We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Staff, Bad Parking”
Review of Aqua Waikiki Pearl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
Ranked #73 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Staff, Bad Parking”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just spent a week on Oahu staying at the Waikiki Pearl.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the hotel was very clean, great location and very well priced relative to other hotels.

Only reason why this isn't a 5-star rating is the parking is bad. There's only limited spaces for a hotel of this size, when it's full the overflow parking is 2 blocks away on the Waikiki Trade Centre. The problem is the traffic during those two blocks can get pretty bad.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel if you are not renting a car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    464
    218
    77
    69
See reviews for
344
371
129
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

The best part about the hotel is the personable staff members. Ese, Ricky, and Dexter greeted us with a smile everyday and were extremely accommodating.

Great value and prime location! If you find a food deal make sure to book it right away as the rates can increase within days.

The rooms are clean and decent, and of good size. The bathroom is spacious, but does not have a clothes line to hang wet wear, and there is no fan. Expect to hear some noise in the evening.

If you plan to catch a late flight, you will have access to 24 fitness at Pacific Hotel to use their facilities ($10). If you only plan to use their shower after surfing, they may not even charge. They will only charge 50 cents for a lock.

If you are looking for an affordable hotel filled with happy staff members that spread good vibes, this is it!


  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vilawoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

After reading some of these reviews I wasn't sure I was going to like my experience. Im glad I was pleasantly surprised!! The moment we arrived to the Aqua Waikiki Pearl we were made to feel welcome. It was our first time in Hawaii and to have everyone be extremely friendly made the experience so much better. Even though our check in was at 3 pm, we were able to check in at 12 pm. We were also informed of complimentary beach towels to use at the beach. The beach was only a few blocks away and the location of the hotel was right in the middle of Waikiki. My husband and I commented that the hotels right on the beach are more than double what we paid and youre only a few blocks closer. We didn't get a room with a lanai but I still didn't have any complaints on the room size. We were able to fit my daughters stroller in there without a problem and she's 3 months old! You also get free wifi in your rooms which not many of the other hotels in Waikiki have. The reason I didn't give this hotel a 5 is because of the lack of other amenities like fitness center and pool. Overall if you are looking for an affordable hotel close to the beach with friendly staff and decent rooms, give Aqua Waikiki Pearl a chance! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The staff at Aqua Waikiki Pearl is the 'ohana I choose. Stayed a couple of times in the Summer and just now in a time of transition. Staff are personable, caring, effective, attentive to every detail of your stay be it vacation or moving to and from places on island. The suites with an extra side bedroom and kitchen were great for extended stays. If ever returning to O'ahu, I would always choose Aqua Waikiki Pearl for the very exceptional staff that they keep. Where else would someone remember a face, a person, a story--and on top of the many tasks staff track, offer several slices of pizza as you rebook a flight in the lobby? Perfection! Big thank you to; Rachel Agasiva, Robbie Helsham, Charity Reyes, Dexter Tuigamala, Eric Petersen, Harry Matsushima, Tasi Singh, Dawn Baker, Ese Faumui!!!

Room Tip: Suites with extra bedroom and kitchen for longer stays. Rooms at very end with windows or room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We experience a last minute vacation and we are so thankful that we had the chance to stay at the Aqua Waikiki, the staff was so friendly and helpful at all times! We walked everywhere and there was plenty places to eat nearby and affordable for our price range (it didn't kill us). We stayed in the one studio room and it was great, with all that you could need if you had to cook in room and it was roomy. We will be back, and have told our friends as well.

Room Tip: Look for the studio, very roomy. A/C was great and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Overall we loved our stay! Everyone at the desk was extremely nice and helpful - mainly Eric (who checked us in as a late arrival) and Dexter (who had great suggestions of hikes to do). Robbie was our go-to person. He knows the area very well and was very nice to us throughout the stay. (Thank-you guys. We were unable to thank you in person before we left. We really appreciated everything you did for us.)

Pros: The friendly staff, the location (you're right in the middle of Waikiki), beach towels provided by the hotel, cleanliness and efficiency of the housekeepers (we would leave early in the morning and return around 2-3 pm and the room would ALWAYS be clean upon our arrival).

Cons: There are two things that kept me for giving them 5 starts. One is the parking - the lack of actually. They have limited parking that is by the hotel. If you arrive too late in the day, you have to park in their overflow parking which is about a 5 minute walk away. Paying $23 a night for parking, I'd expect to have parking at the hotel, which was not the case 3 of the 6 nights we stayed at the hotel. The second is the air conditioning. The air conditioning worked fine and would keep the room very fresh, but it was extremely noisy. It is a little difficult to sleep with it on, but it's something that you can ignore if you're very tired (which we were).

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and will definitely be returning during our visits to Oahu.

Room Tip: If you can, get back to the hotel early so you don't have to use their overflow parking. It can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hdezdiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We arrived at 10.00am in the morning and were greeted with smiling faces.
Our rooms were not ready but we could change and freshen up before we went sightseeing.
Eric advised about the free wifi which were were able to contact family that we arrived safely.
Eric also advised where we could get phone cards and where to go for shopping
I have already recommended Aqua Pearl to others

Room Tip: Rooms away from lifts are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
546 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,630 reviews
White Sands Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,878 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Waikiki Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Waikiki Pearl

Property: Aqua Waikiki Pearl
Address: 415 Nahua St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2949
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Waikiki Pearl 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Waikiki Pearl is a mid-rise hotel tucked into the heart of Waikiki. This location showcases the vibrant city, near shops and restaurants. Located just 2 blocks to Waikiki Beach, this comfortable hotel offers spacious accommodations, large balconies in most rooms, a refrigerator, a microwave, and a coffeemaker with full kitchens in suites. You'll also enjoy the on-site sports bar, Legends, with multi-screen TV's, as well as various retail shops and services. With the daily hospitality fee Aqua Waikiki Pearl allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Waikiki Pearl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Pearl Honolulu
Aqua Waikiki Pearl Hotel Honolulu
Aston Honolulu Prince Hotel
Honolulu Prince Hotel
Aqua Waikiki Pearl Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing