We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Ranked #53 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Stunning location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Picked the Partial Ocean Front View Room which was absolutely fine because we barely spent any time in the room. The room was a little dated to what it appeared to be in the photos, but very clean, and the view was just stunning! It was a fantastic stay, the only thing I was disappointed about was that the Breakfast on the Beach was actually an esky bag, which we could then fill from the breakfast buffet and walk across the road to the beach. I splashed out on the nicer hotel for the Buffet on the Beach, but just have to read the fine print I guess! Still a beautiful location, and there was so much to do!! I needed more than 6 nights in Honolulu!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Aloha Nadine, and thank you for staying with us! We’re glad to see you enjoyed our hotel and awesome view from your room. The cooler bag is perfect for packing up and taking breakfast to the beach, or on day time activities. Next time you’re in Hawaii maybe you can stay for over a week… there is too much to do in one visit! Thank you for the lovely review, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Mahalo,
Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    1,522
    781
    262
    168
See reviews for
1,046
1,509
116
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (927)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago Burbs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent three nights on Oahu for our first HI experience and wanted to stay in the heart of things - this hotel certainly is! Be aware that this is a high traffic area so if you want peace and quiet book elsewhere. But if you want to be close to the excitement of Waikiki this place is a good value.

Our rooms were comfortable but the bathrooms, while adequate, require updating. We slept well on their comfortable beds and had plenty of room for what we needed, which was not much as we were out most of the time. On arrival the bellhops directed us to the front desk and we quickly became familiar with getting around (Hint: The escalators make it easy to get up and down, while the elevators key to your floor for a quick ride.)

The first two days were had booked early AM excursions and missed the breakfasts to the amenity fee was burned for those days. We made the breakfast the last day but if we could have opted out we would have. I would say the amenity fee was not a good value for us. The supplied food was average and I've had better continental breakfasts at Hampton for no additional fee (with hot eggs, meat and waffles.) We had no interest in the games and used little of the wifi and television. They need tables and chairs for dining otherwise use the supplied picnic bag from your room and eat either on the beach or in your room.

We did enjoy the food and drink at the Tiki restaurant on the front-desk level. Pricing was on-par for Waikiki but quality was very good. Our bartender even looked up and made my favorite island drink - the Goombay Smash!

Our rooms had a direct view of Waikiki beach and I recommend that option. It was a great view and wish we could have spent more time enjoying it. We were able to get chairs for the beach but they were short on beach towels and we had to settle for bath towels at times.

Their pool is nice but morning sun is limited and it crowds quickly. We were lucky enough to be there during the International Hula Conference and got an awesome free hula show - fantastic!

Compared to other hotels in the area I think this is the best value. If you want to spend more money you may find nicer hotels in the same area but you will need to decide if it's worth it to you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMikeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Aloha, and we’re glad to learn you found value in our hotel. Most of our guests really enjoy the fact that we’re directly across the street from the beach, without having to pay for the ‘on the sand' price.

I’ve never tried the Goombay Smash before, but probably should try it out! Nearly everyone living in Honolulu knows about Tiki’s Grill and Bar, and we’re proud to have it on property. It’s their live music each night and energetic ambience that brings in the crowds (and of course their food and drinks). Hopefully we’ll be welcoming you again next time you are on Oahu. Thank you for staying with us, and for the nice picture and review.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel HAS to be the noisiest hotel on Waikiki Beach! It seems like every single truck, bus, trolley, and tour van makes its circle in front of the hotel EVERY single morning starting at 6:00 a.m. I wish I'd done better research on location before I booked.
The hotel also charges an "amenity fee" of $18.00 per day, which we did not notice until our arrival. This fee covers their breakfast by the pool (the usual "continental" type) and wi-fi access fees of $9.95 per day. Really? $9.95 for wi-fi?

Room Tip: If one is spending the money for a Hawaii vacation, spend a little more and book a hotel on the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Aloha Sarah,

Waikiki is a tourist destination with many visitors and locals. The street noise is something that all residents and visitors experience- it is not unique to our hotel or location. The other hotels in the area have the same situation. The cost and inclusions our amenity fee is displayed on our website and we notify the travel agencies of the details, as well. We do not charge for WiFi; it, along with breakfast, unlimited movie rentals, local calls, use of in room safe, and daily newspaper is included in the amenity fee.

Mahalo,
Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Rooms average, baths a bit outdated, front desk service average, needs training. I would ask 4 different people the same question and get 4 different answers. The beach breakfast is okay for continental. The doughnuts were tummy, however, not needed everyday. You could get an omelette for $5 and nothing else. Hotel ran out of beach chairs almost everyday.

Hotel restaurant okay, tiki bar not worth it. They should serve the regular menu in the bar. Wolfgang puck style. The express kitchen on the watershed was very good. Their is a fantastic sushi bar next door at the Marriott.

Overall, okay stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctdudette100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Aloha, thank you for staying with us. We’re glad you stay was ‘overall okay’ but sorry we didn’t ‘wow’ you. Most of our guests will pick up beach towels and chairs during the breakfast hours, they are in high demand and perhaps we should consider getting more for the busy summer months. The hot items such as omelets and waffles are provided for convenience, and the cost is nominal compared to the restaurant prices nearby.

Not too sure what kinds of questions were asked at the front desk? Many times they receive inquiries regarding late check-outs or room moves. The answers to these inquiries do change throughout the day, depending on which guest rooms are available for occupancy. Sorry if there was any confusion.

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to review our hotel; perhaps you’ll join us again next time.

Mahalo,
Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I booked this on a recommendation from our Travel agent and a friend of the family who recently stayed here and from the moment I arrive I had issues with this hotel.

Firstly the lobby isn't on the ground floor, you have to figure out where it is and how to get there- lift or escalators. Though the lifts are confusing (press 3)

Secondly the room I stayed in and am still in (last night thankfully) has 2 double bed (yep doubles not queens) for a couple and the bathroom barely fits 1 person in it.

Thirdly - How the hell do I exit without having to go to lobby every time? That's right I haven''t figured out how to go to the ground floor from my level.

So that's the bad, here's the good
1) Location is right across the road from the swimming beach that's separated from the main surf for safety.
2) Continental Breakfast included, though its hard to find a seat.
3) Dvd's and games as well as wi-fi access are included in the 'resort' fee.. wouldn't really call it a resort though.

I wont stay here again unless I got a super good deal.

Room Tip: I wouldn't know any tips as my room wasn't good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FoxyRoxyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Aloha Roxy,

Many of the hotels in Waikiki have their main lobby on an upper floor, especially those that are located directly across the street from the Ocean, for security purposes, the elevators stop at the third floor. This way we have more images on our security feed in the unlikely event that something happens to someone, or their belongings. We are sorry for the inconveniences, however, safety for our staff and guests is our top priority and we have to take every precaution considering we house guests in over 600 rooms daily.

Also, our rooms have either two double beds or one king sized bed, as stated on our website. Our hotel was built during a time when location and view was priority rather than room or bathroom size.

You mentioned you’d stay with us again depending on the room rate. Feel free to provide us your email address if you’d like to be notified of special deals. You can email me/us at: res.wow@astonhotels.com. Thanks for the review, and we hope you had fun in Waikiki!

Mahalo,
Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon. We wanted an ocean front room but didnt want to pay the price of some of the other hotels. We were plesently surprised. The hallways were a little dated but the rooms were nice and modern, the bathroom was ok as well. The balcony was only small but could fit both of us and had great views of the beach and waikiki. We really liked the location as its at the end of the strip. This made it quieter, there was more beach and it was less crowded. The free breakfast was pretty average but it does the job of giving you a quick bite to eat before you head off for the day. What we really enjoyed were the free DVD's - great to relax with after a big day exploring. We would easily stay here again & would reccomend it to others.

Room Tip: We had an ocean front so were also at the end of the hallway. No noise issues at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IamGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Aloha Lisa,

Watching movies in bed after a long day of fun in the sun and sand is very relaxing. I’m glad you took advantage of our movie rentals. We’re pleased to learn that you had a lovely Hawaiian honeymoon and we thank you for staying with us. Maybe for your one year anniversary you can stay with us again. If you’d like the same room email me/us and we’ll do our best to save it for you. Thanks again!

Mahalo,
Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Second time staying here. Love the breakfast & "Breakfast on the Beach""BOB".
Love the fact you have to use your keycard to get to your floor, very fast.
Jon was very helpful in getting us an upgrade from 7th floor to 22nd floor. View was of Zoo and Diamond Head. Unfortunately room was handicap room - no bathtub and did not like the fact that there was no counter at all in the bathroom, had to put items on toilet tank. Rooms are looking dated. Loved the free DVD's.
Rooms on Diamond head side have only standing balconies, Waikiki side have sitting balconies.
Pool was never usually crowded. Towels & chairs can be signed out to go to beach.
Unfortunately didn't have housekeeping one day, had to ask for more towels and toilet paper.
Suggestion to hotel - need more hooks or racks to hang items especially in bathroom. More drawers would be good too. Rooms could use an upgrade.
All in all the location is great, right on Kalalaua across from jetty. Not too noisy. Can walk to everything.
Loved it!

Room Tip: room 2208 is handicap room, great view but no counter in bathroom or bathtub. Rooms on Diamond he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dottak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for the review. I’m glad our Front Desk Agent was able to assist and accommodate your room change request and that you enjoyed staying at our hotel. The ADA rooms are configured a bit differently, but we do the best we can with the given space. Thank you for the suggestions regarding hooks/drawers/counter space. We’re currently reviewing how to prioritize during our next renovation, and we appreciate your feedback. Please visit us again the next time you’re on Oahu, Mahalo!

-Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,110 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#47 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Property: Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3698
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 645 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing