We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect for those on a budget & want to stay close to the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Wave

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waikiki Wave
Ranked #55 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Lynnwood, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for those on a budget & want to stay close to the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My sister-in-law and I stayed here during our layover(s) to the Philippines. They had great reviews and it was suitable, price-wise, for our wallets! The service was more than welcoming and very helpful. Most especially William! Our shuttle service didn't show up on time and was nearly 30 minutes late. He stayed with us and contacted the shuttle service himself (since we were put on hold for another 20 minutes) until our ride finally came! We haaaaad to book another night here on our way back from the PI, which is exactly what we did!

The location is perfect, too! Located on Kuhio, it's walking distance from most tourist spots: The International Market, Waikiki Beach, one of many ABC stores, The Hula Dog (nom nom nommm!), and across from the Marukame Udon restaurant. Everything you really need is only a few blocks away.

I think the one downfall about this place is that at the time that we were staying there, they were fixing the elevators. So you can imagine that the elevator service was super slow! But in all honesty, that shouldn't stop you from staying here. It's a great place with all the necessary amenities!

Will definitely stay here again during our next visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leilani A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    978
    418
    170
    91
See reviews for
738
840
194
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The staff is very friendly, the location is very good. The rooms were great considering that the hotel is quite cheap if you compare to other hotels on Waikiki.

The hotel does however have two problems right now. They are renovating the elevators so not all of them are working which means that you often have to wait for a very long time to get an elevator, the other problem is a really bad wifi. Having internet access might not be important to everyone, but I'm usually blogging when I'm traveling, and I'm also often looking for places to visit, tips on restaurants etc so I really need a working internet connection. The wifi on Aqua Wave is often very slow, and also completely unavailable at times.

I also stayed a couple of nights at Aqua Surf. The rooms at Aqua Wave is better, and the location is also a bit better. The wifi at Aqua Surf worked better, and they also served breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My friend and I were back at the Aqua Waikiki Wave for 1 week in November this time instead of the usual 2 weeks that we usually do and still had an amazing time. I can not say enough about this hotel or the staff that I have not said before.They are always willing to do whatever it takes to make your stay there as comfortable and memorable as possible. This was my third time back here and it will not be my last time. Being on a higher floor with 2 lanai's is great, the views are unbelivable and you can always see the sun setting over the ocean....it is a beautiful site.
The location of the hotel is excellent, walking distance to the beach, bars and numerous restaurants.

A big ALOHA and MAHALO to George, Wayne, Isaac, Dexter, Jamar, James, Pelle, Kisha, Frank!!!! I look forward to coming back to the Aqua Waikiki Wave!!!

Room Tip: I would always recommend a higher floor, the views are incredible and not alot of noise as some peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flowersvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Has great cheap rates for decent rooms. My friends and I usually go here for hotel parties and what not. It's clean and the rooms and not so big but not no small either. I recommend to anyone looking for a cheap and decent hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayah808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, NB
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Here now and I see why people recommend it. The staff are great and the location is perfect. Clean rooms at reasonable rates...within walking distance to EVERYTHING. The hotel is at full capacity all weekend so that says something....waiting on our suite for Monday :). Come on down to Waikiki and hang loose baby!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NewBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Well you get what you pay for. Staying in Waikiki is generally expensive so $1450 for 9 nights is way down on the average though I was expecting more. Our room is old we are on level 2 viewing the multi level car park next door and comes with complementary ear plugs! There are painted patches on the ceiling, the ac is thick with dust/lint and makes the room smell, not as clean as other places - bed sheet pulled off and there were lots of hairs on the mattress protector, one lift broken for 5 days making for crowded lifts and long wait as we are only on level 2 it is not far down the steps, no pool here location is good though. Enough said

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 720Gordon720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

the hotel is centrally located, although $20 parking a day is considerably pricey. the room is clean, service is good. no breakfast provided but you can easily walk to the nearby International Market Place for some pancakes and there is a bakery next to the hotel too. there was only one elevator that worked when we stayed there, so it took us ages.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank An613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki Prince
#30 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 656 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#37 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,687 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#62 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
#59 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
Ilima Hotel
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 861 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Wave

Property: Waikiki Wave
Address: 2299 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2632 (Formerly Aqua Waikiki Wave)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Wave 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waikiki Wave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Wave Honolulu
Waikiki Wave Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing