We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,201)
Filter reviews
4,201 results
Traveler rating
1,107
1,712
889
299
194
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,107
1,712
889
299
194
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooler bagacross the streettiki restaurantyogurtwolfgang puck expresswaikiki beachhula dancerocean frontdiamond headpartial ocean viewfloor numberevery morninghomeless peoplehonolulu zooroom keycontinental breakfastoceanfront room
Filter
Updating list...
2,827 - 2,832 of 4,201 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2011

I enjoyed every minute at this hotel. Check-in and check-out was easy. Breakfast was perfect before I headed out on my days activities. First time to Hawaii and I loved it. I want to go back. Beach was across the street which was great. Went to Pearl Harbor site the help of the travel desk in the main lobby. Saw a very interesting parade on Sunday march 13th. The Tiki restaurant was nice with great ambience to it. It was nice having a restaurant like Wolfgang's downstairs as well as having subway and ABC store nearby. Never know I may retuen someday.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJB7775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

The Aston was a nice hotel , the rooms were an average size. the worst thing about this hotel was defently the elevators, they were so slow, and since this hotel offers a free breakfast everyone rushes down at once and it takes about 10 mins to get an elevator down to eat. parking is very expensive, and you have to pay to use the interent which is very slow. the starbucks downstairs has free internet which is much faster. oh and the resturant in the hotel is very expensive and not very good would not recomend the resturant.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AAM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2011

Aloha and thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your comments. I note that your stay was in August, 2010, a few months before we completed the elevator modernization project. We completed the project at the end of the year, and have received a lot of praise since. All elevators are now fully functional (they were not in August).

The hotel parking rates are actually competitive with other locations on Kalakaua Avenue; there are several properties where valet parking is more than $30 per day (ours is $27). The price of high-speed internet is also competitive with other properties in Honolulu as well; $9.95 for a 24 hour time period.

We look forward to your return!

Mark Demello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We stayed with our two boys ages 9 and 5. This hotel is awesome. The location, breakfast and service is great. We had no trouble at all with the morning breakfast, plenty of food. The elevators are no issue at all, very easy to use. My young kids managed to figure out the elevators no problem. The real incredible bonus to this hotel is the complimentary beach chairs and towels you can check out daily. The marriott across the street charges a daily fee for this ammenity. When you check in the kids get a free backpack with sand bucket. It is perfect. Kids also eat free at Tikis restaurant, another bonus. The rooms are a bit tight, but you go to Hawaii to be outside at the beach, not in the room. For the price, this hotel and location are great.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Riley008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for a week at the end of February. Our first room was on the 25th floor and the vent in bathroom was way too noise for us. The hotel had someone come up to take a look but was unable to do anything about it other than recommend we sleep with the bathroom door closed. Even with that it was still too noisy for us so the next morning the hotel was kind enough to move us to another room on the 17th floor. Much quieter vent.

Didn't care for the fact that the room safe was an extra fee or that internet access was additional as well. Hotels are getting to be as bad as the airlines.

Breakfast buffet was pastries, fruit, yogurt and some kind of soup. You could buy eggs or waffles for a few dollars. Not what I would have expected and it was dissappointing to have to pay for standard breakfast fare. The hotel did provide a small, lunch type insulated bag so you could take breakfast to go which was nice. The buffet is served out on the pool deck so there aren't any tables to sit at, only pool lounge chairs so be prepared for that or take your breakfast back to your room or to the beach. We went around the corner for a real breakfast after the first couple days.

There is a desk setup on the pool deck after the breakfast buffet for beach/pool towels as well as the folding bag chairs which you can sign out and take to the beach. We got chairs the first morning and kept them in our room all week.

Beach was just across the street. Pool was a little too chilly for my taste since it didn't get sun most of the morning during our stay.

Rooms were nice and they all had small balconies with a single chair and foot stool.

The hotel is at the far end of the hotel strip, close to the zoo, who knew Waikiki had a zoo...

Would probably stay there again though I'd have to grumble about the room safe fee again.

Tiki bar was fun for happy hour but you can get cheaper drinks elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank qa2152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a hotel review. We also appreciate that you stayed with us. We have options as far as charging guests for amenities - "complimentary" safes, phone calls, and internet can simply be reflected in "resort fees" or even in higher room rates. Rather than follow those options (which may be more profitable) we decided to charge our guests for what they use - when they use it.

We look forward to your return!

Mark Demello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

This is our first trip to Hawaii and we loved it. We would stay at this hotel again. We had no problems at all with our stay for the price. The breakfast was great, we ate in our room every morning and enjoyed the wonderful view. The beds were very comfy and it was a tad noisy at night...but it didn't bother us at all. The elevator system worked great for us....we have no complaints at all about it, I wish other hotels would use the same system.

Very convenient location, so close to the beach. We will back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pocahontas_aa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews