We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,445)
Filter reviews
4,445 results
Traveler rating
1,185
1,799
934
323
204
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,185
1,799
934
323
204
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street cooler bag tiki restaurant wolfgang puck express yogurt waikiki beach ocean front hula dancer free breakfast diamond head partial ocean view floor number honolulu zoo every morning homeless people room key oceanfront room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,462 - 2,467 of 4,445 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had planned this trip for well over 6 months and kept up on the reviews on this and other websites. We were very impressed with the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel. We arrived an hour before check in and they were able to get our room ready reasonably quickly. To our surprise, they upgraded us from a double bed ocean view room to an Aloha Suite on the 11th floor with a partial ocean view. It was nice to sit on the balcony at night, listen to the band and sip drinks while the kids watched movies that they rented from the lobby which was part of the $10 a day resort fee and well worth it.

The breakfast was a bonus. Lots to choose from and a huge money saver.

The staff was all friendly from the check in staff to the valet staff. We even met a nice lady at the Expedia counter who helped us rent a car for the day to drive to the North Shore. To our surprise, she was from Portland too!!

My only real complaint was the homeless population at that end of Waikiki Beach. Once you get closer to the Surfrider and the Royal Hawaiian, there are far less homeless. However, they really congregate at the end of the strip where the Aston is located. Because of that, even though there was plenty of beach across from the hotel, we choose to walk down to the other end most days to get away from them.

The elevators were simple to figure out and reassuring to have that kind of security. We also frequently saw security walking around the property, especially during the weekend.

Tikis and Lulus are close and convenient for lunch however, Tiki's is a little overpriced. We absolutely loved Wolfgang Pucks. Great food. Great prices. Very, very convenient.

This hotel really seems to do all they can to accomodate their guests. I have no complaints about the hotel itself, however, if we went to Waikiki again, we'd probably stay a little further away from the homeless.

Room tip: Definately take advantage of the room and get a room close enough to the ground to listen to the live music every night. Definite bonus!!
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JessicaDPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Aloha and thank you for the thoughtful review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your Aloha Suite and our hotel. Yes, we are happy to accommodate our guests as much as possible and enjoy doing so! It seems like you and your family had a fabulous Hawaiian vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Mahalo,
Rebecca D.
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Good location and very clean surprised to read other review as I found staff very helpful. We were in a large room at the back but like others changed to a sea view. It is worth the trouble to sit on balcony and it is not too noisy. The free breakfast really does safe you a lot and it was very strange but nice to see people dancing to the live music by the pool at breakfast. There is no resort fee either which is another plus. You also get free beach towels and chairs which you can take anywhere useful if you don't need to pack any. Would stay here again thats all I can say.

Room tip: Try to get a sea view if only side view.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Montgomery16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Aloha and thank you for your review. We do charge a resort fee of 10$ per day plus tax for bookings made after March 2012. It includes high speed internet, use of in room safe, daily newspaper, and local calls. And yes, we do offer complimentary beach towel and beach chair rentals to our guests. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hotel and that you would stay with us again. We hope you had a lovely time in Hawaii and look forward to seeing you again. Mahalo!

Rebecca D.
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

During our stay at the Aston Waikiki on the Beach, Honolulu in October we were disgusted by the soiled bed linen and lack of follow up by the hotel. The inner linen had a large yellow stain and also another stain that appeared to be lipstick along the edge - it was a revolting find and I am sickened as to what the yellow stain could be..... Hotel Manager's response: NIL. Each day we requested for the manager to contact us and here we are nearly 2 weeks later and no response we have even emailed the Aston chain and yet still no contact.

Room tip: Ask for an Ocean Front if you want a full sea view from your room. The Ocean View only has a part sea view from the Balcony not the room.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Aloha and thank you for staying with us. Yes, our Managers did contact you during your stay as well as after. Again, we are sorry that we failed to impress you and that the promptness of our follow up was not to your satisfaction. Furthermore, we sincerely hope you had a fabulous Hawaiian Holiday.

Sincerely,
Rebecca D.
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

When you judge this hotel on the merit of a ~3 star hotel (rather than the Halekulani or the Kahala Hilton) it was great, clean, well decorated, and had a nice layout. Staff was friendly and accommodating. We liked the location a bit away from the most congested part of Waikiki Beach. The included breakfast saved us lots of money and was more than adequate despite the online sniping about it on TripAdvisor. Maybe because we were there in mid Sept. at a somewhat slow time, but we never saw the mad rush to get breakfast, that has been described. We originally got a room with 2 dbl beds and a tiny (standing room only) balcony on the 14th floor that faced another building and the back of Diamond Head, in addition to the partial ocean view (very partial). Since it wasn't a great room, I asked for an upgrade when we arrived and they said they didn't have anything. The next morning, I asked again and was offered a room across the hall with a larger balcony and ocean view, overlooking the pool. The only catch, they told us upfront, was it was right next to the elevator and they warned us about the constant noise from the elevators moving up and down (at least they don't 'ding' when the doors open). We took the room and found we quickly acclimated to the elevator noise (like wind blowing or ocean waves). It didn't bother us but I expect that it would bother many people, especially those who paid the full price for ocean view and wound up there. I also suspect that room goes empty at times because they don't want unhappy people. I appreciate that they told us about the noise upfront before we went to the trouble of switching rooms so we could make a fully informed decision. When we realized we left our cell phone charger behind in the first room (after >24 hrs) we contacted housekeeping who actually had it and quickly brought it to us! We also found that they give you free access to their public computers to check in for flights and print boarding passes which was another nice touch (I guess that's one of the percs your $10 daily amenity fee gives you besides the safe, newspaper,..). Bottom line, we would definitely stay there again!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hokiemom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Aloha, thank you for staying with us and for the thoughtful review. I am glad that we were able to accommodate you room request, we do so whenever possible. It seems like you enjoyed your room upgrade and had a pleasant time at our hotel. I’m glad our housekeepers returned your phone charger so quickly- their lost and found procedure is very well organized! On behalf of the hotel, we hope you had a lovely Hawaiian vacation and we hope to serve you again.

Mahalo,
Rebecca D.
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed there first week of October. The hotel location was great, just next to beach and lots of free parking space near by. Room was small but we fit there with our two children. We spend a little extra money for the ocean view, but didn´t spend lot time in the balcony, so that was perhaps money wasted. There was a little noise from the restaurant to our room in floor 15, but it didn´t bother us. Can´t recommend the including breakfast, but the hotels restaurant Tiki´s was excellent. Hotel staff was kind and helpful. Our son get ill during our vacation and they helped us to find a doctor. Very nice place overall.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Siiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca D, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Mahalo for the review. We were sorry to learn that your son became ill but were happy to see that we were able to provide medical attention. We have access to an on call doctor 24/7 for our guests. Our onsite restaurant is a popular venue for our guests and locals. They offer an Asian Fusion cuisine and live music each night. We are glad to see you enjoyed our hotel and look forward to seeing you again!

Rebecca D.
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews