We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
stanchfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good hotel with great location”
Reviewed March 26, 2011

good hotel! great free breakfast very busyt but they are right there to restock muffins, bakery rolls, fresh fruit,cereal,bagels fruit juices ,had a nice ocean view room, bed was fine ,Wolfgang puck restaurant always had great food right in lobby hotel located at the end of strip,but that was fine lots of stuff in walking distance free internet would of been great!

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank candyStanchfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Aloha and thank you for staying with us. We have worked hard to improve our breakfast and know that during peak times it is busy. It seems that everyone wants to have breakfast early and move on to their activities during the day.

We look forward to your return!

Mark Demello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    1,570
    811
    275
    174
See reviews for
1,091
1,561
121
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (964)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Pretty Great Location. Rooms Were Ok Couldn't Complain Partial Ocean View On The 21st Floor. Ask For A High Floor At Chek In Because Pool area and Traffic Can Get A Bit Noisey. Rigth Across From Waikiki Beach. Wolf Gang {Puch In Lobby Which Is Great For Breakfast. Not A Luxury Hotel But Not Bad For Price. Bathrooms Could e A Bit Bigger However. Had Two Full Size Beds Would Have Preferred A King But Still not Bad. Breakfast In The Hotel Is A MadHouse So Don't Really Depend On that. Walls Very Thin We Could Hear Everything That was Going On In Next Room

Overall Pretty Good!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalexander22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Stayed in an oceanfront room from Feb 24-27, 2011. Excellent view of Waikiki Beach and Diamondhead. Morning breakfast buffet was an added value. Fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, yogurt and cereal. Just fill the thermal bag they give you and you're free to eat wherever and whenever you want. That worked well for us. Rooms were very clean. No problems with the elevators as was posted in some reviews. Nice variety of eating places close by. Tikis bar which is on the second floor of this hotel has excellent food. Wolfgang Pucks was great too. Had a great time and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank witravel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

I enjoyed every minute at this hotel. Check-in and check-out was easy. Breakfast was perfect before I headed out on my days activities. First time to Hawaii and I loved it. I want to go back. Beach was across the street which was great. Went to Pearl Harbor site the help of the travel desk in the main lobby. Saw a very interesting parade on Sunday march 13th. The Tiki restaurant was nice with great ambience to it. It was nice having a restaurant like Wolfgang's downstairs as well as having subway and ABC store nearby. Never know I may retuen someday.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJB7775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

The Aston was a nice hotel , the rooms were an average size. the worst thing about this hotel was defently the elevators, they were so slow, and since this hotel offers a free breakfast everyone rushes down at once and it takes about 10 mins to get an elevator down to eat. parking is very expensive, and you have to pay to use the interent which is very slow. the starbucks downstairs has free internet which is much faster. oh and the resturant in the hotel is very expensive and not very good would not recomend the resturant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Aloha and thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your comments. I note that your stay was in August, 2010, a few months before we completed the elevator modernization project. We completed the project at the end of the year, and have received a lot of praise since. All elevators are now fully functional (they were not in August).

The hotel parking rates are actually competitive with other locations on Kalakaua Avenue; there are several properties where valet parking is more than $30 per day (ours is $27). The price of high-speed internet is also competitive with other properties in Honolulu as well; $9.95 for a 24 hour time period.

We look forward to your return!

Mark Demello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We stayed with our two boys ages 9 and 5. This hotel is awesome. The location, breakfast and service is great. We had no trouble at all with the morning breakfast, plenty of food. The elevators are no issue at all, very easy to use. My young kids managed to figure out the elevators no problem. The real incredible bonus to this hotel is the complimentary beach chairs and towels you can check out daily. The marriott across the street charges a daily fee for this ammenity. When you check in the kids get a free backpack with sand bucket. It is perfect. Kids also eat free at Tikis restaurant, another bonus. The rooms are a bit tight, but you go to Hawaii to be outside at the beach, not in the room. For the price, this hotel and location are great.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riley008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for a week at the end of February. Our first room was on the 25th floor and the vent in bathroom was way too noise for us. The hotel had someone come up to take a look but was unable to do anything about it other than recommend we sleep with the bathroom door closed. Even with that it was still too noisy for us so the next morning the hotel was kind enough to move us to another room on the 17th floor. Much quieter vent.

Didn't care for the fact that the room safe was an extra fee or that internet access was additional as well. Hotels are getting to be as bad as the airlines.

Breakfast buffet was pastries, fruit, yogurt and some kind of soup. You could buy eggs or waffles for a few dollars. Not what I would have expected and it was dissappointing to have to pay for standard breakfast fare. The hotel did provide a small, lunch type insulated bag so you could take breakfast to go which was nice. The buffet is served out on the pool deck so there aren't any tables to sit at, only pool lounge chairs so be prepared for that or take your breakfast back to your room or to the beach. We went around the corner for a real breakfast after the first couple days.

There is a desk setup on the pool deck after the breakfast buffet for beach/pool towels as well as the folding bag chairs which you can sign out and take to the beach. We got chairs the first morning and kept them in our room all week.

Beach was just across the street. Pool was a little too chilly for my taste since it didn't get sun most of the morning during our stay.

Rooms were nice and they all had small balconies with a single chair and foot stool.

The hotel is at the far end of the hotel strip, close to the zoo, who knew Waikiki had a zoo...

Would probably stay there again though I'd have to grumble about the room safe fee again.

Tiki bar was fun for happy hour but you can get cheaper drinks elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank qa2152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a hotel review. We also appreciate that you stayed with us. We have options as far as charging guests for amenities - "complimentary" safes, phone calls, and internet can simply be reflected in "resort fees" or even in higher room rates. Rather than follow those options (which may be more profitable) we decided to charge our guests for what they use - when they use it.

We look forward to your return!

Mark Demello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,436 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Property: Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3698
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 645 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing