We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not to bad!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection
Ranked #58 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not to bad!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was my 1st time here, it was 4 my honeymoon and I think it was ok! Great location to all the shopping outlets/stores/clubs/dining/bars, etc. Hotel staff very friendly, especially Isaac! The only annoying thing was they have 2 elevators that are soooooo slow to go up/down, ull wait awhile to get on!!! The cleaning people took forever to clean our rooms, they said they hit up the check outters 1st and then go from there.....they have a continental breakfast, although I didn't try it, they have a activities booking desk, convienient stores within the hotel, even a Chinese restaurant...the beach is a few blocks down, behind the hotel.......the last thing I would say is its ok, I'd come back for the price and location!!! The only thing that also urked me was outside the hotel and as u walk ull have alot of people trying to hand u flyers, or get u to sign up for timeshares and offers, makes u feel like ur in Vegas, annoying!! But on that note, it's coo, try it out and ask 4 Isaac!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chanellefrancois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    980
    419
    169
    91
See reviews for
738
840
195
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Renovated boutique hotel , centrally located, great beds , large room, just a relaxing walk to the beach 5 min, can be a little noisy on fri or sat night, from late night clubs nearby , but is good value for money , staff are very helpful and friendly, we have stayed their four times and it has been great everytime, love hawaii.

Room Tip: stay up high away from busy street towards beach end
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

The service was very good. Especially the bellboy James W. He was very helpful and always good to talk to.
The hotel was a bit on the older side, especially the toilet but it was good for people who are just in Hawaii to party. We really liked how it was a non smoking hotel and smoking even on the balcony was not allowed.
The hotel is in a great located and you can occasionally hear noise from the street. No where near as bad as what some other reviewers have said. There was a group of us and we were probably making the most noise without any complaints.

The lift however was a bit slow. One of the lifts were under maintenance and although we got to use the service lifts they were still very slow at times.

Hotel is recommended for couples and groups of friends. Maybe not so much for families as it may get noisy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Takoyaki_san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

my wife and i had 15 nights at this hotel and are more than happy with the service from the desk staff to the cleaning staff going out of there way to make our stay a very memerable one and would not hesitate recommending aqua waikiki wave to anyone and cant wait to come back to the aqua waikiki wave

Room Tip: the higher you go the better theview we stayed on the 14th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We flew from North Carolina to Hawaii and could not get into the condo we rented until the following day, so we checked into the Aqua Waikiki Wave. The atmosphere was welcoming and warm the minute our tired bodies stepped into the lobby. The front desk staff made an extra effort to let us know about the area and invited us to have a complimentary light breakfast the next morning. Everyone was so friendly.

Our room was clean and all our needs were attended to. It was delightful to hear the soft sounds of the city outside our balcony, and to watch people walking back and forth from the beach and shopping. However, the hotel provided earplugs in case any noises bothered us.

If I ever have the opportunity to go to Hawaii again, I would definitely stay here again. The price was affordable and we had accessibility to everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a highrise room with a balcony to see all the sights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank currina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to stay at the Wave after hearing great things about it from my sister who travels to hawaii every year. The rooms might not be as modern as others but nothing beats the location! To be quite honest, the rooms were not bad at all - our room was clean, had free wifi, and the beds were comfortable. The location itself is close to everything - 5 minute walk to the beach, right beside the International Marketplace, various eateries (my faviourite is Ono which has delicious and cheap Cheesesteak sandwiches), and about 25 minute walk to Ala Moana Shopping Center. I would definitely stay here again when I return and I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linh24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone wanting an above average hotel in a great location. This family friendly hotel provided my family of 4 with a great experience.

The hotel is in a convenient location and a short stroll to the beach and shops. The buses for any destination are all very close to the hotel on Kuhio Ave. Lifts have now been fixed and so there should not be any lengthy waiting around in the foyer for lifts.

Whilst there is no breakfast as such in the hotel, complimentary refreshments in the form of muffins, cupcakes, buns and juices are available at reception daily, for the early risers.

Go for rooms on the higher floors if you can, as they are definitely worth the little bit extra you pay for them. Also, being adjacent to the International Market Place means that it can get a little noisy at times, so the higher you are the less you are affected.

Beach towels are provided upon request as is a beach bag, which is a really nice touch. The hotel has no pool but why would you want to be at a pool when Waikiki beach is only minutes away?Everybody at the hotel was very friendly and helpful! Customer service was excellent.

You will not be disappointed with any aspect of this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors. Definitely worth the little bit extra charged. The higher you are the less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Waikiki Prince
Waikiki Prince
#36 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
Ilima Hotel
#29 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection

Property: The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection
Address: 2299 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2632 (Formerly Waikiki Wave)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps away from Waikiki Beach, shopping and dining A 1960's Hawaiian Modern vibe in a lush garden surrounding. Centrally located in the heart of Waikiki places you just a short walk to the ocean, restaurants, shops, and nightlife. The pool is surrounded by lush greenery, lounge seating and teak accents. Classic cocktails, fresh fruit, a thatched roof, hanging plants, and woven lanterns create a remixed tiki vibe in close proximity to the pool. Memorable service moments, nostalgic details, tropical greenery, and modern comforts make for one-of a kind Hawaiian getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Wave Honolulu
The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing