We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so experience in the heart of Waikiki”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“So so experience in the heart of Waikiki”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We booked an ocean view room and that is what we got, a good view of the ocean, but our balcony was on the same level as the roof of the shops and restaurants below, meaning that it would be quite easy to access the room via the balcony door as the lock was not that secure. We made sure to take precautions that our items were in the safe or on our person when we went out.
As I had a deal from expedia, the resort fees were included as was the breakfast on the beach - what a joke! The breakfast was awful, there were tiny muffins and mini bagels thrown in baskets and all the guests pawed over the items, the coffee was weak (dish water), cereal was pre packed with sugar, don't even think about the "fresh fruit". We gave up and went down the street to a coffee house.
Dinner at the Tiki Restaurant in the hotel was good and the food tasted really fresh. It is expensive but then so is everything on Hawaii. Good authentic flavours.
The room was small and of average grade for the age of the hotel, it could definately do with a bit of a refurb, especially the coridors which seemed dimly lit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tipsy252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were sorry to learn your experience did not meet your expectations. Currently, our breakfast includes pastries, mini muffins, cereals, miso soup, kimchee, mini bagels, milk, juices, teas and coffees. We are currently reviewing how we can improve our breakfast and appreciate your feedback. Mahalo for staying with us!

Sincerely,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    1,585
    818
    277
    178
See reviews for
1,106
1,573
122
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (976)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We visited again this January and we had a fantastic time as usual. Everyone was great and friendly from the maid in the hallway on up. We were in a Junior Suite (1927) and it was bigger than the usual rooms and worth the extra expense.

We visit Honolulu every year for the Pro Bowl with lots of friends and we always stay here. Nice (if not "fancy") hotel, Tiki's the hotel's restaurant/bar has great food, drinks and entertainment and it is close to everything.

We'll be baaaaack, Pro Bowl or no Pro Bowl.

Mahalo!

Room Tip: The junior suite is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommystyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for the review. We are glad to see you enjoy returning to our hotel and appreciated the extra space provided by the Aloha Suite. These suites include more square footage and a couch that folds out to make an extra bed. We are pleased to see that you consider the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel home away from home, how kind!

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Hotel front desk didn't offered our choice of 1 queen bed..instead we got 2 double...the room was terribly small, spotted a roach in the balcony, concierge staff was not helpful at all...not sure if they are part of the hotel...room wasn't ready 3 hrs after we were made to wait and offered to check in...elevator technology is terrible, you have to pay a mandatory fee (not shown in room charges during reservation) for daily breakfast that is terrible if you can manage a spot to eat by the pool!...no room wifi and slow internet at the lobby...old hotel with outdated beds, furniture...only good thing was the unobstructed ocean view from the balcony, city noise if you are in the lower floors....we will never go back....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avi2616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Aloha, and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are terribly sorry to see you had a less-than-desirable experience. Our daily amenity fee includes high speed internet via Ethernet, (Wifi coming soon) daily newspaper, local calls, breakfast, and unlimited movie and game rentals from the DVD kiosk. When reservations are taken, we do ask the type of bedding requested but we do not guarantee the type of bedding or the floor level of any requests. We do guarantee the category of room that is reserved. We try our best to accommodate all requests but in times of high occupancy, it is not always possible. In that situation, we do offer to move the guest the next day or as soon as the desired room becomes available. We hope you had a lovely time visiting Waikiki, and thank you for staying with us.

Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hotel is located across Waikiki Beach, very convenience. Staff is very friendly, always smiling and looking to assist at any time. The hotel has a resort fee, $18 per night, which include free dvd's rental, internet and free continental breakfast (not a big deal) however very appreciate it.
If you looking for luxury, this is not a boutique hotel, more as a family hotel.

Room Tip: if you looking for space, a room with 2 double beds, however with no views, ask for room with 08 end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Aloha, we are glad to see you enjoyed our perfect location across from the beach, and our Aloha spirit! Our location is on the east end of the Waikiki strip walking distance to the major attractions such as shopping, restaurants, zoo, aquarium, Kapioloni Park, and of course the ocean! We hope you had a lovely time in Waikiki, and look forward to your return.

Mahalo,
Rebecca
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel for 4 days. It exceeded my expectations. Because of the price, I was expecting an old run-down hotel, but it proved me wrong. While the hotel shows signs of aging, management tries its best to maintain it by being clean. No smell whatsoever. The no-smoking policy (they will make you sign a waiver), really works. The breakfast buffet was pretty good. Although it was the same everyday, it was ample. Proximity to the beach is a plus. The hotel also loans towels and chairs to take to the beach (included in the resort fee). Right next to the zoo (although, we did not have a chance to check it out, we were just mesmerized by the ocean view).

Room Tip: Room 11 (like 711 on the 7th floor) is right next to the elevator. The noise was not too bad but y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your time here.

We are currently working on plans for room refreshment, and will work hard to ensure that guests are happy with the results.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel.

Sincerely,

Mark Demello
General Manager
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigander
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great location right on street across from beach and at end by Park/Zoo. Had to wait until 3 pm check in to get room (not so good) but check out not until noon (good). I have a historic aversion to Resort Fees ($18/day) but in this case you get something you might need/use: Ethernet only room access, breakfast items with cooler to fill and keep, and free DVD's.

Was upgraded to an 'ocean view room' which was nice even though the view of the hotel next door was the primary view and the ocean a 'sliver'. Balcony big enough for only 1 chair! Rooms have been updated but on the small side and tile in bathroom old and gross (not good). No coffee pot in room (not good); free downstairs (somewhat good). Had lunch in Tiki Bar and food and service good and prices competitive to area (meaning high). Mixed Plate very good choice.

Nightly Happy Hour and Live Entertainment (very good). 'Breakfast on/for the Beach' with provided free cooler to helpful (part of Resort Fee)

Car Parking of $27/day valet only pretty efficient. Heard about $10/day Parking at Waikiki Banyan 2 blocks away but did not check out.

Room Tip: Ocean View may be limited view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GGGKalamazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I love the "breakfast on the beach". The ambiance is very Hawaiian. Staffs are extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms Are a little old but tolerable. Location is super convenience to everywhere! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiGiBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
1,470 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#59 of 84 in Honolulu
1,485 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#50 of 84 in Honolulu
3,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Property: Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3698
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 645 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing