We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Super excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Wave

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waikiki Wave
Ranked #55 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

On December 26, 2012 that night was amazing! Customer service at front desk was superb and I was in awe on one of the staff members who truly helped me that time. It was a surprise anniversary gift for my parents and I got an awesome free upgrade. Price very reasonable with parking and very convenient for my parents to stay. It was closer to the place they wanted to be at. (International Market) - Monday Wednesday and Thursdays free hula/aloha dance show/theater. My parents stated that the room was very decent and really spacious! I looked and I totally agreed! Housekeeping was the bomb! :D I love their incentives and modern fashion. It makes it like, feel at home... My parents cried for the surprise and they said it was magnificent. View was fantastic and continental breakfast was delicious as my parents stated. I would love to try book at this hotel very soon! I should of known this hotel before.... Wish I only knew back then, but to top it all, aqua Waikiki wave hotel was number one for me.

Room Tip: Superior deluxe room was amazing. In fact any room is absolutely fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kepelei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    979
    416
    169
    91
See reviews for
736
840
194
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I was in Honolulu on business - have been coming here once per year since 1998. Was really impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel room, the comfort of the 2 double beds and a nice workstation and clean and spacious bathroom. The location was great - 8 min walk to the beach, and many closeby restaurants to choose from, starting next door. The front desk was nice and helpful. The only negative was the elevator - long wait times and I ended up walking the 7 flights to my room rather often, as I did not like waiting.

I will gladly stay here at this hotel again.

Room Tip: ask the front desk which the noisy rooms are - they know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickCamas_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flynn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our stay was really pleasant overall and the staff were just great - notably Michael, Kisha, James and the concierge. They could not have been more polite, friendly or helpful. The hotel is very centrally located near shops, eating places and the beach with plenty of convenience stores, fast food, ATMs and souvenir shops etc nearby. The lifts were pretty slow and bad but are being refurbished. Being so centrally located there is quite a lot of street noise, Air Con fan unit noise from other nearby establishments, sirens and cooking smells that drift up to the rooms. We were there in peak time and the wait for our room was going to be extensive so Micheal on reception offered a very reasonable upgrade of room to help get us sorted - which was appreciated. The concierge lady was very helpful and a mine of information and happily made shuttle and cab bookings to help us get around easily and quickly. We'd happily go back.

Room Tip: Go as high as possible to avoid street noise and smells and also to get reasonable views. Rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our family just got back from an 8-day trip to Hawaii where we stayed at the Waikiki Aqua Wave hotel. My favorite thing about the hotel was the staff; William, James, Keisha and Issac were super friendly, especially considering that our 12 year old refused to use the elevator and the staff had to constantly open the door to the stairwell so that she could make it up the (14 flights) of stairs. But the staff was super cool about it and it really seemed like they enjoyed helping us out.

The hotel is within 2 blocks of the beach in a prime part of Waikiki, which also means it is a pretty busy (but also a very convenient) area. Some previous posts for this hotel complained about the noise, however, this did not bother us. The hotel is immediately next door to the International Market Place, which did have Hawaiian music playing every night. But then again, you don’t stay in the Waikiki area for the serenity. The rooms were very clean and reasonably priced. I would definitely visit this hotel again, especially because the staff were so nice

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coho_fisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed in a suite which are on the corners of the hotel, so you get two balconies. One looked towards the water while the other was towards Ala Moana direction.
The suite had a queen bed in a separate room while the main room had 2queen beds. Spacious room with lots of space for suitcases after shopping till you drop.
At the moment they are completly replacing one lift at a time which takes a few months for each, so it takes a little longer to get up and down as you are using a service lift as the second lift and the lifts work independently.
Staff very friendly, the managers reception afternoon was very nice with a wave cocktail.
Beach towels supplied.
Buses to get anywhere are in the same street so this is really handy as we didn't hire a car but bought monthly bus passes so could jump on off whenever we wanted.
Less than 10 minutes to beach.
Excellent value, why pay more when you only need it to sleep and shower in.
Have stayed twice now and would return there as first choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie_loveabargain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We initially booked a superior waikiki wave room. Due to the rooms being booked out while I was waiting ( a long time!) for the receptionist to understand my emails we were upgraded to a Deluxe Guest room which had two double beds and a balcony with a great view.

We were very happy with the reservation overall, despite the prolonged communications as the hotel agreed to beat an online quote from an external site. Check in was efficient and we were allowed an early check in as we arrived at about 9.30am.

I don't think the location and price of this hotel can be beat. It's right next to International Marketplace, one block inland from the main street and two blocks away from the beach. It's near lots of eating options and opposite a ramen restaurant with huge queues. The majority of stores and restaurants are within 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel (we loved the cheesecake factory). It's even near the Ala Wai canal.

We even managed to walk to diamond head crater (about 1 hour to get there) and the bus stop to Ala Moana, Pearl harbour and Hanauma bay etc is right across the road. The reception has a list of which buses to catch to get to various locations. We rented a car for a day to get around the island and the rental place was only a few blocks away.

The room was very clean and spacious. No problems with the bathroom at all. We had a beautiful view from our balcony and could see out to the water. Bed was comfortable and we slept very well.

The room was about 10 floors above some sort of parking garage meaning that there were loud clanks and whirrs for hours at night and there is a pub/bar downstairs meaning lots of loud "whoo"s were to be heard for hours. The first night I slept with earplugs and the rest of the week I got used to it and slept right through without any ear plugs. No complaints here but if you're a light sleeper it might bother you. Earplugs are provided by the hotel.

Overall we were very happy with this hotel, especially at the price we got. We would definitely come back to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandaOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was in the perfect position for my time in hawaii, only two minute walk to waikiki beach and the most fabulos coconut and almond waffles at the westin moana surfrider.
The only problem with this hotel and most hotels in honolulu or waikiki is the noise.
Earplugs and sleeping tablets are an essential items when booking in and make sure your on the right hand side of the building, as the automated carpark will keep you awake all night.
All that said, i will make this hotel my hotel of choice when next in hawaii, which is real soon i hope.
Also the staff are incrediably helpful. Job well done.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki Prince
#30 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#35 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,671 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#61 of 83 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
#58 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
Ilima Hotel
#24 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#11 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Wave

Property: Waikiki Wave
Address: 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Waikiki Wave)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Wave 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Waikiki Wave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Wave Honolulu
Waikiki Wave Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing