We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is really nice. It is near most everything you want to do, including the beach, the Honolulu Zoo (both right across the street from it). Tiki's Bar & Grill, although pricey, the food and service were excellent and with a nice view when the sunsets over Waikiki. It is just a couple blocks from Cheeseburger in Paradise and many other restaurants. The staff were excellent. Especially the ladies and gentlemen who were doing bellhop and valet parking.

The rooms are kind of small compared to other hotels we've stayed, and the free breakfast was just Okay. Internet is free, however, for wireless internet you have to go down to the pool/lobby area to access it. Otherwise, you have to plug in using a network cable, which is provided for free.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimmayG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Aloha, and thank you for the review. It looks like you stayed with us in February, the same month we converted to hotel-wide WiFi. Now our guests can enjoy WiFi from their guest rooms as well as the pool deck. We also kept the Ethernet cords in the rooms, too. The sizes of our guest rooms reflect the time in which the building was built- when view and location was prioritized rather than room size.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again!

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,763 - 1,769 of 3,926 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

The rooms, location, pool area and breakfast on the beach are all great. the only thing that lets the hotel down is the reception. We arrived after flying all night to find we couldn't check into our room until 3pm, all we wanted to do was get settled into our room as we were exhausted. I was hoping they'd at least prioritise the room service for our room since we were waiting but they didn't. The other issue was I had to come back to reception on three separate occasions for small things and each time I had to line up for over half an hour. I would really recommend having more staff on at reception at one time! The last thing travellers feel like doing when they get to a hotel after long flights is waiting in a long cue to check in.
We did have to change rooms after around 20 American teenagers checked into our floor and partied loudly but the hotel was very accommodating about this and arranged another room quickly.
Also the Tiki's Bar & Grill downstairs is fantastic!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee642Nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Aloha Lee, and thank you for the review. We guarantee a 3:00pm check-in, and do our best to make it available earlier if we know you are waiting. If a guest checks in with the front desk prior to 3:00 and their room is not yet ready we put that room in cue electronically for the housekeepers. This way the rooms are serviced in order of guest arrival which allows us to make them available on a first come basis. We are sorry for the inconvenience but appreciate your understanding.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at the Aston for one night en route to Vancouver. As the flight arrived early, I was at the mercy of the Hotel to let me check in early....which they did. FOR $75 EXTRA! Upon departure I requested a late check out as my flight wasn't until late in the evening. They granted me this too. FOR $75 MORE. I found this to be greedy. Whilst I appreciate that they deal with this often, it would have been kind of them to have waived one of the late fees, ie/ the early or late charge. My room rate ended up being $300-ish for one night which caused me to make a note to never return. The hotel was busy, the staff were pleasant enough but this is not a warm, intimate Hawaiian haven. This is a large property that pumps them in and out every day. Based on my experience with early and late fees, the hotel is doing just fine financially, thank you very much. The pool is located just off of the lobby and was extremely busy and full of kids. The location was indeed great, mere steps to the beach and completely surrounded by shops, bars and restaurants. The room was just 'ok'. It smelled very musty, the furnishings, etc were very 70's era and the property in general was quite tacky and cold. The balcony was small and lacked any privacy at all. I won't be back.

Room Tip: Request a beach view, it makes for stunning sunset photos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Aloha Grant,

Our hotel is indeed busy- we fill our 645 hotel rooms with travelors from all over the world every day. Our check in time is 3:00 in the afternoon, and check out is at 12 noon. This gives our housekeepers and maintenance staff only a few hours to prepare the rooms for the next guest. It is unfortunate that you felt the early check in and late checkout fees were greedy- but this is an extra service. And $75 dollars buys more than just an hour, or two- it mean's checking in early in the morning and checking out late in the afternoon. Anyhow, I’m sorry we weren’t able to meet your expectations in the short time you stayed with us. We sincerely hope you had a nice Holiday, and a lovely day in Waikiki on route to your next destination.

Sincere Mahalos,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location, across the road from the beach and at the begining of the busy hustle and bustle strip. The rooms are a bit outdated, the pool is simple . There is a restaurant that has a singer singing in the evenings. Breakfast is served by the pool each morning with a hula dancer and hawaiin singer every morning. You are given a cooler bag and can help yourself to breakfast and may eat by the pool, on beach or take back to your room. Breakfast consists of various pastries, krispy cream donuts, cereal, fruit, cofee, tea, juices.
Hawaii is beautiful, especially shopping!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpo-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Aloha, and thank you for staying with us. Yes, we do have perfect location-steps away from the beach and plenty of shopping on Waikiki Strip. Hopefully you had a chance to check out the swap meet nearby the airport (great for souvenir shopping.) Next time you visit Hawai’i we’d love to host you again. Thank you for the review.

Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We booked this last minute, & I did not research as well as usual.
We stayed at Sheraton for business 3 days, then moved to Aston.
Booked a partial ocean view room - don't bother. Could not sit on the balcony - would have paid for full ocean view room if I had known. Room was spacious and beds comfy.
Bathroom on checking in was dirty.
Breakfast was my biggest complaint. Lots of fatty, sugary, carbohydrate loaded options, but little healthy food. After filling your cooler bag, you then had to find a seat - good luck with that! Not really my idea of breakfast on a holiday. Only ate there once.
Small pool and lots of families with children....
Great location with an easy walk to the busier end of the beach strip. Lovely beach area opposite.
Next trip I will research with vigour, & read more reviews, prior to booking anything.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacc61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Aloha and sorry to see your expectations weren’t met. We do have other properties in Waikiki and on other islands that might suit your needs better. Each Aston Hotels & Resorts property has a unique personality and offers different amenities. Our property is hip and fun with a tropical vibe. Our continental breakfast provides a tremendous value, especially for families considering breakfast for everyone in the room is included in the amenity fee.

Also, we do have double balconies on the pool side, and ocean front of our hotel- we wish we had known about this request sooner as we could have tried to find a different room for you.

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our property, we hope you had a lovely holiday.

Mahalo,
Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I booked this hotel on priceline and had read all the mixed reviews about it.
The rooms do look a bit dated but me and my husband could look beyond that as we didn't spend much time in the room as we were always out and about.

The pool area is small, so with children its not great but again you have the wonderful beach in front so why would you want to stay by the pool.

They do charge $18 for chairs, wifi and pool towels and breakfast. breakfast is continental and nice however not really needed everyday.
The wifi isn't great. however I found taking the chairs with us every day to the beach and any beach was great.

the location is a bit noisy but I think all of that strip is noisy, however if you have a car, then its free parking literally outside the zoo so its great for that.

its not a four star hotel, but I would book it again as it suited my needs come in get changed and go out sleep and shower and go out again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Aloha, and thank you staying at our hotel, we’re glad you would stay with us again in the future. Our daily amenity fee includes daily continental breakfast, unlimited movie and game rentals, WiFi, use of in room safe, local calls, and daily newspaper. We provide the beach towel and chair rentals complimentary. Our pool is similar in size, if not average to most of the other hotels' pools in Waikiki. There aren’t too many properties with large or several pools on property. It seems to work out well for most because the beach across the street from us has calm waters protected by a wall that blocks the waves, which is great for kids or those who don’t like the waves.

Mahalo,
Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Not only could we not check in on arrival ( after a 16 hr trip) but we were then offered a room which had two double beds, but for an added $500!!!!! Then they threw in a $18.00 per day charge to use the safe and Internet...

I also think the pictures taken for this site and every other site I've seen we taken a good 10 years ago, the pool is so old and horrible, the bathrooms haven't been cleaned or updated in... Ever.

To really top off the worst service ever.. We get a knock at the door at 11pm to tell us that we've had a 'noise complaint' hmmm interesting that the person who complained about us would be able to hear us over the noise from the street given that none of the sliding doors close and you can hear EVERY NOISE EVER ALL NIGHT?!!

Wouldn't stay here again EVER and won't be recommending it to anyone I know. Going to give my travel agent to hot tip too!

Room Tip: Go some where else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Aloha Katy,

I’m sorry that your room wasn’t available for an early check-in; we do guarantee a 3:00 check-in but we do not guarantee bedding requests. We make our reservations based on category type (such as Partial Ocean View, or Ocean View) rather than bedding. We’re sorry that we weren’t able to accommodate the double bed request immediately… not sure what the $500 is that you’re referring to? We do our best to accommodate bedding requests and early check-ins, when possible. I’m happy to learn we did provide the desired bedding starting from the second night.

Our building was built many years ago. We are currently reviewing how we can improve parts of our hotel such as the pool deck. For now, our maintenance and housekeeping departments continually provide touch-ups to the area to keep it welcoming and clean.

I’m sorry to see your comments about the noise and service. If we received a noise complaint from a guest during sleeping hours it is our due diligence to kindly ask the other guests to lower their volume. And the street noise is not unique to our property or location. Nearly all of the hotels in Waikiki have the same amount of noise as we do. It may come as a surprise to some, especially those from a quitter city or town…. But new experiences are part of the fun for most, even if it is an inconvenience at first.

Katy, we thank you for traveling 16 hours to visit our home, Waikiki, and for choosing to stay at our hotel. We hope you had a lovely holiday and that you wish to return to our tropical islands in the future.

Sincerely,
Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,514 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3698
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $173 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 645 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing