We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A lovely holiday in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Wave

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waikiki Wave
Ranked #55 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely holiday in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Recently stayed for 11 nights at the Aqua Waikiki Wave Hotel. A very welcoming and friendly experience from our 11pm check-in to our 12 noon check-out. Kisha on reception is an absolute gem with her friendly attitude and local knowledge which she was only to happy to share. She never failed to wish us 'Aloha' and the hope that we were going to have a great day.
We stayed on the 7th floor on the Duke Lane side and did not have any problem with noise except for Friday and Saturday night when they have music and entertainment in the International Market but cotton wool in the ears blocked out any noise and we enjoyed good sleep on the very comfortable beds. The bed linen was fresh and was changed 3 times in the short time we stayed by the very friendly housekeeping staff. Plenty of hot water in the shower - no matter what time of day. The lifts have been upgraded and the longest time we had to wait was approx. 2-3 mins at the busiest time of the day. Had a blocked toilet one day (not our fault) and the maintenance guy arrived only 5 mins after a phone call. Problem solved immediately and efficiently.
A great bakery only 3 doors along for light breakfasts, lunches etc and with the International Market just behind the hotel its in a great location for food.
To sum up, the hotel is a little tired in places but the great staff more than make up for any deficiencies. I would definitely recommend this hotel to budget travellers who want a great location and friendly, efficient staff.

Room Tip: 7th floor Duke Lane side - very little noise. As far from the lifts as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    979
    416
    169
    91
See reviews for
736
840
194
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel was so close to the beach, excellent staff, very comfortable bed, and room was clean. great prices, and i would definetely stay again, and recommend to my friends.i loved that we could walk out the door in any direction, and everything was right there. restaraunts, the beach, shopping. we were surrounded by the international market, and loved walking around in the evenings looking for cheap souveniers! it does get noisier at night, but we didnt mind :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfenton01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very nice housekeeper named Alma C. assisted our elderly auntie immensely and guest attendant Will helped with walking her to and from the parking to elevator~so thank-ful for the above average excellent customer service from these people~would definitely come again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renata W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I spent a few hours researching hotels trying to find something "cheap" for one night. We were traveling for a soccer tournament and families pocket books were really tight. I had one mom tell me her kids could "sleep on the floor" even. So, I found this place for like $135 with two double beds and was hopeful there would be a pull out couch. Total of 6 of us traveling. To our suprise, the front desk gave us a "free upgrade" to a suite without me asking. We got up there and there were 3 beds!!! everyone got a bed!!! It was the most pleasant thing that happened on the entire trip. The view was decent, the rooms were decorated nicely and everything was great! The location is even nice for shopping, etc and really not far from the beach. THANKS SO MUCH Aqua Waikiki Wave!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lori b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 6 nights for a girls week. Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach is the best location in Honolulu. The beach was amazing. We were not disappointed. Excellent service all around. Loved Duke's. Coming back next year with the family. Miss it so much.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed 4 nights in the Aqua Waikiki. It is a very nice hotel with friendly stuff. The rooms are clean and quite modern. In addition it´s only 5 minutes to walk to Waikiki Beach. The location close to beach has the additional advantage that all the restaurants are also close to the hotel. The parking in the hotel is very convenient (under the hotel). For people having a light sleep the room contained earplugs (you can hear the Waikiki night life in your room). This was the first and still only hotel where I found a short "Mahalo" (thank you) from the room service (for the daily tip) which made my stay even better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki Prince
#30 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#35 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,671 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#61 of 83 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
#58 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
Ilima Hotel
#24 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#11 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Wave

Property: Waikiki Wave
Address: 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Waikiki Wave)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Wave 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waikiki Wave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Wave Honolulu
Waikiki Wave Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing