We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #74 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed December 10, 2012

It's the staff that makes this place awesome!
Great location and close to most amenities : Bus stops, Food Pantry, International Marketplace, pharmacy, ABC stores, Denny's etc.
Our first night we had a Junior Suite on the same floor as the laundry which was convenient for us. Rooms were exactly like the pictures on the website. A/C worked a treat for us that were still adjusting to the climate. Bathroom was spotless. There was nothing bad about the room.
We returned after our cruise to stay an extra 6 nights, being way too early for check in the staff held our luggage while we explored Waikiki.
We got the same floor as last time but a different room which wasn't exactly up to par as our first night. It did look like the previous guests had a great night though, with wet patches and stains on the floor. But we weren't too fussy so it didn't bother us much.
The only problem we had was the noise from the street but that can't be helped unless you get a room on a higher floor.
So overall we would recommend this hotel to friends and family and we would definitely stay again the next time we do come to Hawaii.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rawlicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

I cannot say enough positive things about this hotel, from the beautiful staff who offer excellent service from the heart, to the central location, to the immaculate condition, well-maintained, and tastefully decorated rooms. They provide free wifi throughout the property and free daily newspapers, including Sunday. There is a large water urn in the lobby with large pieces of watermelon to slightly flavor the cold water, a very refreshing touch. The rooms have 2 double beds, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker with coffee provided, flat screen tv, and room safe. The a/c units are updated. They are efficient in keeping the room at your desired temperature without the noise. Bathroom de-humidifier, also quiet, does a superb job in keeping away mold and mildew.

This was my second stay, having visited a year previous at the same time, Nov. Id' like to recognize the quick, positive responses I received by email from the manager, Tasi; the front desk persons, Harry and Charity, who are so gracious, Emmie, the dearest and efficient housekeeping supervisor; and Elisa, who kept our accommodations spotless.

As a caveat, if one desired to be right on the beach or have a pool on site, this would not be for you; but being so close to bus and shuttle lines and across the street from the Intl Marketplace, Denny's, etc., it cannot be beat. The jr suite with lanai is only slightly more expensive than the standard room, well worth the cost. For the low rates they charge, you get a terrific value.

I will always return to the Pearl. They exemplify the Aloha spirit. It is my home in Wakiki, and indeed a Pearl of a hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor or location away from the street, although the property is on a side street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryg941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel was fine - room was good (we upgraded to the east side rooms) - bed comfortable and good shower. The staff (especially Harry) were extremely freindly, helpful and nice - they went out of their way to help.

Room Tip: The upgraded rooms on the east side are nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I had a very comfortable stay, i had a personal issue i was going threw during my stay, but come check in and check out, dawn had my back checking in, and jamar made me smile checking out.. Just what anyone should need excspecially in hawaii...

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markita123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great location with in 10 mins walk to beach and across the road to the markets. As we ate out a lot and went sightseeing the hotel was perfect, great size (2 bedroom apartment) comfortable beds, kitchen facilities good ( no wine glasses but can buy at supermarket) great internet service in room. Bus stop about 2 mins walk for the local shuttle buses.All the staff extremely helpful and accommodating would highly recommend this hotel to all families wishing to stay in a affordable and comfortable hotel. Great coffee shop " Hawaiian Gold "( not a chain coffee shop) up the road heading to the Zoo around 5 mins walk . TIPS Keep away from the ATM located around the island stick with the ATM at the major banks. Had my credit card scanned, and subsequently stopped as a result. Plus they dispense more cash depending which bank you chose up to $400.00. Best shopping for Surf clothes is up on the North Shore cheaper by up to 10-15%
( compared to Ala Moana or the shops in Waikiki) on most items plenty of choice take your time to walk around and have a look. Best shopping in general according to my wife,kids (and Credit Card ) is Ala Moana. Try Matsomoto's on the North Shore for shaved ice, Giovanni's shrimp truck for a great meal, PF Changs and also Tanaka on Tokyo ( easier if you book a table) in Waikiki. If from Australia don't rely on getting cash out at shops as we do here.Could not find one that gave cash out with purchases next time i go will look at getting all my cash in American dollars before leaving.We used Virgin from Perth and Jetstar from Sydney had no issues at all with these airlines and will use again recommend getting extra luggage for 1 person and also pre pay for IPads on Jetstar flight.Weather was great as not too hot was coming into there winter season just perfect lived in shorts and t shirt whole trip.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The actual hotel is old but it is clean, tidy and cheap. It was the staff that made my stay special. They went out of their way to be helpful. The Staff were so friendly and had good suggestions for dining, activities and shopping. They put the AAaaaaa is Aloha.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linnea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Nothing was exceptional about this hotel, but everything was pretty good. Staff had the Aloha spirit, location within Waikiki was great for both shopping and beaches and the room was clean and generously sized for a studio apartment. Recommended for an affordable visit to Waikiki.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.0 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
676 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,915 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ewa Hotel
Ewa Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#75 of 84 in Honolulu
729 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
1,672 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#29 of 84 in Honolulu
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Hotel Waikiki

Address: 415 Nahua St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2949 (Formerly Aqua Waikiki Pearl)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: $121 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pearl Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Pearl and enjoy some of Waikiki’s most spacious guest accommodations – perfect for extended stays with large families and groups. Only 1.5 blocks to legendary Waikiki Beach, adjacent to World-Class shopping and dining at the International Marketplace, and a short shuttle ride to Ala Moana Center. With our great location you can learn how to surf, eat at local neighborhood favorites, and shop at Nordstrom Rack all in the same day! Our one bedroom, two bedroom, and three bedroom suites have full kitchens, separate living areas, and private lanais, making it easy to prepare meals or unwind against the backdrop of Waikiki. WiFi, water and coffee service in the lobby are among some of the included amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pearl Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Pearl Honolulu
Aqua Waikiki Pearl Hotel Honolulu
Aston Honolulu Prince Hotel
Honolulu Prince Hotel
Pearl Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing