We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$606
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$780
$740
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$500
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$519
$494
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$249
$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$549
$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$779
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$659
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$313
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,035)
Filter reviews
4,035 results
Traveler rating
1,052
1,653
859
287
184
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,052
1,653
859
287
184
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooler bagacross the streetyogurttiki restaurantwolfgang puck expresswaikiki beachocean frontfree breakfastdiamond headpartial ocean viewfloor numberevery morninghonolulu zoohomeless peopleroom keypool deckoceanfront room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,943 - 1,948 of 4,035 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Waikiki is definitely one for the tourists, mostly north americans desperate to see some sun. The Aston is well situated across from the beautiful coloured water and close to the main touristy attractions. However, the hotel is old and needs a complete overhaul. It was sold to us as a 4 star when it's really a 3. It's not terrible but it has its problems. We got annoyed by the extra $18 daily fee to access things that should have been included in the tariff, wifi, beach towel hire and breakfast. And speaking of breakfast, it's laughable. The hotel cheats by giving you a plastic carry case to go down to the pool area to collect a basic array of foods. Yet many people sit and eat on the pool furniture while a singer and a hula dancer 'entertain' them. Hula was the last thing I wanted to hear at 7am as a watched the wind blow the breakfast detritus into the pool. It was as grim as I imagine a UK holiday camp to be. But, on the upside, the staff are really lovely and the genuinely try to make your stay a good one. We stayed for 4 nights and ended up enjoying our time there...as long as we went somewhere else for breakfast.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Peter4holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Aloha, we are glad to see you enjoyed our lovely staff. The amenity fee includes daily continental breakfast, hotel-wide wifi, and unlimited DVD and game rentals via PlayStation3, daily newspaper, local calls, and use of in room safe. The beach towel and chair rentals are at the pool deck in order to accommodate our guests. Our location is conveniently located at the east end of Waikiki directly across from the ocean. Our building, similar to most of the buildings in Waikiki, was built over 30 years ago. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff work hard to keep it clean, and inviting, and our management team is always looking for ways to improve the property during renovations. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope you had a great vacation.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights for our anniversary. The location is great, right across from Waikiki Beach and close to many shops. The decor in the room and throughout the hotel was nice, but the room was a bit small and the bathroom was dated. We enjoyed the Breakfast on the Beach ("BOB") as we took our little esky filled with fruit and pastries from the buffet, and sat in a park by Waikiki Beach, which was just a short walk from the hotel. We also took advantage of the DVD rentals that were included in the resort fee. The main disappointment for us was the band at the Tiki Bar playing late into the night, which made it difficult for us to fall asleep, especially when we had early pick ups the next morning for tours. If we were on the other side of the hotel, it may have been better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessM3685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here for a week. The hotel has a good location and was close to the beach, shopping, dining and the zoo. I was worried about the room being small after reading some reviews but it honestly wasn't that bad (and we were 3 adults & 1 child). The bathroom could have used a little work but was still okay. We had a oceanview room on the 22nd floor so the view of waikiki beach was fantastic. We could hear the music from Tiki's bar & grill but it always ended at 11 so it didn't bother us. The breakfast was good although some mornings it was challenging to find a seat. There was always plenty of food and the music and hula dancing were fun to watch. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nhconants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Aloha, we are glad you enjoyed the spectacular view of Waikiki from our hotel. Upon check in guests find a cooler bag in the guest room. It is perfect for packing up breakfast and taking it back to the guest room, the beach, or on-the-go… and it’s a nice souvenir, too. Tiki’s Bar & Grill is our onsite restaurant. Locals and tourists eat, drink, and enjoy live music each night.
Mahalo for staying with us, and we welcome you back in the future!

Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I agree with the previous reviewer. I had also read some terrible reviews about this hotel and we were a little worried before arriving. I am happy to say that we enjoyed our stay here. We had a great view of the beach and the Waikiki main strip (get an ocean front room). We could watch the Friday night fireworks at the Hilton Hawaiian Village from our balcony. Tiki's restaurant had great, reasonably priced food and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Ranelle at the expedia desk was fantastic in arranging our activities. The rooms are perhaps a little dated, but I found them nicer than some of the cold, sterile looking rooms that I have stayed in before. Hotels are often the same all over the world, but this one had a Hawaiian feel and it's nice to stay somewhere a little different for a change. The hotel does not claim 5 star status and for the rating, price and location the rooms and service were more than enough. And we have stayed in a lot of 5 star hotels. The breakfast on the beach is a great idea and there was entertainment for those who wanted to enjoy their breakfast at the poolside. There was a beautiful hula dancer from Molokai one morning. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the Kalakaua Ave side of the hotel, preferably on a higher level.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m00dle255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Aloha, and thank you for the thoughtful review. We are pleased to learn that you found our hotel to provide value and friendly service. Our hotel is unique- from the Tiki Torches to the Hawaiian décor- we offer a truly Hawaiian experience. We welcome each of our guests to enjoy our complimentary breakfast. The singer and hula dancer are lovely, and the cooler bad found in your guest room is a perfect way to pack-and-go when you feel like going to the beach or relaxing in the room. Mahalo for staying with us!

Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Not too bad. The staff was friendly and the beds were cozy. All the tour buses will pick you up at or near your hotel. They do need to offer free shuttle service to and from the hotel though. Also in room microwaves would have been nice. The pool was freezing couldn't even get in it the ocean was actually warmer. No in room wifi while we were there but they will have it by mid march so we used the park shores free wifi lol. We only ate at their subway (no $5 footlongs here ) we didn't try any of their other restaurants. You get a playstation 3 to play games and movies from their kiosks which is included in the $18 a day + tax resort fee and free continental breakfast by the pool ( watch out for the birds they are everywhere and beg for food like dogs). All in all we did enjoy our hotel stay and will hopefully return someday.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laf419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Aloha, and thank you for the review. Our daily amenity fee includes continental breakfast, unlimited DVDs and games via PlayStation 3, internet, local calls, daily newspaper, and use of in room safe. We apologize about the birds. We do agree that they can be a nuisance for tourists (everywhere in Waikiki!), and we ask our guests to kindly not feed them. And yes, hotel-wide WiFi is nearly complete- we are excited about this!
Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews