We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Staff was nice, but rooms we had were not what we paid/requested, they ended up upgrading the room for us which was generous.

PS3 in the room which kept me happy for couple of hours.

Found bugs in our bedroom. A bit moist but I guess because of the location.

Expedia counter was quite helpful. We only stayed for one night though.

Breakfast wasn't the best as people had to push in to grab the foods.

Overall was quite nice and I don't mind going back there again.

Room Tip: facing the beach & 7th floor up would be good.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank em7nara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. Please let us know if you'd like to stay with us again, maybe next time you can stay a little longer. You can contact our reservations department or myself at res.wow@astohotels.com
Mahalo,
Rebecca
Dinneen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,900)
There are newer reviews for Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,656 - 1,662 of 3,901 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having booked the hotel through Priceline where you don't see the hotel you've got until you've paid, I read the reviews for the hotel and was a little disappointed by the comments I read. The trip was a special 20th wedding anniversary celebration together with some friends getting married on the island. I contacted the hotel with my concerns and was really pleased to get an immediate reply promising that I would like the hotel and my stay there. On arrival the hotel looked really nice and the staff were very friendly. We had a great week at the hotel and I would definitely return if I was going back to Waikiki. The only thing I would say is that the breakfast is a little basic but compared to the high prices of the local restaurants for breakfast I couldn't complain. Maybe I went with lower expectations than some of the other reviewers so the standard was high. Give it a go you might be pleasantly surprised as I was.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Aloha Melanie, and thank you for taking the time to reach out to us before arriving at our hotel. we hope you had a lovely time in Waikiki, and we look forward to welcoming you again. Mahalo, -Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I traveled to Oahu for my first time with my best friend this past June and we had an incredible time! We were nervous to book this hotel due to mixed reviews we had come across online, but we took a leap of faith and we're so glad we did! The staff was incredibly courteous, the room was adorably decorated and though our view wasn't "incredible" we really didn't mind since we were rarely inside during the day (and if you're camped out in your hotel room while you're in Hawaii, you're doing Hawaii wrong!). The hotel is LITERALLY across the street from Waikiki Beach. There are so many places that are walking distance from the hotel (including a zoo!) and that was a big plus for us, it was fun to go exploring. The pool/bar area was fun, there was live music, delicious drinks and great food! There was a free breakfast buffet included which was your standard continental breakfast, nothing special. Though they do offer a "Breakfast on the Beach" service, which we sadly didn't take advantage of (we were too busy!). The only thing knocking this down from an excellent to a very good is the bathroom was a tad bit old and had a slightly mildewy smell, but honestly it was worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LBShelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Aloha Shelby, and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to know you liked our hotel and location. It seems like you enjoyed your first trip to Hawaii. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, Rebecca; Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just got back from first trip to Hawaii and stayed here for 6 nights, 17-23 August. After finalising and paying for the booking, I read several bad reviews and so was not sure what to expect. We arrived at noon and were advised that there was a room available straight away if we wanted to upgrade to an ocean front room (1731) which we did. The room had a panoramic view of Waikiki and was well worth the price for the upgrade. The continental breakfast was good and there was plenty of cereal, fruit, yoghurt, croissants, coffee, etc. There were also hot breakfast options for an additional price but we were quite happy with the healthy options available. We found this hotel was well located, had great dining options whatever your budget and the staff were efficient and friendly. We were more than happy with the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel and Its a property that we would have no problems in recommending. Luckily we didn't ready the "bad"reviews until after we paid for the booking. Suffice to say that unfortuantely, certain people will always find something negative to say, even if they stay at a 5 star hotel with nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Aloha- we’re glad that you decided to stay with us and that your experience was well worth it! Our ocean front rooms and location are absolutely fantastic. We hope you enjoyed your Hawaiian vacation. Thank you for taking the time to share your awesome review! Mahalo, -Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Yes, this was our FOURTH time staying at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, and we are already looking forward to our fifth time. We really like this hotel, and we feel very much at home here.

When staying at a beach hotel, wherever it is, we feel that the three most important things are cleanliness, comfort, and convenience, and this hotel has all three!

Our room was spotlessly clean, the beds and pillows were extremely comfortable, and there was great and responsive maid service as well as plenty of hot water in the shower! From room 1932, we had an incredible view of the ocean.

The Aston Waikiki Beach hotel has a very nice pool and is located right across the street from the beach, and within walking distance from Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium, and plenty of stores and restaurants. This is the perfect place to stay, especially for families and very active people.

The section of the beach that is right across from the hotel has a wall in the water that makes that portion of the beach almost like a swimming pool. Walk several yards in either direction, and you are on a beach with waves and surfers and all kinds of lessons and rentals for watersports. You can buy a floaty and inflate it right downstairs in the convenience store (and you can refill it when it deflates).

Probably any shuttle that you want to take to any activity that you want to do will pick you up at this hotel. You can arrange things on your own or at any of the activity desks downstairs.

The continental breakfast is still a good deal, even with the new "amenities fee" that is charged separately from the room charge. And, really, what could be nicer than sitting by the pool, sipping delicious coffee, and listening to beautiful live music while watching a lovely hula dancer?

There is valet parking at an additional charge, which we did not use this time. Instead, we rented a car for a day to drive around the island and up to the north shore. We have used the valet service in the past and found it to be excellent. The bell services are also wonderful--we checked out and left our suitcases there for the day, and then the bell captain arranged for a cab for us to return to the airport. We noticed that traffic was horrendous at any time of the day, so I would expect that the valet service would seem slow considering that the car has to be driven around to the waiting area--even a drive around the block would take quite awhile with that traffic!

Waikiki was incredibly crowded, and there were long, long lines EVERYWHERE we went! So, we were not upset about the check-in line, which moved quickly, or the breakfast line. In fact, the only place we didn't see long lines was on the north shore.

I personally was very happy about the fact that there was complimentary coffee in the evenings, right near the check-in desk. The coffee was so good, and really hit the spot at the end of a long and busy day.

I have said this in previous reviews: if you are the kind of person who is looking for a stuffy and formal resort where you don't ever leave the property, where drinks are served to you at the pool, and where you would feel uncomfortable walking into the lobby in your bathing suit and flip flops, this is not the place for you. This is absolutely a more fun and casual place, where you can easily run from your room to the beach to the pool and back, and it is a springboard for anything you could possibly want to do on the island.

On the pool level of the hotel is Tiki's Grill and Bar, which is still one of our favorite restaurants in the entire area. The food is great, the service is excellent, and the atmosphere is really nice. We did not go to any of the Happy Hours there, but it was always busy, and we enjoyed hearing the live music in the evenings.

On the street level, there is a convenience store, a Wolfgang Puck's Express, a Coldstone Creamery, a Subway sandwich shop, the Cookie Corner, and two gift shops. Right nearby is LuLu's Waikiki restaurant (also great), an ABC convenience store, and a Starbucks.

I know that other reviewers talked about the size of the room and the size of the lanai. We have traveled a lot, and there are many places, like Waikiki, in which space is at a premium. I have stayed in hotels in New York City as well as other popular places where the rooms are smaller and the prices are higher. Also, having traveled to the Jersey Shore a lot, we know a good beach hotel when we see one!

I would make some suggestions to management, however.

I think that the rule that a guest can go into the breakfast line only once causes people to "stock up" and probably take a lot more stuff than they would otherwise take. It is much, much nicer to pick up a couple of things and then just go back if you are still hungry. I don't know why this change was made, but I actually think it is to the detriment of the service. Honestly, it was shocking to see people stockpiling food, and I am sure it is because of the "one time only" rule.

Also, the pool hours are kind of short ( I am still thinking about our first time there, when the pool was open later in the evenings). Sometimes when you come back from a long and busy day, it would be really nice to take a dip in the pool. 8 PM seems kind of early to close. There might be a good reason for this--perhaps because of insurance--so I don't know if this can change.

And, while I fully understand how commonplace an amenity fee is, I would still rather just see it built into the room rate. This is more a general statement on charging an amenity fee separately rather than a criticism of this particular hotel. The amenity fee here covers the continental breakfast, beach/pool towels, folding chairs, a daily newspaper, and unlimited DVD and game rentals (which we did not use, but guests with younger kids used the DVD and game rental a lot).

We know that this hotel listens to its guests and we have seen changes (such as the improved elevator service) attesting to this fact. After our fourth stay, I can still say that we highly recommend the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the full ocean view room gives you a lovely view of the ocean. Rooms on the p...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lu-AnnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Aloha Lu-Anne, we were encouraged to see your lovely review of our hotel, especially since you have stayed with us numerous times. Your recommendations regarding the pool hours and breakfast arrangement have been shared with Hotel Management. Our pool used to close at 7pm, but since many of our guests wanted it to stay open later we extended the time. Our signature 'breakfast on the beach' amenity is currently being reviewed. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us prioritize future improvements.

Please feel contact our reservations department or myself for assistance with your next reservation. We sincerely appreciate your continued support.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed @ this hotel for a week and we just came back yesterday. The hotel is in a great location and definitely going back very soon. Breakfast is great, you can take it anywhere you like. The staff are friendly and helpful.
We stayed in a partial ocean view room on the 21st floor,room 2126 which was great.
The only drawbacks I would say, is that the adjoining room is separated by two wooden doors and you can hear your neighbors too easily.hmmm.Not too sure if all the rooms are like this.
Sometimes the coconut club gathering area,which was located close to our room (at the end of the hallway) got a little noisy,but that was all over by 10 pm,which was all good.
Overall we loved staying here and will recommend to our friends to stay here.
A big thank you to all the lovely staff and special mention to Mia, at the breakfast station.you are a star!
To you all,keep up the great work,Mahalo and see ya soon!
From Marcel and Pearl,from New Zealand

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Aloha Marcel and Pearl,
We thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of hotel and staff member at the Breakfast Station…she is a star! The Coconut Club is our banquet hall. Many people reserve the room for functions such as weddings, graduations, or business functions. It has a great Ocean Front view from the 21st floor. Like you mentioned, the gathering is normally over before it becomes too late in the evening. Thank you for staying with us- and we hope you loved visiting our beautiful island Oahu.
Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

So many things wrong here I don't where to start. First, from the pictures the hotel looks on par with something like the W. Alas, in person it's quite different. The bathrooms were pretty gross. Mold, mildew, and completely substandard linens. It's time for an update for sure. While we were aware of the extra fees at check-in, it was clear that other guests were not. There seem to be lots of arguments happening. Breakfast is a disaster - it's like the hunger games in there. One time entrance so people fill their little coolers like its their last meal. We wouldn't stay here again.....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robh1622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Aloha Rob,
We’re sorry to hear about your disappointment. The amenity fee information is on our website, and our reservations department and online booking process clearly communicate this information. We also share this necessary information with travel agents and wholesalers who in turn communicate this information with their customers.
Our hotel had been sold out, or nearly sold out earlier this month, and at times is became crowded during breakfast. Personally, I wouldn’t compare it to the Hunger Games.
The bathrooms are cleaned, and routinely deep cleaned, and re caulked. Our maintenance and housekeeping staff is always working hard to keep up with our busy hotel. Again, we’re sorry for the disspointment and we hope you had a lovely time in Waikiki.
Sincerely,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,526 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,501 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3698
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $197 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 645 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing