an ocean front--same as last time--and it was a wonderful view of Diamondhead and the beach. We really like the location of this property.

What we don't like is the inconvenience of the room itself. A previous reviewer put it well--the room is large enough, but there is nothing to make you comfortable in the room. Shallow drawers, no chair or sofa, no drawers in the nightstand, bizarre hanging beads serving as closet doors. The bathroom is terribly inconvenient. A previous reviewer said there wasn't enough shelf space--our bathroom had zero shelf space. You had to keep your toiletries in the other room. Why not put some kind of shelf in there? They even put the hairdryer in the closet because there is no place for it in the bathroom.

We had booked in October and the resort fee was only $18 then, so that is what we paid, but it is now $23 per day. The breakfast is okay, but I would prefer they stop the breakfast and lower the resort fee.

We like the elevator system very much. No stopping at every floor!

Ate once at Tiki's on the property--great views, but a weird menu IMO. There is a Wolfgang Puck Express downstairs that we thought was very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tencentsadance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Aloha, and thank you for reviewing our property. We especially enjoy hearing from our valued, return guests. We were glad to hear you had another lovely time in Waikiki, and that you enjoyed the fantastic views offered by the ocean front category. However, we were sorry to learn about some of the inconveniences you encountered in your room. We are happy to say that included in our refresh project we are adding shelving space to the necessary rooms, and we plan to change the closet doors, as well, amongst other improvements. We apologize for the inconveniences caused to you and appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you again for a third visit! Sincerely, Rebecca gsc.wow@astonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Great location, but hotel is old and needs a lot of updates. Parking is valet at a nearby hotel, and they charge $22 per night not including tip. Be sure to get your parking ticket before going to the valet (good luck, no parking near the hotel), when we pulled into the parking garage, they informed us we were at the wrong hotel, and directed us back our hotel only to have to return 15 minutes later to park. Huge hassle based on the traffic. Hotel is convenient for touring Waikiki on foot, but being located on the main is very loud and difficult to navigate at times.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are great, but extremely noisy.. If you want the view, get a room on the hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Aloha, the valet parking at our property is $27 daily. When run at high occupancy sometimes our parking garage becomes full and we must redirect our guests to the valet parking at our sister property next door. We apologize for the confusion and will be sharing your experience with our Valet Manager in order to ensure this doesn't happen again in the future. On behalf of the hotel we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused and thank you for sharing your honest review. We thank you for choosing to stay with us, and hope to see you again. Rebecca; Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Small rooms and the pool is in the shade most of the day in winter which detracts from a great location and a clean and secure property. Took a little while longer to get the car from the valet than I would like, 20-25 minutes once. Staff was friendly and helpful, rooms clean but a little dated. Walk across the street to Waikiki beach, or go downstairs to Wolfgang Puck Express for a meal. Everything is nearby, and many tour companies stop at this location for easy travel around the city. Beware of music beginning at 7AM from the patio area, the soundproofing in the room is not sufficient to keep you from waking up to the music.

Room Tip: Get a room far from the pool unless you want to be woken by loud music at 7AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandlwelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Aloha, and thank you for the kind words. I am glad that our convenient location made it easier for you to see everything that our island has to offer. We apologize if the music caused an inconvenience to you. Many of our guests enjoy taking their breakfasts up to the room and listening to the entertainment from the privacy of their lanai. The Diamond Head side of our hotel is not affected by the music, and we always welcome room requests (depending on availability). Mahalo again for your lovely review; we hope to see you again soon. Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento, ca
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I have been to Waikiki several times on business and have found the entire place very overpriced. We found a reasonable (for Waikiki) rate at the Aston and decided to stay for five nights.

The good.....I liked the location of the property. It is directly across the street from a mellow beach with a protected swimming area. Great for small children or early morning lap swimmers. This hotel is at the end of the madness on Kalakaua Ave. (main beachfront street in Waikiki) I liked taking my morning run past the park, towards Diamond Head without having having to weave through crowds of people.

The not so good.....Very unimpressed with the condition of the room. Stains on the ceilings, spots on the walls, beat up tiles and doors in the bathroom, and old fixtures did not lend itself to feeling as if the room was clean. The mildew smell in the bathroom from the lack ventilation was very unappealing. The pillows were flat. I could live with a small room if the space was utilized better however I found the bathroom did not have adequate counter space. The room itself was NOISY! We were on the 19th floor, facing the ocean. Every morning, on top of the street noise there was a man crooning Hawaiian tunes and a crowd of people clapping away. Forget sleeping past 7:30. At night you could hear people whooping it up at the bar. Sorry if I sound grumpy but I haven't slept well in five days.

The continental breakfast was average but swarms of pushy people was a turn off. You can pay too much for cooked eggs if you so desire. The take away cooler was nice but we didn't use it for breakfast on the beach. There is a Starbucks around the corner if you prefer better coffee and oatmeal or an egg sandwich. Just past Starbucks is another little place that makes wraps and other healthier options.

Overall, I would not choose to stay here again. I really liked being on the end of Waikiki so I would stay in the neighborhood. We are longtime Hyatt and Marriott patrons. The Hyatt Place is one block away and Marriott next door. I would have much preferred one of those properties if we were not traveling on a work budget.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Aloha, and thank you for staying with us for your business trip. We agree that our location is desirable for those who prefer to be at the east end of Waikiki closer to the Zoo. The calm water across our hotel is also ideal for families with small children. However, we were sorry to learn that the condition of you room did not meet our standards. Our housekeeping and maintenance departments would like to inspect the room you stayed in. In order to do so I will need the name of your reservation. Please feel free to reach us at gsc.wow@astonhotels.com with that information. We apologize for any inconveniences that were cause. Furthermore, we are happy to say that we are currently undergoing a room refresh project, and anticipate sharing the improvements with our guests. We are scheduled for completion in April. Mahalo again for staying with us and for sharing your honest review! Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Literally a walk of a few seconds to the beach

Breakfast service was great.

Standard Quad Room was average, though lacking coffee facilities, which was disappointing.

Staff were polite. They even gave us a room upgrade to partial ocean view.

Though it is definitely not worth 340+ dollars a night

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank KD128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Aloha, and thank you for the kind words about our services and staff. We recently added Keurig coffee makers to our Ocean Front, Select, and Aloha Suite categories, and plan to add them to the other room categories in the future. Mahalo for sharing your review; we hope to see you again. -Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at the Aston Waikiki beach in a room with two double beds. The beds felt smaller than a UK double and it was a very tight fit in the room. Difficult for families with children to fit you all in and your suitcases.

We stayed on the 14th floor, the view from the balcony was lovely over Waikiki. I would definitely recommend booking a high floor room for that. Before flying to the island of O'ahu we had been staying on Maui, which in my opinion is a much nicer island. This probably unfairly marred our opinion of the Aston and surrounding area as they are very much different.

The hotel has a good location, the beach is across the road and on the main stretch of shops and restaurants. We were surprised by the amount of homeless people in very close proximity to the hotel, although they don't pester you for money and keep themselves to themselves.

The breakfasts in our opinion were extremely disappointing, however I would recommend a visit to the Tiki restaurant for dinner, the food there was lovely and a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayHappy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Aloha, and thank you for reviewing our property. Our hotel was built during a time when view and location was prioritized rather than room size- we apologize for the inconvenience. In addition to our hotel rooms, we also offer Aloha Suites which provide more square footage and a pull out sofa bed. We do agree that each Hawaiian Island offers a different personality, and we're glad you had the opportunity to visit Maui, as well. Oahu is known as the gathering place, and is the most populous island. We thank you for staying at our hotel, and for visiting our tropical islands. Mahalo for your support, Rebecca; Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,478 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,488 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#50 of 84 in Honolulu
3,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Property: Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3698
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 645 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing