We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a pearl- a dud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #74 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Though I was happy with the room size, my charger literally exploded within a few minutes of plugging it in. The location was close to the beach, but very noisy at night due to the bar at street level and thin windows. The management did send me a new charger, so I was relieved they made it right. Still would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monktonmom1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

for the price this hotel was more than satisfactory. The staff were brilliant, from the front desk, to the cleaners. We were made very welcome. Rooms were clean and tidy and we found the beds comfy. Being in the 'noisier' part of town, there was a bit of noise on the Saturday night (which we expected) but this in no way caused us dissatisfaction. We were on level 2 (at our request) so I imagine if you were on a higher level you may not even hear the noise. We travelled with our 1 yo and found the junior suite to be a great size and again, the staff were very friendly and helpful as we were travelling with a child. The location was a short stroll through the international market to the beach and there was a supermarket (Food Pantry) one block up which is always convenient when travelling with a little one

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aussie_famof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We only stayed for two days and the location was great. I had read the reviews of all the hotels in Wakiki seeming to be more run down inside so I wasnt too surprised that this one was not so new looking.
The room was clean, the bed was fine. But the noise was bad. We had suggested to be on a higher floor via our internet reservation but they only had the 3rd floor. I thought that would be fine, but it was still too close to the on going motor of the big air conditioning unit. Also we could hear laughter and voices throughout the night.

Room Tip: Try to make sure you get a room at the higher floors if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rpstory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My family and I just returned from a 6 night stay at the AWP. We stayed here last July and were excited to be coming back again. The AWP did not disappoint! We stayed on the 6th floor and had no issues with noise. The room was cleaned daily and again, my family of four was very comfortable with the size of the room. Beaches are within walking distance, Starbucks on the corner, many restaurants close by and the International Marketplace just across the street. Free wi-fi in rooms is great upgrade from last year. We did have a car and on two nights came back and the lot was full but we just crossed the street and parked at their sister hotel. Not super convenient, but not that big of a deal either. The shining star (stars, really) are its employees. The front desk staff is amazing. Charity, Eric, Harry, Dexter and the rest of the staff treat you like Ohana. Dexter even recognized my family from our visit last year! Always an Aloha or a wave/smile when you enter the lobby. I hope to return to Oahu again next year and have no doubt that my family will stay at the AWP. Mahalo Aqua Waikiki Pearl staff for another wonderful stay. A hui hou kakou.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank SJC007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Went on a girl trip to Hawaii for some R&R and stayed here for 6 nights. If you just need a clean room to sleep and shower, then this is an excellent choice for lodging. It’s in a great location – few blocks from Waikiki Beach with plenty of shops and restaurants around. If you have a car, it’s also a little easier to find street parking. And they have FREE wi-fi!

To top it off, the whole staff is wonderful! Everyone here was really friendly and helpful. Walking through the lobby was like seeing friends. Jamar and Robbie at the front definitely made our stay at the hotel pleasant. Jamar was amazing and suggested several beaches, hikes, and restaurants for us to check out. All his suggestions did not disappoint.

Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vee728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The room we got was not shown on the website. It was a corner room with no balcony, pay per view, phone book, extra pillow, blanket, dry cleaner bag, pen, paper, table or desk to write or eat on. We ended up using the ironing board for our table. Before we got to use the bathroom there was hair on the bathroom floor and hair even stuck to the base board. The sink kept plugging up and the only window you could open was in the bathroom. The parking was so limited, you should count on having to use the public parking car lift that takes time to drop off and pick up. It's about a block away, so you're having to carry your things with you.
The only good things were the friendly staff and convenient location to shops and dinning.
We asked for an upgrade the next morning to a room with a balcony. It was not expensive for the one bdrm suite that had a full kitchen, but the room had a very bad odor. We sprayed perfume all over, and it didn't help much.

Room Tip: Go with a one bedroom with balcony and full kitchen unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The hotel was perfect for what we need. The rooms were clean and tidy and big, so big tha the TV was a little bit to far from the bed. The staff was great and very friendly. They had fresh water with watermelon in it and coffee all day at the reception. The location was perfect, near Waikiki beach and al the nice shops arround.
Something no so good was the parking lot, allways full and a little expensive. We parked on a parking lot just a few meters away and it was cheaper.
Another thing not no so good was that at night the street gets a little bit noisy.
Although this 2 things we had an excellent time, and we defenitelly would stay at the hotel again,

Room Tip: its better to make the reservation online on the site of the hotel, its cheaper and you can ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flor_chowi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
White Sands Hotel
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
676 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,915 reviews
Ewa Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#75 of 84 in Honolulu
727 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
1,672 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Hotel Waikiki

Address: 415 Nahua St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2949 (Formerly Aqua Waikiki Pearl)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: $119 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pearl Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Pearl and enjoy some of Waikiki’s most spacious guest accommodations – perfect for extended stays with large families and groups. Only 1.5 blocks to legendary Waikiki Beach, adjacent to World-Class shopping and dining at the International Marketplace, and a short shuttle ride to Ala Moana Center. With our great location you can learn how to surf, eat at local neighborhood favorites, and shop at Nordstrom Rack all in the same day! Our one bedroom, two bedroom, and three bedroom suites have full kitchens, separate living areas, and private lanais, making it easy to prepare meals or unwind against the backdrop of Waikiki. WiFi, water and coffee service in the lobby are among some of the included amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pearl Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Pearl Honolulu
Aqua Waikiki Pearl Hotel Honolulu
Aston Honolulu Prince Hotel
Honolulu Prince Hotel
Pearl Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing