We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Have just spent 9 nights at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel. We had a fantastic time. The great points were: Close to the beach, most things within walking distance, plenty to do if you choose, rooms are ok...

Our room had an awesome view down Waikiki Beach..never got sick of looking at it!
I was initially a bit nervous about this place after reading the reviews but we had a GREAT time! For the price, we had no problems at all.

Staff were friendly, always willing to help out and never intrusive.
I would go back there again anytime.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an ocean view...its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamsuzette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

We are glad to see you enjoyed our hotel, and thank you for the great pictures. Our property is located directly across the street and offers spectacular views. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,816 - 1,822 of 3,942 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights. The good points are: close to the beach, close to the shopping, continental breakfast included, great ocean view from 25th floor, staff were somewhat friendly and helpful.
Bad points: Valet parking a ripoff $27 we ended up parking on the street for most our time there, rooms very tiny really there is no room for 2 double beds, balcony really small and no where to hang swimmers, no seats available for breakfast.... that is why it is called breakfast on the beach to encourage you to go to the beach to free up the seats. The amenity fee is pretty pointless they should just include it in the room price, we didn't borrow the DVD's we had seen most of the movies. Housekeeping didn't replenish all the towels had to call reception/housekeeping to bring more towels this happened twice. I don't recommend having 2 adults and 2 children in the 1 room to squashy but I couldn't justify paying just over $2,000 for 7 days when we were spending most of our days out. We normally stay in apartments (timeshare) but were unable to get into an apartment so thought this one looked ok.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franny70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Aloha, and thank you for the review. Our daily amenity fee includes ‘Breakfast on the Beach’, movie and game rentals from the kiosks found on the upper lobby, local calls, use of in room safe, and daily newspaper. The cooler bags are found in the guest room upon arrival and intended for breakfast-on-the go, to take to the beach, up to the guest room, or to enjoy poolside with our musician and hula dancer.

Our property is located directly across the street from the beach and offers spectacular views. Our building was built during a time when location and view were prioritized rather than room size. We also offer Aloha Suites which provide more square footage and a pull out sofa bed which can be a good option for some families that would like more space.

Parking is $27 per day plus tax and is the lowest costing hotel valet parking on Kalakaua Ave. The service is offered to our guests with intention of providing them convenience since parking is very limited in Waikiki. Our Valet team parks the cars, and retrieves them upon request. They also assist with storing luggage, and delivering them to the guest rooms.

We hope your family had a great Hawaiian vacation, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Arrived on 4/19/13 for 4 nights the entrance is confusing but ok, the front desk staff were nice, room is New York size small, we stayed in room 824 partial ocean front view, balcony is tiny, small room safe, ironing board, iron, tiny refrigerator, no micro, bathroom small with no ceiling vent, beds are comfortable with 32 inch flat screen. Room has ps 3 console with free rentals. But hotel is a great spot for everything trolley bus,tour pick point, taxi, public transportation and beach is 50 yards across the street with malls, high end shopping within walking distance. Dislike the amount of homeless sleeping nearby, hustlers everywhere. But I always felt safe carrying a large amounts of cash no matter were I went not hotel fault but island problem.

Room Tip: The homeless issue in hawaii is not hotels fault, after speaking with local people other states are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smarttraveler4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Aloha, and thank you for the review. Yes, our location is conveniently located near buses, trolleys, and shuttle pickups. We are also walking distance to many restaurants and local attractions such as the Honolulu Zoo, and best of all- the beach is directly across the street.

The guest rooms include a mini-refrigerator, flat screen TV, a standup or sit down balcony, two double beds, or one king bed, and our suites also include a pull out sofa bed. The daily amenity fee includes “Breakfast on the Beach”, movie and game rentals from the kiosk found on the upper lobby (via Play Station 3), daily newspaper, local calls, and use of the in room safe.
We are glad to see you enjoyed our hotel, mahalo!

Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed at the Aston for four nights--first time in Hawaii so wasn't sure what to expect. Let's start with the positives first:

Flight got in early, so planned to check in and just stow our bags when we got to the Aston at noon. At that point they said that our partial view room was ready so we can go on ahead. Score! +5 for convenience

Hotel: hip and trendy decorations. +1. Friendly staff, interesting "high tech" elevators. +1. No little kids pressing every button before you get to your floor!

Location: absolutely superb. Walking distance to all major shopping areas, literally across the street from the beach. Moped rental place right behind the hotel, and car rental place less than a mile walk away. +5. Also one of the best bar + bar staff + drinks IN hotel +5

Room: cute decor. View upgrade is totally worth it, even at partial view. Waikiki Beach at sunset and sunrise on the balcony while having a glass of wine or FREE orange juice was just wonderful (free breakfast is provided every day). +5

Though I enjoyed staying here, and wouldn't mind staying again, a few complaints:
- my bedsheet had a hole in it -3
- parking at $27 per night is highway robbery. Price was comparable to other hotels in the area, and I didn't rent for the entire duration of my trip so was able to save a few bucks, but still, expensive -3
- the elevators are cool, except when what seemed like 100 HS kids were checking in and kept scanning their cards over and over and kept getting reassigned, causing delays. And there's no "take the stairs to your floor" option. -5
- I had a couple ants on the table due to a fresh lei--do hotels get ants? I wiped away the "lei juice" and they disappeared by the time I left for the beach and came back -5
- housekeeping did not replace my shampoo/conditioner/etc., had to special request these. -3

So, using my own method of scoring (with more points for really important things and less for not so important), I put the Aston at a 4. :)

Room Tip: 5th floor partial view rooms are not too shabby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claud09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Aloha, and thank you for writing a thoughtful review and explaining your clever scoring system. It seems like you bought a nice lei made from fresh local flowers. It is likely that the ants were hidden in the flowers used for the lei. (I have yet to hear about any ant problems in the hotel...and I hear about nearly everything around here!)
The elevator system was installed to reduce waiting times since we are such a large hotel and have high occupancy. It also serves as an extra security feature since a room key is required to get to the upper floors of the hotel.
Parking in Waikiki is limited. Our valet service is intended for convenience and reliability. We also help with storing and delivering luggage to the rooms. Our $27 a day plus tax charge is the lowest cost for hotel valet parking on Kalakaua Ave.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Mahalo,
Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We booked 10 days at this hotel and did so directly from the hotel website because bookers (like booking.com and such) do not have all the deals the hotel offers, notably the reduced rate if you stay at least 7 nights. I had read a lot of the reviews from TA beforehand so I decided to send them a direct email right after booking online in which I stated the purpose of our trip and what we were expecting. The hotel replied the same day saying that all my points were well noted and that they would do their best to fulfill our requests. Upon arrival I was not disappointed at all and felt they had actually taken my points into consideration to give us a great room.
After 10 days there here are what I can say to help you decide:

- If you want to see the ocean well, book an "Ocean view select" room. While it is a bit more expensive than a "partial ocean view" or "ocean view", the "select" guarantees you are on a higher floor (20 to 25). We ended up on the 25th floor and very close to the sea side so our view was an unobstructed view of the entire Waikiki bay. We could see the Friday Hilton fireworks from the balcony. Fabulous for the price I think.
Also, floors higher up are more quiet and it was one of our requirement so it was perfect.

- Our room had 1 door separating us from the next one, and they seem to all go in pairs like this. It must be to be able to reunite families who book 2 rooms. I had no complaint about it but if our neighbors had been noisy or partying in their room it would have been a problem I think. I guess it's like at home: there's always a bit of luck with whom you get as neighbors.

- Some reviews complain about the $18 resort fee per day but I do think that fee is not outrageous at all compared to other hotels which ALL charge one (and if they don't this means you have nothing). We used the room safe, the breakfast, the towels, the DVD (rain on a couple of days), the wi-fi and everything worked as advertised. We did not go to the gym room and forgot to check it out.

- Breakfast every day with the little tote bag is great. I ended up going downstairs to get it and bringing it back to the room as our balcony had a great view. It's true that the pool area gets filled up quickly but if you go early you might be able to get a spot. The musician and the dancer are such a peaceful addition to the scene. The breakfast selection was truly good for us: a selection of cereals, yoghourt, cut fruits, danishes (including croissants, doughnuts, muffins), coffee, and even miso soup and onigiri. If you want an omelet you must pay extra but I can understand that since it's made upon order.

- We used the included towel service to get some to go to the beach and return them at the end of the day. And for days when you return late (after 7pm) you can leave them at the reception and there's no fee. I saw other hotels not even including that while their resort fee was much higher.

- Cleaning service was really good and efficient during our stay. Very discreet, no loud noise and so courteous when we saw them in the hallway. Definitely happy with their daily service for our room.

- The location is, in my opinion, very very good because it is at the end of the stretch, next to a very green park that makes you feel you're not in the urban jungle that Waikiki is, yet you are literally less than 10 minutes by foot from the Moana Surfrider, which represents a sort of center point. If you want to hike Diamond head you are next to it, you have the volleyball courts right there and surf concession on the beach.

- Parking is expensive since you have to valet but the private shuttle service we used to go from the airport (hawaii23.com, I recommend them. Mark is a very nice person) to the hotel told us that there's free street parking on Monsarrat Ave and that is 1 block from the hotel using the sea side. We used that for 3 nights and did not have a problem. Many cars park there and there are always empty spots scattered. Since it is recommended to leave the doors unlocked wherever you park (even Budget told me that) we did just that and everything was fine. Just don't leave anything in the car.

- Plenty of convenience stores at every corner. Good Wolfgang Puck express downstairs that actually has very decent pizza and dishes. Starbucks on the corner and if you are tired of stbx just take a 200 yards walk sea side in front of the park and there's a little coffee/snack place that serves good Illy coffee with tables in front of the ocean for less than what stbx charges.

Summary: I'd stay again at that hotel because it gives very good value for the price. It is right there on the ocean and the staff is very professional.

Hope that will help you !

Room Tip: spend the extra dollars and get a ocean view "select" room, higher floors. We had room #25...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FoodScouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Aloha, and thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our main room categories are Standard, Partial Ocean, Ocean View, and Ocean Front. The 'Select' categories are level 10 and higher for Ocean Front and 20 and higher for Ocean View. They also include 'Select' amenities such as beverages and snacks picked by our General Manager.

Our daily amenity fee includes "Breakfast on the Beach", DVD's and games from the Kiosk on the upper lobby, WiFi, daily newspaper, local calls, and use of in room safe. We also provide complimentary beach towel and chair rentals at the pool dock. We ask they be returned by 7pm so that we can wash them at night and have them ready for the morning.

We are glad that we were able to accommodate your requests. It seems like you had a lovely time in Hawaii, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

-Rebecca, Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We arrived at the Aston on Sunday, April 7th around 7P. Upon arrival we went up the escalator to the hotel desk. It was awkward to find if you didn't know where to go. We checked in and the receptionist informed us that there was an $18 a day fee for internet, DVD rental, towels, newspaper and more. That added another $100 to our trip the moment we arrived.

The room was clean. We got a king size room. The bride and groom got a room with two double beds becasue they have a 5 year old as well. You could barely walk around the beds once the luggage was in there. Our room wasn't like that at all. The one bed definitely had its perks. The view wasn't too great. There was a hotel right next to us and we could SEE IN the other hotel. A little creepy. We overlooked warehouse looking rooftops. We did have a view of the ocean looking to our right off the balcony.

The room was simple with a dresser, TV, table, two chairs, and night stands. The bathroom was simple as well with three sets of towels. We did have to call on a daily basis and ask for new towels. It didn't ever take very long. Room service didn't come until very late in the afternoon on the 10th floor.

We didn't spend a ton of time in the hotel, so for us it was just fine. Nothing to write home about. We did enjoy the fact that we were on the end of the commercialized strip. Waikiki Beach was literally across the street and wasn't ever packed like it was in the middle of the strip. We always found room and didn't feel like we were on top of the people next to us. You can check out towels and bring them to the beach, so no need to rbing your own like we did. They also check out chairs you can bring there as well. We didn't utlize the hotel. We're from MN and wanted to be on the beach!

They had a continental breakfast each morning from 630a-9a. We ate here twice because we wanted to experience the food on the island. They do provide you a cooler to bring down to breakfast to take food back up to your hotel room/ Refridgerators are in each room. There is yogurt, cereal, pastries and you can buy an omelet for $5.

All in all for simple purposes I would recommend this hotel if you like to explore and don't plan to be in your room a ton. It wasn't five star, but had just what we needed.

Room Tip: I would suggest asking for a room overlooking the pool or an oceanview. Partial oceanview means you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizSchaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Aloha, our mandatory daily amenity fee includes "Breakfast on the Beach", DVD's and games from the Kiosk on the upper lobby, WiFi, daily newspaper, local calls, and use of in room safe.

Our main room categories are Standard, Partial Ocean, Ocean View, and Ocean Front. The Ocean Front rooms are on the face of the hotel (directly across the street from the beach) and the other categories are on different parts of the sides of the hotel. One side has views of the Ocean and Waikiki Strip, and one side has views of the Ocean and Diamond Head. All three are fabulous.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Mahalo,
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've read a lot of negative reviews about the Aston Waikiki Beach, none of them were true. This hotel is located in the perfect stop; across the street from the beach. the lobby is open aired by the pool, lovely breakfast spread every morning with live music and dancer. the rooms were comfortable. the staff friendly. Coffee/cold water available daily near check-in. you never feel as though your near a busy street until you're on the street. Yes there is a serious homely problem there, what city doesn't have one? the streets & beaches are cleaned daily, there's a visible police present but you never feel you need to watch your every step. this is a very laid back area but very family friendly.

Room Tip: If you desire complete quite; Rooms on higher floors are less likely to have noise from street traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Aloha, we are glad you found our hotel to be friendly, comfortable, and family friendly. We do our best to keep our guest rooms clean and to extend our Aloha spirit to each of our guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,617 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#17 of 84 in Honolulu
2,299 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,647 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3698
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $195 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 645 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Travelocity, Expedia, Splitty, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing