We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Over-all. Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection
Ranked #58 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over-all. Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My three children and I had a very nice stay at this hotel.
The room was big enough for us to spread out and move around. The bathroom was small but efficient. Our maid was great and consistently cleaned our room early. We didn't have to ever worry if we got back before our room was re-vamped. Great for when you have kids! The kitchenette was very convenient and perfectly located. The TV was small but efficient: the DVD player made up for it.
Beds were vary comfortable, however, but bring your own pillow.
The noise level was high during the weekend shows. Thankfully, usually ended by 10:00pm. So if you were watching a movie you didn't notice it. Nothing too bad. Location was PERFECT! Udon restaurant across the street, worth the wait.

Room Tip: This hotel is good bang-for-your-buck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happydiosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    980
    419
    170
    91
See reviews for
739
840
194
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. We paid for an upgrade and were glad we did. The room has spacious and neat but the floors were questionable. We met some ppl at the hotel who said they saw cockroaches. We didn't buy heard loud noise all night from the near by club. There were hookers outside of our hotel as well. They didn't bother the guests, but did make the place seem shadier. It was across the street from the udon noodle place which was nice. And the international market was next door. The location was quite good as Waikiki is quite small. If you're looking for a great hotel, this is not it. But it is a cheap alternative to shady looking hostels which may orate not be meth labs. To be fair though even some of the "nicer" hotels in Waikiki weren't that nice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed there while visiting Oahu. It was the cheapest place that popped up on our search engine. We decided to stay there due to location.
This hotel is located in the centre of waikiki so it is quite easy to access restaurants, bars and of course the beach. It is on the less fancy street of the area but still it is decent. The first couple of nights we were staying in a very large room that was on the 2nd floor just above the bar that is in the hotel. That can be disturbing if you are planning to sleep early. We decided to change room, and it was done very easily. We moved on the 12th floor where the noise was less but not 100% eliminated.
Rooms were clean and quite comfortable. The elevators need to be replaced.
No breakfast.
In general i would say that it is a fine choise if you want to stay low on budget. Most of the other hotels look much nicer than this one.
The staff was really helpful and willing to solve any of the problems that might occur.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petr0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have stayed at many places in Waikiki of various quality levels and I was very pleasantly surprised at the quality of Aqua Waikiki Wave, particularly for the price. Other places I've stayed at a similar price were not nearly as nice. I was given a very large corner room with 2 lanais overlooking Kuhio Avenue and the mountains. The room was very clean, the furniture, carpeting, etc. appeared to be fairly new. While the bathroom wasn't high end it was spacious, clean and functioned well. I tend to avoid hotels with less than a 4 Star rating because the quality can be unpredictable, but because prices were high I took a risk on the Wave and was not disappointed. For the price I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirkc338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during spring break and we have a great time. The rooms are clean and modernized. Impressive central Ac.we paid under 100 dollars a day, so I think this is a great deal. Only complaint is u have to climb high stairs to the lobby and bell desk is under staffed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank fun997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was my first time staying in waikiki. So I needed I decent hotel within my budget. Well I found it here. Hotel was clean and nice. Room was big and spacious. However the bathroom was a little small, but clean. They had light snacks for us in the lobby in the afternoon. Some part of the night it got a little loud, but I think that's because your right in the middle of everything. Every thing is within walking distanceof the hotel, even the beach!! I will definitely be Back!

Room Tip: The higher you go the nicer the rooms get!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenesha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel was booked blindly by using Hotwire. So my husband and I were not expecting anything great. We originally booked at a high end expensive hotel and in trying to stay on budget and be able to do more activities, we decided to forego all the extras you pay for at those place (which after thinking about it, we weren't going to use anyway). We booked here. The room was same size as the other hotel, just as clean, as close to the beach as well. Yes, our room was right ear the main strip and there was noise at night.But honestly, after all our daily activities we had no problem sleeping. YOUR IN HAWAII FOR GOODNESS SAKE! EVERYTHING IS AWESOME! By booking here, we saved a few hundred dollars to spend on what we wanted to. We were there 5 nights and enjoyed every one of them.

Room Tip: No pool. Who needs a pool when you have an ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelBugCali5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Prince
Waikiki Prince
#33 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ilima Hotel
#29 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection

Property: The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection
Address: 2299 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2632 (Formerly Waikiki Wave)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Wave Honolulu
The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing