We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Wave for a 2nd time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Laylow, Autograph Collection

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Laylow, Autograph Collection
Ranked #61 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Keedysville, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love the Wave for a 2nd time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is in a great locatiion - just one block back from the main Waikiki strip of shops and the beach. This was our second trip in two 2 1/2 years and came back to the Wave because of our first visit. The hotel is very clean and the staff are extremely nice. Not a fancy hotel as others mention but it is a bit more than the basics and a great deal for the money. The two managers, Gabe and George, were welcoming and accomodated our needs. Staff seemed happy and it appeared that they were well taken care of and enjoyed their jobs. Big thanks to Michael, Brenna, Kisha, Miko, and William for making our stay wonderful. We would definetely recommend this hotel and will be staying there on our next visit. Thanks - The Wilsons

Room Tip: I would recommend the higher floors to avoid some of the street noise. Also, the side facing Diamon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robw69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    980
    419
    169
    91
See reviews for
739
840
196
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Pros: Great location, friendly/attentive staff, spacious rooms with balconies, affordable rates.
Cons: Worn/dated rooms, not much of a view.

This hotel suited our group of four just fine for a short 2-night stay in Honolulu. The location is fantastic, and the staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming. The hotel is in good condition, but the room itself was quite worn and dated. This would be a good option for a short stay or those just looking for a comfortable place to crash after a day of sightseeing or on the beach. It would not be the place to stay for those looking for a more pampering, romantic, or resortlike experience.

Room Tip: The hotel offers some rooms with three queen beds, a good option for families or small groups travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSM305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here as a group of three single women (age 30-40). The room was spacious, with three double beds and two small balconies. Service staff were very helpful and went out of their way for you - especially the bell boys. There is also a small massage place on the ground floor, where we had great foot massages for $30. It is opposite the international market and about a block back from the mian strip, close by to lots of great shops and restaurants and Waikiki beach.
On the downside, this hotel does not have a pool and overlooks the mountians (not on the beachfront). Some of the pricer hotels have great beachfront locations with lovely bars and restaurants and deckchairs on a private stretch of beach. It can also be wuite noisy at night in the rooms with the traffic and beeping.
Heaps of activities to do - we did a luau, Pearl Harbour tour, Big Island volcano tour, and outlet shopping tour ($15 return and well worth it!).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I took my family to Hawaii for the first time and we stayed at the Wave. We had a wonderful experience, the hotel and rooms were clean. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. It was within walking distance to everything we needed, beach, zoo, dining and shopping. I would definitley recommend them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My family and I have been staying in this hotel every time we visit Hawaii, which is quite often. It is pretty central so you can get to restaurants, beach, shopping within minutes. My last stay, I've noticed they've updated the rooms, elevators, and painted the hallways. Quite comfy for anyone who wants to enjoy all that Waikiki has to offer but doesn't want to spend a fortune.
Michael at the front desk was quite helpful when my daughter & I missed our flight and needed to extend our stay for a few more days (this was just last month). He was a sweetheart -he made sure we got a great room and sped up our check in time so we could get some much needed rest. Great customer service! James, another hotel employee, was always there to call us taxis -always greeting guests w/ a big smile and sharing that aloha spirit:) We'll definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AUDEJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed as a family of 4 and were upgraded to a suite on arrival which had 3 queen sized beds - supremely comfortable, clean and a real luxury for us. It was already great value but this made it terrifically so. The location is within minutes of Waikiki beach and there was convenient parking available underneath (at reasonable extra cost) for our car.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waipahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Staff is extremely friendly and caring! Ask them if you need recommendations. Elevators are fairly quick. Room service is phenomenal. Location is ideal, as it resides right in the dead center of Waikiki, vice too close to the shopping area (where most of the higher-end hotels are) but farther from Waikiki Beach. Overall experience here was amazing. Definitely plan on staying here for future trips, in addition to recommending this hotel to other friends / family. (Sidenote: They are extremely LGBT friendly, more so than any other hotel in Honolulu / Waikiki area.)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elijahnavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hyatt Centric Waikiki Beach
#31 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,106 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#14 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#15 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laylow, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laylow, Autograph Collection

Property: The Laylow, Autograph Collection
Address: 2299 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2632 (Formerly The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Laylow, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1960’s Hawaiian Modern aesthetic in a lush garden surrounding sets the scene for a relaxed vacation vibe. Visitors are transported back in time through authentic mid-century furnishings and decor. Centrally located in the heart of Waikiki places you just a short walk to the ocean, restaurants, shops, and nightlife. The pool is the ultimate amenity, lush greenery, lounge seating and teak accents surround this communal gathering place.Classic cocktails, fresh fruit, a thatched roof, hanging plants, and woven lanterns create a remixed tiki vibe in close proximity to the pool. Enjoy an eclectic healthy menu of fresh fish, farm-to table dishes, craft beers on tap, and an extensive wine list in our warm greenhouse style restaurant. Memorable service moments, nostalgic details, tropical greenery, and modern comforts make for one-of a kind Hawaiian getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Laylow, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Wave Honolulu
The Laylow, Autograph Collection Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing