We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a no-frills hotel”
Review of Aqua Waikiki Pearl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
Ranked #73 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value for a no-frills hotel”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My extended family and I spent 9 nights here in April. The biggest factor in choosing this hotel was the price; it is significantly cheaper for a large group than many other hotels in the area. We knew it was a huge risk going for the cheap option, but we were very happy with the value we got for our money. It was 7 of us in a 3-bedroom suite; our room was very clean and comfortable, everything in the room worked as it was supposed to, and the staff was always friendly and helpful. The hotel isn't first-class luxury, but that's not what we were looking for in staying here.
The only issues we had were trivial. The wi-fi was sometimes spotty during the day (presumably when more people were using it), but who goes to Hawaii to sit in their hotel room browsing the internet? At night it was much faster. Also, sitting on the balcony there was a lot of noise from the street, but none of our bedrooms faced the road so it wasn't noticeable while sleeping (at least, not from the 8th floor).
What I would not recommend though, is staying here with a car. The parking lot is very small and was full most nights, which probably means there are many people who had to look for spaces elsewhere. However, in my opinion, if you're a tourist staying in the Waikiki area you don't need to rent a car except maybe for a day-trip of the island; bus stops for public transit and tour buses are all within a block, and they will take you anywhere you want to go. Just about everything we needed during our stay, including the beach (who needs a pool?), was less than a 5-minute walk away, and we were easily able to make ourselves at home.
In summary, we had an entirely positive experience here, and would definitely recommend it to groups who don't need a lot of bells and whistles in a hotel room, and especially for people who don't want to break the bank on accommodations. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vijay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    465
    219
    83
    71
See reviews for
347
373
132
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

stayed first week of may , not crowded , stayed in two bedroom plenty of room , parking can be a pain if you get back late have to park across street in public lot, nice rooms front desk helpful, would stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wegedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

A pearl indeed! Booked a junior suite for my family of four and a 7-day vacation. Check-in was efficient; the specifics--ice and vending at the 7th floor, laundry station on the 4th, cards that you exchange for free beach towels and vice versa, hotel entrance close by 10 p.m. (room key gains access), complimentary coffee, water and apples in the lobby, and free wi-fi (no password needed). Room was spacious and clean, well-kept actually considering the number of visitors here. Cable TV even had a Filipino channel so we were up-to-date with current events. A/C easily controlled by remote. Ref and microwave come in handy. Balcony even has a blower to dry your swimwear really fast! My family slept so soundly we needed a daily alarm to get us going. And now, the location. Starbucks, Subway and Chili's just a few steps away. Food Pantry for groceries, a pharmacy, an ABC store just around the corner. Histeaks inside Food Pantry offers quick hot meals, our constant source of rice and newly cooked eggs. No wonder the hotel does not have a restaurant, none needed. Ross and the Hawaiian Royal mall (Macy's, H&M, Cheesecake Factory) as well as the "night market" just a couple of blocks away. Bus, shuttle and trolley stops within a minute, Waikiki beach within ten and the zoo and aquarium within twenty. Your hotel card gives free entrance to kids and discount to adults in the aquarium. Posted in the hotel elevators are daily weather forecasts and free activities and shows very helpful to tourists. At the lobby is a tour desk that can arrange practically anything from helicopter and submarine tours to shows. We watched The Magic of Polynesia with acclaimed illusionist John Hirokawa and enjoyed it immensely. We also tried the Waikele premium outlet (round trip pick-up by shuttle is 15 dollars) and found the store selection quite limited; there is a K Mart and a Lowe's as a consolation. Finally, must make mention of the hotel staff who were always helpful, polite and hospitable. Dee and Mark were the best. When traveling you really never know what to expect but when you discover a pearl it will always remain in your memory. Forever.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drjohnled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed here one night. We upgraded to a king suite, The room was very large and clean with a lanai overlooking the street. The bed was hard which is what we prefer. Nothing fancy about the place just a basic clean room. The desk clerks were all very welcoming.
Our friends had a regular King room and when we went opened the door the room was very dark and smelled. They immediately went back to the check in and asked for another room. They had no other King upgrade other than a 2 bedroom suite. They choose this room as it was well lit and didn't smell. They however had to pay an extra $50? for the room upgrade. We only spent one night which was ok but I would not stay here for more than a day or two. They have beach chairs and towels at the front desk free of charge. That was a nice touch to have beach chairs. All in all it's ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I've been a regular guest at this hotel for more than five years, the rates have increased, perhaps to cover the renovation costs. I do like the renovated rooms. They appear to be cleaner, especially the bathrooms. The counter and sink are very new, clean and simple surfaces, a nice touch. My overall impression is extremely positive, I do alert you, see below, on the noisy pub next door.

Room Tip: Do mention the very lively "rugby pub" next door. Lots of boisterous, beer drinking lone w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barebonestraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Our first time to this island and we were very pleased with our accommodations. Clean, comfortable, great staff, fresh apples, coffee and ice water in the lobby along with the daily newspaper. The location was great for walking and taking local transportation. A very short walk to the beach. The bathroom had a roomy tub and shower with quality towels, beach towels were available at the front desk. All at a great price. We will definitely be return visitors.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thebest30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

4th time I stayed at this hotel and still haven't disappointed me. Ohana staff speedy response when it comes down to needing towels or house keeping. Great location from the beach just a 5 min walk your minutes away from all the site seeing. Will recommend to others

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,638 reviews
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,886 reviews
White Sands Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
661 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Waikiki Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Waikiki Pearl

Property: Aqua Waikiki Pearl
Address: 415 Nahua St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2949
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Waikiki Pearl 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Waikiki Pearl is a mid-rise hotel tucked into the heart of Waikiki. This location showcases the vibrant city, near shops and restaurants. Located just 2 blocks to Waikiki Beach, this comfortable hotel offers spacious accommodations, large balconies in most rooms, a refrigerator, a microwave, and a coffeemaker with full kitchens in suites. You'll also enjoy the on-site sports bar, Legends, with multi-screen TV's, as well as various retail shops and services. With the daily hospitality fee Aqua Waikiki Pearl allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aqua Waikiki Pearl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Pearl Honolulu
Aqua Waikiki Pearl Hotel Honolulu
Aston Honolulu Prince Hotel
Honolulu Prince Hotel
Aqua Waikiki Pearl Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing