We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$329
$300
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$352
$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$226
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$224
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$254
$209
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
$204
$199
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$242
$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$441
$336
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,058)
Filter reviews
4,058 results
Traveler rating
1,057
1,662
862
289
188
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,057
1,662
862
289
188
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooler bagacross the streetyogurttiki restaurantwolfgang puck expresswaikiki beachocean frontfree breakfastdiamond headpartial ocean viewfloor numberevery morninghonolulu zoohomeless peopleroom keypool deckoceanfront room
Filter
Updating list...
1,959 - 1,964 of 4,058 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

When we arrived at our hotel, we were so tired from the 10 hour flight. We got to our room and were somewhat disappointed in the size . . . very tight BUT very clean and comfortable. In fact, at check in we were upgraded since it was our anniversary. The view from the balcony was amazing. You could see down on the pool area but the best part was the view of Waikiki Beach just across the street. This hotel sits at the end of what I would call the hotel area of Waikiki Beach. The next block down is a beautiful, spacious park area and a zoo. The hotel provides a continental breakfast each morning along with live hawaiian music and entertainment. The hotel calls it "Breakfast on the Beach" as they provide a cooler for your food and you can just walk across the street and eat on the beach if you wish. Also, most tour companies pick up at this hotel. It was very convenient. You could literally see most of the Waikiki Beach area, i.e, surfers, paddle boarders, swimmers, etc. The child friendly beach (protected area by a retaining wall) was just across the street from the Aston. We saw rainbows from our balcony every day. The food in the bar area was very good as well. Other than the room size, this was truly a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jambynon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Aloha, and thank you for staying with us during your anniversary. We are located directly across the street from Waikiki Beach, and our property does provide stunning views. Transportation, restaurants, shops, water activities, the Zoo, and more are within walking distance of our hotel.

Our breakfast is on the upper lobby each morning. We provide a cooler bag in each guest room for use at breakfast, as our guests can enjoy the hula dancer and singer, or pack-and-go.
Our hotel was built during a time when view and location was the priority rather than room size, but our Aloha Suites offer more square footage and a pull out sofa bed.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

No this is not the newest of hotels but it was clean, quiet, and the staff was great. The location is very convenient. The breakfast was great and there was plenty to each with great coffee. The staff was great and very helpful. I would stay here again. Also the restaurant that is by the pool area is outstanding!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLY22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

We are glad to see you enjoyed our friendly staff and our poolside breakfast. Tiki’s Bar & Grill is our onsite restaurant serving Asian Fusion Cuisine; they also have live music each night where locals and visitors enjoy drink and food. Our hotel is situated perfectly at the East end of Waikiki which is the quieter side, yet still very convenient and lively!

We hope to welcome you again, Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The views from our ocean front room were gorgeous (1731). Balcony pretty small. The hotel is at the eastern end of Waikiki but it really didn't take long to walk back toward the centre of Waikiki beach toward the market place, maybe five minutes, so we were happy with the location The rooms were roomy enough, bathrooms a little tired, but everything worked well. The hotel was upgrading their wifi so that there was wifi in all rooms on the second last day we were there. It was really windy the week we were there (mid Feb 2013) so we didn't use the pool. My husband and I didn't mind the continental style breakfast but we did go elsewhere a couple of times. The bed was really comfortable, it was best nights sleep I've had for ages.
The lift system is fantastic, you just need to listen as to how it works, some people seemed to have difficulty with working it out.
My husband and I would stay there again, friendly staff, clean rooms great location and price was reasonable for the view/ room we had, although you don't really spend a great deal of time in your room.

Room Tip: Ocean front room had spectacular views (room 1731) and had a great view of the Hilton fireworks on the 2 Friday nights we were there.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were looking for a mid-ranged hotel in the Waikiki area for a few nights. We booked into the Aston Waikiki Beach which is located nearer the Zoo end of Kalakaua Ave. It fronts onto Kalakaua and many rooms have a beach view. Upon arriving, we had to take an elevator to the third floor where the registration was located. After getting squared away, we were given our room keys (credit card type) and told to use the elevators to get to our floor. Here was the beginning of our adventure. You have to swipe an area of the elevator key. When it rings, then you can enter your floor number. Finding the right place to swipe took getting used to and everyone seemed to be having the same issue. Once we got used to it (I think it took two days), we were okay. Then we got to our room. Here we had to insert our key into a slot and pull it our. Some times it took over a dozen swipes. We even had our keys re-keyed and still had the same problem. After three days we found out that you had to jam the key right back in the slot before pulling it our at medium speed.

Our room was quite small. This hotel was built in the sixties and had been renovated. The decor had an odd retro feel about it and the two double beds really made the room close in on us. There was a small patio that had one chair and one small foot stool... that's it. The bathroom was just okay in size, with a shower/bathtub combo, sink and toilet... pretty standard hotel fare. Besides the beds, there was a small table and two chairs, a chest of drawers,.a flat screen tv and a Playstation where you could play DVDs as well as games. There was also a small closet that held a floor safe. Along with our room costs,. there was an additional $18 a day for 'amenities' which included the use of the safe, wireless internet, and free breakfasts (a la continental style). Although we used the hotel room mainly for sleeping, it would have been nice to have had a little more room. The morning breakfasts were okay. They consisted of juices, cereals, yogurts, pastries, miso soup, coffees, milk and fresh fruit. This is basically all you needed to get your day going. The views were good from our 18th floor room and the noise was acceptable. All in all, I think this was an okay place to stay. If you were on a budget, it would seem good. For a few more bucks, you could get a better room across the street at the Marriott. But for four nights, we felt it was accdeptable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as you can get as there is a lounge on the third floor that plays live music every night. On the 18th floor we could barely hear it with our patio door closed. Or get a room on the zoo side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank thelamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Sydney
123
Reviewed March 10, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews