We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Ranked #43 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This was our 4th time back to Honolulu, and 3rd time staying at the Pacific Monarch. 1 Bedroom, partial ocean view is the way to go! I had made my reservations (2rooms) in May of 2013 for our stay in December 11th-21st of 2013. So, I had NO idea that the property was changed to Aqua instead of Aston. I was disappointed when I found out of this change (3days before arrival). But, when I arrived, I was pleasantly surprised that the property had not changed physically, and that ALL the staff was very friendly and helpful. I look forward to spending my next visit at this same location. Property is only 1block from Waikiki beach, close to International Market, shopping etc. We rented a vehicle for the entire stay, and parking was quite expensive..but never had a problem finding a parking spot.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view seems to be best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grootjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelsManager, General Manager at Aqua Pacific Monarch, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Aloha Grootjg,

Thank you for the great feedback about your recent visit with us at the Aqua Pacific Monarch. We are thrilled that you continue to return to the Pacific Monarch and that you enjoyed the new management. We assumed management of the property on October 16, 2013 and we have truly enjoyed this new endeavor. We look forward to continuing to improve the services and appreciate your kind words.

Mahalo,

Kahealani Colón
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    239
    72
    16
    11
See reviews for
200
138
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is probably our 6th or 7th visit to this property. Everything was as expected with some minor updates. It's important to point out that this property is not a resort, it's a condo building. So, as always, I'll rate this property based on the attributes it has set for itself. In other words, if you're looking for 5 star treatment you're not going to find it (nor should you expect it) in a 3 star condo. With the Pacific Monarch I believe you get what you pay for and then some.

Location: A- No, it's not right on the beach but it's a short 2 block walk taking you to the best location on Waikiki/Kuhio beach. For the price you can't beat this location. To make my point you'll walk past the Hyatt where you'll pay twice the price for half the room.

Lobby/Check In B- Great service, but lobby does need help. Still the staff are friendly, attentive and quick. One nice add (since Aqua took over management from Aston) is that they provide beach towels. Nice touch. We always bring our own but this really is a nice perk.

Room C+ Funny thing, had they not renovated I'd had probably given this a B but I expected more after renovation. It was nice to see the newer furnishings (although was surprised how much use they've seen in such a short period) and nice newer flooring. That said, the paint was shoddy, the bathroom was pretty much untouched (needs new bathtub and fixtures), and the kitchen… what happened to the lighting? Was a bit disappointed. Still, for a couple hundred a night you get a 1 bedroom suite with a kitchen saving you tons of money eating out…and more space than the previously mentioned Hyatt.

Technology D: Before the renovation you could "wheel" the TV into the bedroom, so if you wanted to watch a movie at night that was nice. The new flat screen is mounted to the wall so really only usable for the living room. Stations were limited. More frustrating was that the internet didn't work well. In fact, it wasn't usable.

Gym: N/A Run on the beach or along the canal in the morning. Love it!

Pool Deck: People rave about this but we never use it. Always at the beach.

Overall Solid B: We'll be back when we visit Waikiki. While there are minor issues with the property, given price and location, it's difficult to beat it. After all, we're in Hawaii for the beach, not the room. Kitchen is a big plus for us!

Room Tip: My suggestion is pass on the Oceanview 1 bedrooms unless you can confirm an upper floor (>floor 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank borad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelsManager, General Manager at Aqua Pacific Monarch, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Aloha Borad,

Mahalo for your continued support of the Pacific Monarch over the years. We genuinely appreciate the you have returned to the property a number of times over the years and we look forward to continuing to welcome you back. We have made note of your observations and will use your feedback in consideration of future projects. We hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,

Kahealani Colón
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were very happy with our stay in room 1304 over Christmas holidays. From this room it's not exactly what I'd call "ocean view"...though in a big city full of condo towers it qualifies as such. But we found the view of the city to be lovely and we could see the ocean in between the buildings.

The kitchen was adequately stocked for the little cooking we did, and we were promptly given dish liquid when we asked. Only problem was that we had to open the mini-frig in order to open the silverware drawer. There's not enough clearance, but perhaps this could be corrected if the drawer was planed down a bit.

All in all, a good place to stay!

There's a pool and whirlpool on the roof, but we kept ourselves too busy to use them.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has a full lanai...though you may not care! Ours did not...but we had sliding doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Iowa_is_my_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelsManager, General Manager at Aqua Pacific Monarch, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Aloha Iowa_is_my_home,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent visit with us at the Aqua Pacific Monarch Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found the kitchen to be adequate for your needs. I would like to address the drawer issue so if you would be so kind as to advise which room you were staying in? We apologize for the inconvenience. We hope you had a safe trip home and a wonderful holiday season.

Warm Regards,

Kahealani Colón
General Manager
kcolon@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and during the night my rental car was towed away. Despite paying the $25 per day parking fee,the tow company said they couldn't see the parking ticket which I had purchased. It cost me $35 in cab fare to go and retrieve my car, plus $197 in towing and storage fees. This has never happened any where else in the world I have travelled. The management of the hotel could have cared less. If you plan on hiring a car while you are Waikiki I would avoid this hotel like the plague.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve5675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaWaikikiJoy, General Manager at Aqua Pacific Monarch, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Aloha Steve5675,

Thank you for your recent feedback. I sincerely apologize that your vehicle was towed from the public parking garage in the building. As you were probably made aware, Aqua Hotels & Resorts has unfortunately not been awarded management of the parking garage. The owner has decided to continue with his current management company.

While it presents a unique challenge for us because of the lack of control, we make every effort to ensure that our guests are clearly informed about the requirements of the garage. We explain the requirements verbally in addition to the very detailed instructions that we provided upon check in as well. You purchase a ticket for the amount of time that you will be parking, you ensure that your ticket is visible from the outside of the vehicle, and lastly you park in any stall that does not have a reserved sign. The requirements are also clearly posted in the garage in multiple locations. These are the requirements set forth by the management company of the garage. They are fairly simple and when followed, towing does not occur.

I am disappointed that you felt that we were uncaring as this is certainly not the case. We do our best to ensure that we inform all guests of the information necessary to avoid this frustrating situation. Unfortunately, we cannot accept responsibility for an area that we do not manage and have no recourse. Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate the opportunity to address your concern.

Warm Regards,

Kahealani Colón
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Only paid $129. on Hotwire for one bedroom with very nice "partial" ocean view. Okay housekeeping. Good enough bed. Great location. Downside was stained carpet, thrift store wobbly table and chairs, and old faded sofa. Beware as you don't know what you'll be getting. We saw much nicer rooms when we peeked into open doors.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room and one with at least a partial view. The rooms facing the beach are quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 789Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelsManager, General Manager at Aqua Pacific Monarch, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Aloha 789Deb,

Mahalo for sharing your feedback of your recent visit with us! We are always happy to hear our guests perspective and it sounds like the room that you stayed in could use a little TLC. If you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate if you could email me and advise which room you stayed in so that I may look into your concerns. We hope that you had a nice time in beautiful Waikiki and I look forward to hearing from you soon! I can be reached via email at kcolon@aquaresorts.com .

Warm Regards,

Kahealani Colón
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I liked this hotel. The location is great and I like having a small kitchen. The roof top pool and hot tub is protected from the wind and very nice. The hotel seems like a condo used by owners. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scmiketravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelsManager, General Manager at Aqua Pacific Monarch, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Aloha SCMichaelTravels,

Thank you for your recent visit with us at the Aqua Pacific Monarch Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you found our location to be convenient and that you enjoyed our pool. We are indeed very fortunate to have access to one of the most amazing views on earth, the Pacific Ocean! We do share this amazing view with a handful of condo owners that came, loved it, and decided to stay. We can hardly blame them.

We appreciate your patronage and hope to welcome you back again on a future visit. We hope you have a happy holiday season.

Warm Regards,

Kahealani Colón
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We are here now and enjoying it very much.
The hotel web site does not give complete helpful information. The following may help you, as, because it is a condo hotel, one is never sure of what is provided. Because airlines are all about luggage weight, why pack things if you don't have to?
-pool towels are available at the front desk, so no need to bring your own.
-all rooms have blow dryers
-shampoo/conditioner/lotion/soap/bath gel are provided
-paper towels, tea towel, basic cutlery, plates, rice cooker, cups, glasses are provided.
-although they provided packets of ground coffee sealed in round coffee filter packs, it is not good coffee, and you get a few tiny packs of powdered whitener, a single pack of sugar etc that is inadequate, so, be prepared to get take out coffee, or buy grounds at numerous close stores. We use a paper towel as a coffee filter.
-Bring you own salt and pepper or buy at the local grocery store.

The Good
-Charlie at the front desk checked us in and is very helpful. All others that we've encountered are nice as well.
-Location.....3 ABC convenience stores within less than a 1 minute walk. Full sized grocery store called the Food Pantry is a 2 minute walk away. Front door to beach is a 1 minute walk. The views are spectacular as long as you are high up. We are on the 31st floor. Am not sure how high you have to be to get a good view. Pool is on 33rd floor. Great view.
-Large lanai with table and 4 chairs
-Excellent water pressure in shower and plenty of hot water
-Good Housekeeping in suite, corridors and lobby.
-Self serve laundry on 3rd floor in parking garage is handy. Quarters only. $2 wash and $2 dry.

Could Be Improved
-Generally, the room and furnishings are in good shape, but the bathroom tub/shower fixtures need replacing. They are old and shabby. The rubber baseboards in the bathroom are peeling away fron the base of the tub. Multiple layers of silicone etc, just doesn't give a feeling of cleanliness. Tub doesn't drain very well.
- Roof top pool is small with not many lounge chairs. No atmosphere up there. Perhaps a bit of piped in music would help. We whisper to each other so others can't hear our conversations. Too quiet and dead feeling. Pool apron needs repainting. Lots of flaking paint.
-Slow elevators
-Poor lighting. Lamp shades are yellowed out. Dull lighting in kitchen area.

On the whole, we are very pleased. Usually stay at the Sheraton Waikiki, but wanted the ability to have breakfast items etc. at hand, via fridge etc. Would not hesitate to stay here again. Just hope they invest some money on improving some of the older fixtures etc.

Room Tip: Get a 1 bedroom instead of a studio so you get a large lanai rather than just a narrow 'Romeo an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kareyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelsManager, General Manager at Aqua Pacific Monarch, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Aloha Kareyd,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed review of your recent visit with us. I know that the readers on Tripadvisor really appreciate when a reviewer gives some inside tips so that they can better prepare for their vacation. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed with your time with us and appreciated all of your suggestions for improvement. We agree with your view and are currently working on a number of improvement projects. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Kahealani Colón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
1,801 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Pacific Monarch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Pacific Monarch

Property: Aqua Pacific Monarch
Address: 2427 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301 (Formerly Aston Pacific Monarch)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Pacific Monarch 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Waikiki, the renovated Aqua Pacific Monarch is located just 2 short blocks to world-famous Waikiki Beach and steps to the area's best shopping, dining, and nightlife. The hotel features spacious studios and one-bedroom suites, a restaurant, rooftop pool, jet spa, sauna, sundeck, coin-operated laundry facilities and Parking is available for a fee. Aqua Pacific Monarch embodies true convenience for beach life. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Pacific Monarch allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, each room comes with a mini-refrigerator, microwave, kitchenette with granite countertop and stovetops, and 32-inch LCDTVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Pacific Monarch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Pacific Monarch Hotel Honolulu
Aston Hotel Honolulu
Aston Hotel Pacific Monarch
Resortquest Pacific Monarch Honolulu
Pacific Monarch Hawaii
Resort Quest Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing