We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have just returned from our stay at the Aqua Pacific Monarch and would recommend it to all. The staff are fun and courteous, always greeting you with a smile. We had our accommodation cancelled with airbnb 12 days prior to departure. Having been to Hawaii many times, the hotels I have stayed in before were booked out as it is busy at this time of year. We had to find something in a hurry and glad we found this place. It had a kitchenette and some of our group were upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment. The kitchen was well equipped and they have a great room upstairs where you can catch up with friends etc. The hotel is close to everything and buses at the door but you can walk to most places. The ladies at the tour desk are a delight and so helpful. For the price you pay I feel it is good value for money. We stayed in room 1101 much cooler than 1105,6 where our friends stayed.

Room Tip: Choose the diamond head side as the afternoon sun makes the room very hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrboatcheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    217
    68
    13
    11
See reviews for
185
129
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and wish we could have extended our time at this fabulous property. What a great experience at a very reasonable price! The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful, gorgeous Waikiki Beach is literally a 3 minute walk from the lobby, and we really enjoyed the breezy views from the rooftop pool. We stayed in one of the serviced apartments, which comfortably accommodated our family of five (myself, my husband, two young kids & my visiting mother). The Aqua Pacific Monarch is so centrally located -- near key shops and restaurants. We can't wait to return. Mahalo!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I stayed here many, many years ago & was very happy with it, so we decided to try again when my family was coming into town. The location is wonderful...near Waikiki Beach, all sorts of shops, & tons of restaurants. The prices are very reasonable considering you're in a high, pricey tourist area. Daily parking is expensive; but if you're not venturing out of the area, you probably won't need a car. You can get a bus to many local attractions. There are choices of rooms with bedrooms, or studios...some with better views than others, but all have some cooking facilities.
Enjoyed the roof pool area too!

Room Tip: My preference would be the one bedroom corner units facing the beach on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fc646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights before our cruise. The room was small for 4 people but who cares. We were only in the room to sleep. Place was clean and staff were very nice and helpful. Beautiful view of Waikiki Beach from the pool area. The only thing I'd change would be a more comfortable pull out couch. If I go back to Honolulu, will defiantly stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kholysz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This property is half private condos and half hotel. We rented from the private condo side (VRBO) because we could get a better rate. For the private condos, each unit is unique for updates/decor, and of course, there would not be daily maid service like you would get on the hotel side. The building itself is just 2 short blocks to Waikiki Beach! Easy walking to all shops and endless restaurants. We recommend rooms on the upper levels (above 15) because they offer the best views (beach views, mountain views, city views). Some lanai's are narrow, chairs need to be sideways to fit. But the views and breezes are lovely. Beautiful rooftop pool area with panoramic views of Waikiki and Honolulu (and Friday night fireworks from the Hilton down the beach). Atmosphere is more of an older hotel vs a resort. Open-air lobby with nice, small, relaxed seating area with lovely waterfall. Nothing fancy. 3 slow elevators, one was out of service. If you have a car, parking is $25 for 24hrs in the attached parking garage. Honolulu traffic is horrible (2nd only to LA) so best to take a GPS device with you to help navigate all the one-way streets. Nice stay and excellent location for the price.

Room Tip: Higher floors have best views. Consider renting from VRBO for better rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miami1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Wonderful hotel - staff amazing - Danny, Cherlita, everyone was so kind & helpful! We stayed on the 25th floor. Was pleasantly surprised by the '3 blocks' to Waikiki Beach - they were only very short little blocks! You don't have to bring your own beach towel; the hotel supplies towels & beach chairs too but you have to get up early to get a chair. A real nice touch is the large water dispenser with fresh lemon slices in it - FREE! The view from the roof-top pool is incredible! Something we found helpful too was the travel agent desk in the front lobby. We booked our Polynesian Cultural Center trip through Rochelle (there were at least 2 other agents working there while we were visiting). Rochelle also steered us to the best place to rent a car (I chose Alamo Car Rentals; they were great to deal with also) & gave us lots of info re buses, etc. The hotel also provided change for the bus & for the laundry facilities which are on the 3rd floor. We booked a room with a kitchenette. There wasn't an oven but it did have a little 2 burner stove-top, a microwave & a small fridge/freezer. There was an air conditioner & a big ceiling fan. I loved the huge sliding glass doors that opened up completely to the balcony. The building itself is old & is showing its age a bit; elevator is quite slow but there are 3 of them. Kuhio Avenue is one of the main streets so it was easy to get around. It was my first visit to Hawaii. I'd go again in a heartbeat & highly recommend staying at the Aqua Pacific Monarch hotel. Aloha!

Room Tip: Book early if you want an ocean/beach view. We asked for an 'ocean view' & could 's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelsManager, General Manager at Aqua Pacific Monarch, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Aloha Julie C,

Mahalo for your kind words about your recent visit with us and our team members. It is always nice to be recognized for a job well done and Danny, Cherlita, and Rochelle are touched that you even remembered their names. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary lemon water available in the lobby all day and that you enjoyed the view from the pool deck. You are correct, the beach is a very short distance away and an average person could walk there in less than 5 minutes. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Kahealani Colón
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Took my so long to review this place because we always thought it was called the ASTON Pafici Monarch. We actually stayed here in May 2011.
Well thinking about our stay to this day gives me a home sick goosebump fit.

So hoping nothing has changed, our room on the 27th floor was spectacularly wholesome and cozy, excellent view, full cable, nothing cost us any extra but the internet up stairs.

Im beginning to think its under new managemtn though, which is sad.

Room Tip: We havent stayed here for 3 years so I dont know if things have changed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mushroomfat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelsManager, General Manager at Aqua Pacific Monarch, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Aloha Mushroomfat,

Thank you for sending in your feedback of your visit to the Pacific Monarch in 2011. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit when Aston Hotels & Resorts (to whom we share a parent company with), was managing the property. You'll be pleased to know that despite the management change, many of the employees remain the same as your last visit. We appreciate your patronage and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Kahealani Colón
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Pacific Monarch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Pacific Monarch

Property: Aqua Pacific Monarch
Address: 2427 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301 (Formerly Aston Pacific Monarch)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Pacific Monarch 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Waikiki, the renovated Aqua Pacific Monarch is located just 2 short blocks to world-famous Waikiki Beach and steps to the area's best shopping, dining, and nightlife. The hotel features spacious studios and one-bedroom suites, a restaurant, rooftop pool, jet spa, sauna, sundeck, coin-operated laundry facilities and Parking is available for a fee. Aqua Pacific Monarch embodies true convenience for beach life. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Pacific Monarch allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, each room comes with a mini-refrigerator, microwave, kitchenette with granite countertop and stovetops, and 32-inch LCDTVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Vacatia, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Aqua Pacific Monarch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Pacific Monarch Hotel Honolulu
Aston Hotel Honolulu
Aston Hotel Pacific Monarch
Resortquest Pacific Monarch Honolulu
Pacific Monarch Hawaii
Resort Quest Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing