We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$339
$309
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$350
$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$420
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$210
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$558
$540
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$202
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$425
$360
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
$227
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,253)
Filter reviews
1,253 results
Traveler rating
357
483
237
92
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
483
237
92
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskthe international marketfood pantryjunior suitestandard roomstreet noiseacross the streettwo blocksbus stopcentral locationcoffee makerfull kitchenhigher floorbalconywaikikihawaiimicrowave
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
611 - 616 of 1,253 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel feels like it is in the Ghetto area of Waikiki. Lots of shady people around the hotel and drugs deals going on at the corner. If you stay on the parking lot side you will have a room with a noisy air conditioner. If you stay on the street side prepare for no sleep. It sounded like people were fighting in our room it was that loud. It is also scary for kids when all they can hear is police sirens and people swearing and fighting as well as Harley's roaring up and down the street. Our room absolutely stank. Kids would not walk in the corridors as they were scared. Have stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian village and and Wyndham Waikiki Beach Walk and both were excellent. This place is a dump. Don't be fooled by the reviews on Tripadvisor like I was- it is the pits and put a dampener on our holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aussielive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Booked this place because of the location and decent reviews, plus reasonable price (especially for Spring Break time); wasn't disappointed. A bit older, but well-maintained, very friendly and knowledgeable staff, awesome location, can walk to anything, big room with lots of space, fridge, micro, free local calls. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Quieter on the side away from Kuhio ave.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Took a spontaneous trip to Oahu with just the kids and just needed a fairly cheap place to stay in close proximity to the beach and shops so booked a room thru Trip Advisor using a promo code.
Love that its located in central Waikiki, but if you're a light sleeper or have kids that are sensitive to loud sounds at night, stay away from this hotel. It gets super loud at night since there's many bars around and for some reason, Harley riders loved going down this street at night and gunning it for everybody to hear(and feel) them zoom by. Incredibly annoying. Just be prepared.
My other big gripe is what most other people already brought up. The elevators. First off, there was only 1 working for nearly our entire stay and its SLOW and SMALL. It amused me they had a sign that said they are "modernizing" the elevators. WTF is modernizing? haha It certainly didn't include making them faster or more efficient. I noticed they fitted new buttons and decor but Id rather have faster elevators than fancy buttons. So one busy morning we waited about 10 min for the elevator to go down and twice when it got to our floor(4th) it was already full so we said the hell with it and I folded up my son's stroller and we walked it down the stairs. Needless to say, I was irritated already.
The lobby has a nice modern(ized) feel but its a little deceiving since the rest of the hotel isn't as updated. Don't let the lobby fool you!
The standard rooms were quite large but what I didn't get was why there was only 1 chair in the entire room at the desk. No bench, no sitting chair so you either sat on that one chair or on the bed. And this goes for the balcony too. Nice big table but only ONE chair? Who's bright idea was that? I understand the view isn't the best but couples will occasonally sit and have soem coffee or eat a malasada outside and if there's only 1 chair outside its useless.
Last but not least has again to do with the noise. We weren't able to get a room that didn't face the street so the sliding door was shut at night. However, our room had a HUGE crack on one end of the window where the frame of the sliding door meets with the wall and not only warm air came thru but sound as well! I should've taken a picture of that it was so appalling. They can put granite counter tops in the bathroom, put in a flat screen tv, but you can't renovate the sliding doors? Not cool.
The sole reason I'm not giving this place a 1 star rating is the value for the money and its centralized location. The complimentary taro and sweet rolls, and muffins, coffee, tea in the morning is nice as well. I'm usually not a harsh critic but had to expose this place for what it really is in hopes that mgmt will fix these glaring issues.

Room Tip: If you're gonna stay here, insist on a room not facing the street and stay on the 2nd or 3rd floor if you don't wanna wait for slow elevators. Take the stairs!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank illusive45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Came here earlier this year and had a wonderful stay. Great location, close to tourist spots such as Waikiki beach. Very friendly staff, beautiful rooms (especially loved the huge bathroom, was wonderful), and very clean. Would recomend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sasha r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Aqua Pearl is a lower cost hotel with very roomy, comfortable rooms. We appreciated the microwave and mini fridge. The staff was exceptional. They went out of their way to make our stay everything we were looking for. They had muffins and fresh pineapple juice available every morning. The beach was a block away, easy walk. The international center was across the street and public transportation to anywhere on the island was around the corner. If you are looking for a comfortable, cost effective way to stay on Waikiki I would recommend this hotel every time.

Room Tip: If you want a view you should ask for a room above the 5th floor. If the view isn't important any floor is great.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaurieLeeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews