We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a cheap stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #75 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had a 2 night stopover here between Big Island and going back to the mainland. The hotel gave us what we were looking for, which was an inexpensive and quiet location to base ourselves. The room we had was slightly above identikit chain hotel standards, with a fridge and a spacious bathroom, but otherwise there was not much to make it stand out as excellent in any regard. The staff were friendly and helpful, giving good advice. There are innumerable hotel options on Waikiki beach with better views and more facilities, but you will of course pay a premium for them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart_and_Becky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Our 3 bedroom plus kitchen apartment was on the 10th floor. It was light and airy and very comfortable. Serviced every day for the week we stayed. Older style building that has been renovated . Excellent accommodation for price we paid. Harry attended to any enquiries we had without delay and with his unique sense if humor . Esse , Rachel and all the staff were so friendly and obliging . We will definitely stay again and have no problem with recommending Aqua Pearl as a top place to stay in Waikiki. Central to everything from International market place to the beach , great places to eat and even bus stops. You can't go wrong when you chose to stay at Aqua pearl. Deb & Ron B

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Senrabdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

for a hundred bucks a night, this average hotel in an older building is very well maintained and rooms and facilities are clean. no pool, small parking lot, and some street noise... but the beach is not too far; and it's a nice walk; i can deal with the noise...for me it adds excitement to the trip... it's generally a safe area... busy with lots of tourist traps... part of the fun when going to places like this. the staff is top-notch! very friendly and helpful... i can tell that the staff go the the extra mile to make their guests have an enjoyable stay. basically, it's 5-star service from a 3-star hotel!

Room Tip: state law prohibits smoking in the premises (including the balcony). the designated smoking area is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iamwanderboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night on the last night of our trip. We stayed on the 6th floor. The room was very nice and spacious. It was quite modern and the balcony was the highlight. The only problem was the noise. Not sure if it was because it was a Friday night or not, but we found the noise from the road below horrible. We could hear trucks and motorcycles coming and going and also people talking and laughing, plus bongo drums (no idea from where). I would definitely stay here again but only in a room away from the road. The room was clean but there was rubbish behind the bed side table left from a previous guest so perhaps the cleaners attention to detail isn't too good. The hotel charge to leave luggage in storage. $5 per bag per night with a minimum charge of $20 which I think is crazy.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Addicted_to_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Make sure you ask for a room with a balcony, although watch out for the pigeon poop. We stayed once on the way to the US and once on the way home. Rooms were clean and comfortable but maybe a little dated. Position - excellent. Price - taking into account that they charged us for each night separately (4 nights & we prepaid) and therefore we had a ridiculous amount of credit card exchange fees not counting the ridiculous transient accommodation taxes that should be built in, the price was okay. The boys on the desk were always friendly and helpful. Internet was good. There is no pool and for anyone who likes a cup of tea take your own travel kettle. Watermelon water at reception was great and for those who like coffee that's also served at reception in the mornings.

Room Tip: Request a balcony room which is a Junior Suite. We were upgraded from a standard, non balcony room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henri123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

First and foremost the most enjoyable part of our stay was by far the outstanding staff we interacted with while we were there. Dexter, Ese and Harry handled all of our needs and questions with a courteous smile and great service.

As is the case with most Waikiki hotels, this is an older building but it seems management has done a decent job at keeping things updated and clean. We were in a 3 bedroom suite on the top floor and had no issues with noise from below or neighbors. Both elevators were running and we never had to wait more than a minute for one to arrive.

Our room was well kept and clean overall. The room featured a full size fridge, stove top, microwave and TV in the living room as well as two of the three bedrooms. There were two bathrooms; one in the "master" bedroom and the other in between the two smaller bedrooms (a Jack and Jill type setup). Overall the room was more than adequate for our needs however we had four minor issues with our room/stay:

1. The sliding glass door going out to the balcony did not have any type of childproof mechanism
2. The room only had place settings for four people instead of the max occupancy of the room
3. The wifi access in our room spotty at best
4. There are a very limited number of parking spots onsite (22 if memory serves me correctly)

The parking issue has been discussed at length so we knew that well in advance and parked in another location for our stay. I was glad to see both elevators were working for our visit and the location just a few blocks from the beach was fantastic. Overall things were more than adequate for our stay. The room more than met our needs and the staff we interacted with were all courteous and gave us the impression they really cared about our experience at their hotel. We would not hesitate to stay at the Aqua Waikiki Pearl again in the future.

Room Tip: I would suggest asking for an upper room as many others have suggested. There is a small bar at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surface D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Upon arrival the front desk was excellent, both friendly and helpful. This great service continued on throughout the stay. They helped with the tour confirmations and were always great when we had questions. The free beach towel loans and free wifi were nice touches.

The location was great we could walk to everything which helped with all the great food we ate. There are a couple of coffee shops within minutes to grab something quick for breakfast before tours and the trolley stops are just around the corner.

The room was large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom had plenty of space and the bed was really comfortable.

The only little issues we had were that one day we received sheets with a small tear, the air conditioner was a little loud and the balconies from a neighbouring hotel look straight into the room. These little problems were not enough to offset all of its great points.

We would highly recommend this for anyone looking for a great value comfortable room in a good location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.0 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
677 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,915 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ewa Hotel
Ewa Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#74 of 84 in Honolulu
734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
1,672 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Hotel Waikiki

Address: 415 Nahua St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2949 (Formerly Aqua Waikiki Pearl)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: $120 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pearl Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Pearl and enjoy some of Waikiki’s most spacious guest accommodations – perfect for extended stays with large families and groups. Only 1.5 blocks to legendary Waikiki Beach, adjacent to World-Class shopping and dining at the International Marketplace, and a short shuttle ride to Ala Moana Center. With our great location you can learn how to surf, eat at local neighborhood favorites, and shop at Nordstrom Rack all in the same day! Our one bedroom, two bedroom, and three bedroom suites have full kitchens, separate living areas, and private lanais, making it easy to prepare meals or unwind against the backdrop of Waikiki. WiFi, water and coffee service in the lobby are among some of the included amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pearl Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Pearl Honolulu
Aqua Waikiki Pearl Hotel Honolulu
Aston Honolulu Prince Hotel
Honolulu Prince Hotel
Pearl Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing