We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre - You get what you pay for.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I have been to Waikiki several times on business and have found the entire place very overpriced. We found a reasonable (for Waikiki) rate at the Aston and decided to stay for five nights.

The good.....I liked the location of the property. It is directly across the street from a mellow beach with a protected swimming area. Great for small children or early morning lap swimmers. This hotel is at the end of the madness on Kalakaua Ave. (main beachfront street in Waikiki) I liked taking my morning run past the park, towards Diamond Head without having having to weave through crowds of people.

The not so good.....Very unimpressed with the condition of the room. Stains on the ceilings, spots on the walls, beat up tiles and doors in the bathroom, and old fixtures did not lend itself to feeling as if the room was clean. The mildew smell in the bathroom from the lack ventilation was very unappealing. The pillows were flat. I could live with a small room if the space was utilized better however I found the bathroom did not have adequate counter space. The room itself was NOISY! We were on the 19th floor, facing the ocean. Every morning, on top of the street noise there was a man crooning Hawaiian tunes and a crowd of people clapping away. Forget sleeping past 7:30. At night you could hear people whooping it up at the bar. Sorry if I sound grumpy but I haven't slept well in five days.

The continental breakfast was average but swarms of pushy people was a turn off. You can pay too much for cooked eggs if you so desire. The take away cooler was nice but we didn't use it for breakfast on the beach. There is a Starbucks around the corner if you prefer better coffee and oatmeal or an egg sandwich. Just past Starbucks is another little place that makes wraps and other healthier options.

Overall, I would not choose to stay here again. I really liked being on the end of Waikiki so I would stay in the neighborhood. We are longtime Hyatt and Marriott patrons. The Hyatt Place is one block away and Marriott next door. I would have much preferred one of those properties if we were not traveling on a work budget.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Aloha, and thank you for staying with us for your business trip. We agree that our location is desirable for those who prefer to be at the east end of Waikiki closer to the Zoo. The calm water across our hotel is also ideal for families with small children. However, we were sorry to learn that the condition of you room did not meet our standards. Our housekeeping and maintenance departments would like to inspect the room you stayed in. In order to do so I will need the name of your reservation. Please feel free to reach us at gsc.wow@astonhotels.com with that information. We apologize for any inconveniences that were cause. Furthermore, we are happy to say that we are currently undergoing a room refresh project, and anticipate sharing the improvements with our guests. We are scheduled for completion in April. Mahalo again for staying with us and for sharing your honest review! Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,012)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,595 - 1,601 of 4,012 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Literally a walk of a few seconds to the beach

Breakfast service was great.

Standard Quad Room was average, though lacking coffee facilities, which was disappointing.

Staff were polite. They even gave us a room upgrade to partial ocean view.

Though it is definitely not worth 340+ dollars a night

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank KD128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Aloha, and thank you for the kind words about our services and staff. We recently added Keurig coffee makers to our Ocean Front, Select, and Aloha Suite categories, and plan to add them to the other room categories in the future. Mahalo for sharing your review; we hope to see you again. -Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at the Aston Waikiki beach in a room with two double beds. The beds felt smaller than a UK double and it was a very tight fit in the room. Difficult for families with children to fit you all in and your suitcases.

We stayed on the 14th floor, the view from the balcony was lovely over Waikiki. I would definitely recommend booking a high floor room for that. Before flying to the island of O'ahu we had been staying on Maui, which in my opinion is a much nicer island. This probably unfairly marred our opinion of the Aston and surrounding area as they are very much different.

The hotel has a good location, the beach is across the road and on the main stretch of shops and restaurants. We were surprised by the amount of homeless people in very close proximity to the hotel, although they don't pester you for money and keep themselves to themselves.

The breakfasts in our opinion were extremely disappointing, however I would recommend a visit to the Tiki restaurant for dinner, the food there was lovely and a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HolidayHappy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Aloha, and thank you for reviewing our property. Our hotel was built during a time when view and location was prioritized rather than room size- we apologize for the inconvenience. In addition to our hotel rooms, we also offer Aloha Suites which provide more square footage and a pull out sofa bed. We do agree that each Hawaiian Island offers a different personality, and we're glad you had the opportunity to visit Maui, as well. Oahu is known as the gathering place, and is the most populous island. We thank you for staying at our hotel, and for visiting our tropical islands. Mahalo for your support, Rebecca; Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Husband and I just returned from a long weekend at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel. While the location and views were outstanding, the hotel rates just average on everything else.

Check-in went smoothly. While the service was not bad, it definitely felt like this place does a TON of business and we were just another reservation. I had done a lot of research and was expecting the extra resort fee and advanced elevator system, so no surprises there. I had reserved an oceanfront room and requested a king bed in a quiet location. We were given a corner room on the 8th floor, with a view from Diamond Head to the other end of Waikiki Beach. It was fabulous.

What was not fabulous was the room itself. It was not small, but definitely lacked creature comforts. The only place to sit was on the bed itself or two little barstools. There was no chair, no recliner, no couch, but room for any of them. For an oceanfront room, I also felt the lanai was very small. There was only one chair and footstool provided. The first day in the room I ended up taking a beach chair (your typical camping-style chair) and putting it on the lanai. The other days we moved the bar stools out and sat on them. We rented the oceanfront room because we're not really water-people, but wanted to enjoy the beach. There was a noisy refrigerator and a dresser with four small drawers. A safe was located in the closet. There was no coffee maker, no laundry bags, no folder outlining the services at the hotel (like TV channels, etc.) or transportation options. It almost felt as if they were forcing us to go outside and spend money. Luckily, there was not much noise from the neighbors, but the street outside the room was very noisy, as was the constant group of homeless people loitering on the street in front. (At least they were good entertainment!) The paint was chipping in places and the bathroom was very dated, but we expected an older hotel so weren't bothered by it. Housekeeping was okay. We found quite a bit of dust and lots of handprints on the sliding door. Another oddity was that the sliding door did not open completely--only about halfway due to a stopper. We weren't sure if it was a safety issue, but it was definitely annoying.

We never used the pool, but didn't really see the need. There were a lot of rules--no water toys, no splashing, no jumping, no yelling. I get it, especially since the check-in desk was right next to the pool and the kids' beach just across the street. But, it simply looked like a gigantic soaking pool--quite boring. During our 4-day stay, I saw maybe a handful of people actually using it.

Breakfast was adequate. We enjoyed the fruit, yogurt, and local-made Hawaiian donuts. The pastries were definitely stale the first day we tried it, so I'm not sure what their delivery schedule was. The donuts always seemed fresh, though. Never tried the pancakes or omelets because we didn't want to pay extra. We did bring our own travel mugs for coffee--the cups they provided were itty-bitty. I'm an early-riser when I'm on vacation, so made it down while things were relatively quiet. However, at about 8:30am, the area was pretty frenetic.

Location was great. It was within walking distance of all major Waikiki attractions. We walked to Ala Moana Center one day--about 2.5 miles, but an easy stroll with lots of fun people to watch. The Honolulu Zoo was right next door. There are quite a few restaurants within a few blocks. (Tiki's and Lulu's were alright--their premium prices are likely for the location and popularity with locals.) Luxury row was just a few blocks down. Note that Honolulu is currently having issues with the scores of homeless people sleeping on the streets. The corner of Kalakaua and Kapahulu is a gathering place for the vagrants. While I can't fault the hotel or restaurants for this, the aggressiveness and drunkenness of these people made us feel very uncomfortable. I found myself avoiding the businesses located on that corner--which is bad! Tucker and Bevvy's had great healthy options! Also note that many transportation options stop at this hotel, including the Hilo Hattie's shuttle (free wheels to Ala Moana!), Japanese tour companies, and city bus.

All in all, it was not our favorite spot to stay in Honolulu, but can see how it may be more popular with families, young, single travelers, or foreign visitors. We prefer the quieter, opposite end of Waikiki.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms on the south corner (closest to Diamond Head) have the best view and get the most s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tgsapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, Guest Services Coordinator at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Aloha!
We are excited to hear that you and your husband enjoyed the beautiful view during your stay with us! We are happy that you found our close proximity to all of Waikiki's major attractions conducive to your plans! We are glad that you enjoyed our Breakfast on the Beach, and that you had a smooth check-in. We think the view of Diamond Head and Waikiki are truly beautiful, and we are delighted that you think so, too! We apologize that we didn't meet some of your expectations, and thank you for your honest opinions. As we continuously strive to meet and exceed our guests' expectations, our guests' feedback and comments are priceless. Again, thank you for your time and for staying with us!
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We enjoyed our stay.
It was our honeymoon.
Our only feedback would be to improve on the breakfast and some minor maintenance in the room.
Other feedback that I would add would not be related to the hotel is that the homeless population is a problem, begging for alcohol and drug money, sleeping in the parks on the streets and beach.
I even noticed someone defecating on the beach early one morning - We did not visit that section of the beach again!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have bigger balconies and better view of the city and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Aloha Larry, and thank you for staying with us for your honeymoon. We agree that our property always has room for improvement and we are happy to say that we currently undergoing a room refresh project and anticipate sharing the improvements with our guests. We also apologize for inconveniences regarding the homeless population in the surrounding areas. Our hotel and other businesses in the area are working together with various social agencies to find a win-win solution to this challenge. Mahlo for your understanding, and for sharing your review with us. We hope to welcome you again in the future, perhaps for an anniversary? -Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have been to Hawaii 4 times and stayed at the Sheraton and Moana Surfrider but found the Aston Waikiki Beach to be great value for money. the resort fees that you pay at all hotels do not always include breakfast and unlimited free dvd to watch in your room but this is included at the Aston. the rooms are clean and well maintained and the bed was very comfortable not to mention the view from my room was breathtaking. the staff were all very helpful and were happy to answer any questions that i had. the beach is easy to access directly across the road and is not that crowded. i will be recommending the Aston Waikiki Beach to all my friends and family in the future... Anna d...

Room Tip: higher floors have great views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Aloha Anna and Mahalo for your kind words! It is great to hear that after you stayed in Waikiki numerous times you found our hotel to suite you the best. We do agree that our amenity package offers a tremendous value to our guests compared to many of the other hotels on Kalakaua Ave. and we are glad you enjoyed the movies and breakfast! Please feel free to contact me the next time you will be in Waikiki. Safe travels to you, -Rebecca; Guest Services Coordinator gsc.wow@astonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed in a standard room with two full size bed. If they only spent $200 that would be an improvement. The bed sheets had holes, shower curtain and grout lines were dirty. There was also a leak in the shower. It currently looks like they hired a bum off the streets and let him fix the bathroom.

Breakfast is just ok for the daily amenity fee of $23.

Next time I will spend a little more to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stickyricer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Aloha, and thank you for sharing your honest review. The conditions you describe don't reflect our typical high standards; we were sorry to learn about the linens, and maintenance challenges. Your experiences have been shared with our housekeeping and maintenance departments for their immediate attention. Furthermore, in addition to our select amenity, 'Breakfast on the Beach', our daily amenity fee also includes unlimited DVD and movies via PlayStation3, use of in-room safe, local calls, and daily newspaper. Mahalo for choosing to stay with us. Sincerely, Rebecca; Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,756 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#41 of 84 in Honolulu
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,687 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,753 reviews
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3698
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $200 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 645 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing