We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good value and nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Wave

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waikiki Wave
Ranked #55 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value and nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My friends and I got a pretty good price for our room. The staff was very friendly: they held our bags before we could check in and also when we checked out because our flight wasn't until night. We always asked for extra towels and they were very efficient in bringing it to our room. One of us also had a problem with the zipper on our suitcase and the maintenance guy was so nice when he came to help. Getting beach towels was easy, you just have to ask the front desk and sign them out. The cleaning staff was also very friendly and always thanked us (either in person or leaving a note) for leaving a tip in our room. One maid in particular that always talked to us was Alma. She was very friendly!

Yes it is noisy outside at night but that's what you get for staying in that area. The hotel was very close to the beach, international marketplace, and shopping which is very convenient. I only wish they had a fan in their washroom! The condensation after you take a shower can get annoying.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatCee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    979
    416
    169
    91
See reviews for
736
840
194
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here on our first trip to Hawaii. Our room was 218. It was large, with a nice clean bath and shower. Water was warm. We had a small back up in the sink which was quickly taken care of on mentioning it to management. Concierge hours 9 - 5 made it a bit difficult to see if you arrive late or are on a day excursion, but when seen are very helpful. Bid Daddy's bar next door has a good happy hour. Restaurants close by. Beach is only a couple of blocks away, did not swim there. Will have to review Waikiki beach as heard some interesting facts about it that make me look for another beach. Regarding noise, we did not have that problem even on the second floor. We were there from Monday to Wednesday, that could have accounted for it. There were earplugs available but did not have to use them. Very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed at the Aqua Waikiki Wave for a weeknd..Apr. 19th to 21st. 2013.. it was a short trip but the Aqua folks made me wana stay longer.. room was very clean..bed was awesome.. hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. .. and the hotel location was a plus.. all around. .I give these folks and their hotel a 5star rating.. thank you Aqua Waikiki Wave..I'll be sure to let people know and be staying with yall folks every time im back on the island.. sincerely, Great Memories in San Francisco. ..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bayareagrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for an inexpensive hotel in a good location, the Aqua Wave is your place. Remember, you get what you pay for. The room was large and comfortable. The bathroom was not clean, and did have a bathtub, which most hotels around don't have. The location is awesome! Within walking distance of great restaurants, close to the beach and great shopping. The staff is terrible! They are not friendly, and treat you like you are bothering them. The parking lot is very small, so if you have a rental car (a bus stop is right across the street), you might have difficulty parking in the lot. The night manager of the hotel moved his car out of the handicapped spot and told us to park there overnight! Overall, I would probably stay here again, but only because the price was right for a quick weekend getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ihave3kidswilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keedysville, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is in a great locatiion - just one block back from the main Waikiki strip of shops and the beach. This was our second trip in two 2 1/2 years and came back to the Wave because of our first visit. The hotel is very clean and the staff are extremely nice. Not a fancy hotel as others mention but it is a bit more than the basics and a great deal for the money. The two managers, Gabe and George, were welcoming and accomodated our needs. Staff seemed happy and it appeared that they were well taken care of and enjoyed their jobs. Big thanks to Michael, Brenna, Kisha, Miko, and William for making our stay wonderful. We would definetely recommend this hotel and will be staying there on our next visit. Thanks - The Wilsons

Room Tip: I would recommend the higher floors to avoid some of the street noise. Also, the side facing Diamon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robw69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Pros: Great location, friendly/attentive staff, spacious rooms with balconies, affordable rates.
Cons: Worn/dated rooms, not much of a view.

This hotel suited our group of four just fine for a short 2-night stay in Honolulu. The location is fantastic, and the staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming. The hotel is in good condition, but the room itself was quite worn and dated. This would be a good option for a short stay or those just looking for a comfortable place to crash after a day of sightseeing or on the beach. It would not be the place to stay for those looking for a more pampering, romantic, or resortlike experience.

Room Tip: The hotel offers some rooms with three queen beds, a good option for families or small groups travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSM305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here as a group of three single women (age 30-40). The room was spacious, with three double beds and two small balconies. Service staff were very helpful and went out of their way for you - especially the bell boys. There is also a small massage place on the ground floor, where we had great foot massages for $30. It is opposite the international market and about a block back from the mian strip, close by to lots of great shops and restaurants and Waikiki beach.
On the downside, this hotel does not have a pool and overlooks the mountians (not on the beachfront). Some of the pricer hotels have great beachfront locations with lovely bars and restaurants and deckchairs on a private stretch of beach. It can also be wuite noisy at night in the rooms with the traffic and beeping.
Heaps of activities to do - we did a luau, Pearl Harbour tour, Big Island volcano tour, and outlet shopping tour ($15 return and well worth it!).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki Prince
#31 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#34 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,672 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#61 of 83 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
#57 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
Ilima Hotel
#25 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#11 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Wave

Property: Waikiki Wave
Address: 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Waikiki Wave)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Wave 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Waikiki Wave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Wave Honolulu
Waikiki Wave Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing