We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay and extremely helpful staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Wave

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Wave to your Saves list
Waikiki Wave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Waikiki Wave) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very nice stay and extremely helpful staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

When we arrived, we had been flying all day from the east coast and were looking forward to resting, however the computer system went down at the front desk just as we arrived. Everyone was especially helpful and friendly but Kisha stood out. They stored our luggage, kept us informed and made very helpful suggestions on how to spend our time and arranged for shuttle service to the airport for a connecting flight.
Kisha especially was patient and friendly even though the guests were getting restless.
Once the computer system was up and running George the manager, who was also very understanding and helpful, upgraded our room for our troubles.
One of the ways a hotel stands out is how the staff operates when things don't go well- they were outstanding.
The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We had balconies on two sides giving us a city and partial water view of the bay.
Located next to the International Market and one block from very nice shopping and only a couple blocks from the ocean, this hotel is superbly situated.
The only downside was the lobby seemed a bit old but the rest of the hotel was quite comfortable.
My hats off to the staff and a hearty thank you to George the manager and Kisha behind the desk

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    979
    416
    169
    91
See reviews for
736
840
194
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We were very pleased with this hotel; staff was amazing - especially Isaac! The outside noise level was as one would expect in a lively city and we did wake several times during the night; however, this issue would occur in any of the city's hotels (earplugs were provided). Great location - central to many amenities/shopping/beach. Bed was comfortable, room was clean and appealing, balcony views were amazing (ocean in one direction and mountains in the other), was great having refrigerator and microwave (used both, and both were clean), and the price was right.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and may have a little less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RS_Kelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and found it very comfortable. The room was a generous size and all staff very friendly. Its location was ideal close to all restaurants, cafes, shops, beach (Waikiki) and International Markets, all within walking distance. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Aqua a couple of years ago and had no problem choosing it again last week. We love the central location and of course the hotel has all you expect. The lifts are old and slow but they just started to upgrade them. Look forward to returning here in the next couple of years.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamHatzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Three greats, you can't go wrong. We went with family who had been to hotel before and highly recommended it. This is an older hotel and the rooms are dated but clean and well kept. The hotel staff are so helpful and friendly and the service is wonderful. They were working on the elevators while we were there so getting up and down was an adventure but always great to meet with other tourists while we were waiting. The location is perfect, with a short walk to the beach, the market place so very close, and of course an ABC store, they are everywhere. There was also a bakery right close so that was so great for a quick breakfast. Across the street was a wonderful place for lunch, homemade noodles and there was always a lilne up but it was worth it. All in all a wonderful place to stay, would

Room Tip: They did provide ear plugs as being close to a marketplace and downtown it did get quite noisy at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Good value for a downtown Honolulu room. Easy walking distance to shops, the beach and other attractions. The staff were particularly noteworthy for their friendliness and little things like remembering our names from day to day.They are also to be commended for the excellent communication during a tsunami warning where they kept us fully informed throughout the whole emergency period.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have some degree of traffic noise but not sure if others are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PEB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Clean, quiet except weekends when groups party in carpark next door. Still worth staying there as everyone very friendly loved the atmosphere.easy to walk to beach, zoo and food pantry great for nibbles late at night

Helpful?
Thank Lonelybunks
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki Prince
#30 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#35 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,671 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#61 of 83 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
#58 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
Ilima Hotel
#24 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#11 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Wave

Property: Waikiki Wave
Address: 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Waikiki Wave)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Wave 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Waikiki Wave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Wave Honolulu
Waikiki Wave Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing