We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waikiki hotel without the exorbitant price.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Laylow, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Laylow, Autograph Collection
Ranked #60 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
399 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Waikiki hotel without the exorbitant price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Aqua Waikiki Wave is on the upper edge of the Waikiki area. Close to all the sights, restaurants and night spots. Clean, well managed and decently priced. We had problems with the free Wi-Fi going out and not being fixed for a day. At least it was free when a lot of other pricier hotels in the area charge extra for the Wi-Fi. Rooms were clean and decent size for two people. View of Diamond Head, beach and Waikiki area was good but a little blocked by other buildings closer to the beach. A little noisy from the nightlife of Waikiki but that should be expected. Overall a good place to stay if you want to be right down in the Waikiki area of Honolulu.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    980
    419
    169
    91
See reviews for
739
840
195
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Let me first say that my family and I have been in this hotel for over a month waiting on military housing and we have been here long enough to write a very concise review. I'll start with the positives first.
POSITIVES:
+Good location: International Market is literally right behind the hotel; lots of restaurants within walking distance (Chili's, Denny's, McDonald's, Starbuck's, Subway, etc); 2 blocks from Waikiki Beach and lots of shopping and even more restaurants.
+A/C works great: You'll want this after being out in the warmer weather all day.
+Very friendly staff: They have done everything to make our lengthy stay as comfortable as possible.
+Pet friendly
+Beds are super comfy: My bad back felt good most days.
+Great views of the city and ocean from our 14th floor room. Higher floors are recommended and I'll explain later in my review.
+Mini fridge and microwave in every room.
+Free wifi: It works really well and is faster than my 4G on my phone.
+Baby crib available upon request: This was big for us because we didn't want our 1 year old sleeping in a pack-n-play for a couple months while we waited for housing. The crib is a standard full size with metal rails and works great for my little girl.
NEGATIVES:
-Outside noise: This has been our biggest complaint. You can hear buses, people yelling, motorcycles, and police and ambulance sirens nightly. This is why I would recommend a higher floor. Even on the 14th it is still quite loud.
-Indoor noise: We are the furthest room from the elevators and we can still hear the bell go off each time the elevator stops on our floor. We haven't had any problems with neighboring rooms (walls are good) but the door has many gaps on the sides and bottom allowing a lot of hallway noise to come in. You can also hear the patio doors open in the room upstairs. Last night was bad cuz all the rooms are nonsmoking and the folks upstairs were in and out about 3 or 4 times a minute.
-No pool: This really sucks, especially in Hawaii.
-No room service or continental breakfast (don't be fooled by the website pics).
-Parking can be a pain if you plan to travel after 8 pm. It is also very expensive at $23 per night.
-Prostitutes/Hookers: They're out there but not really a concern. I have a 3 yr old and 1 yr old and I don't feel unsafe outside. There are many people outside almost all hours and a lot of police patrolling so you likely wont be bothered (unless of course you want to be).
-TV doesn't have many channels: Honestly if you're in Hawaii you shouldn't be concerned about this but for those looking to watch that game or rent a flick on your TV you might be disappointed.
-Running water: We have experienced issues with the bath faucet leaking a bit.
-No laundry facility.
-Gym is very small with only dumbbells and cardio equipment.
OVERALL ASSESSMENT: This isn't a bad hotel for the money but there are better hotels nearby. You will likely pay more but like everything you get what you pay for. We've managed to stay here for over a month and really haven't been impacted by the negatives that much. I really like the staff and the bouncers for the club/restaurant downstairs work for the hotel too so safety has never been a concern. If I had to stay here again I would but I would prefer a quieter hotel/area. Again this is Waikiki and it gets like Vegas some nights. I don't think you can avoid all the noise. Hope my review helps. Just remember to enjoy yourself and have fun. If you're doing that you likely won't be in the hotel much anyway.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommyjc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here in February 2013 for a week and loved every minute of it! Excellent location with close proximity to famous waikiki beach (3 blocks), restaurants, and shopping. Rooms are modern and clean with nice balcony. Continental breakfast is provided and includes muffins, juice, coffee. Afternoon snacks (chips and juice) are served daily. Hotel staff was very helpful in booking shuttles and providing information. Would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again. Only downside was that the elevators were under repair so they were slow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank singaporesling49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I travelled as a family (including 2 kids) and had arrived late night on a Friday. We were meant to stay for a week but after a sleepless night from the noise outside and guests arriving early hours of the morning back from the clubs, we ended up checking out and into another hotel the next day.

Pros:
* Conveniently located near Duke's Market, Eateries & ABC Store
* Close to the beach
* Customer service was good and helpful

Cons:
* Very noisy as it is located in the middle of many nightclubs (one being right next door)
* Only stairs at the entrance so you have to carry your suitcases up to the lobby
* Plumbing in the room was shocking (bathtub was blocked after only one shower!! , toilet and sink easily blocked)
* Bathroom was dirty and rusty

I definitely wouldn't recommend this hotel for families with children. Probably only suitable for singles.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the last leg of our trip. The rooms are massive and clean. The location is very central and is conveniently placed in the middle of the main street. You can hear a bit of street noise from outside until early morning but its faint. Overall, good place to stay for a good price!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamDim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Positives: centrally located for walking to beach, restaurants and shopping. Staff was very pleasant and always helpful.

Negatives: has few amenities, only TV located in sitting room with an uncomfortable loveseat, and our room faced parking garage where noise at 4 in morning (after local bars closed) kept us awake for a while.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dayna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl City, Hawaii, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We are military and were staying in this hotel until we received a house to move into. I really enjoyed staying at this hotel, the staff was super nice! They made the stay in the hotel much more bearable. We have 3 young kids and most of the staff made sure to say Hi or ask if it was okay if they had some cookies and let them look at the fish in the tank behind the desk. We even traded rooms twice to better accommodate the kids and us. They also knew where all the good places to eat were. The location was great, it was noisy, but we got used to it! Definitely a nice place to stay. They also had fruit infused water all day and then coffee, biscuits and muffins for breakfast with pineapple juice. And a snack time in the evening with chips and snack mix with more pineapple juice.

Room Tip: No swimming pool, but walking distance to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#14 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Ilima Hotel
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laylow, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laylow, Autograph Collection

Property: The Laylow, Autograph Collection
Address: 2299 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2632 (Formerly The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Laylow, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1960’s Hawaiian Modern aesthetic in a lush garden surrounding sets the scene for a relaxed vacation vibe. Visitors are transported back in time through authentic mid-century furnishings and decor. Centrally located in the heart of Waikiki places you just a short walk to the ocean, restaurants, shops, and nightlife. The pool is the ultimate amenity, lush greenery, lounge seating and teak accents surround this communal gathering place.Classic cocktails, fresh fruit, a thatched roof, hanging plants, and woven lanterns create a remixed tiki vibe in close proximity to the pool. Enjoy an eclectic healthy menu of fresh fish, farm-to table dishes, craft beers on tap, and an extensive wine list in our warm greenhouse style restaurant. Memorable service moments, nostalgic details, tropical greenery, and modern comforts make for one-of a kind Hawaiian getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Laylow, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Wave Honolulu
The Laylow, Autograph Collection Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing