We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location and helpful staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection
Ranked #58 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
MELBOURNE
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location and helpful staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was in the perfect position for my time in hawaii, only two minute walk to waikiki beach and the most fabulos coconut and almond waffles at the westin moana surfrider.
The only problem with this hotel and most hotels in honolulu or waikiki is the noise.
Earplugs and sleeping tablets are an essential items when booking in and make sure your on the right hand side of the building, as the automated carpark will keep you awake all night.
All that said, i will make this hotel my hotel of choice when next in hawaii, which is real soon i hope.
Also the staff are incrediably helpful. Job well done.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    980
    419
    170
    91
See reviews for
739
840
194
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We booked this vacation through Westjet vacations who provided FREE shuttle service to the hotel and airport. The hotel was absolutely GREAT. The staff were very friendly and very accomodating to help you with whatever needs you had. The rooms are very spacious room, clean and the hotel is in a GREAT location. The beach is in walking distance with many great restauants and shopping close by. As we didn't rent a car this was perfect. Should we go back we will stay at this hotel again. Thanks Darryl and staff for a great vacation and awesome weather!
Sylvia and Mel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfgirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great location, amazing staff! All the guys on front desk, bell desk & the beautiful, ever smiling,hard working & kind Terry from house keeping.
Can def be alot of noise from bars etc but guess that's what u get being in the heart of Waikiki.
Great location,bus/taxis always easy to get.ABC store right next door & 1 min walk to Ross Dress for Less!
Always feel at home , beds so comfie, feel safe walking around the area, even with the colourful crowd!
Will be back Aloha

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crammm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our room was as advertised and it was clean everyday. The staff was very nice and helpful. Michael at the front desk was helpful as was George. The room was great. The beds were very comfortable to us. We slept very well even if there was noise. The hotel does provide ear plugs. The hotel is close to a lot of eating places, the food court, etc. I would definitely come back to this hotel and recommend it to friends and family. The only two things that happened that might have delayed some people were that the elevators are being worked on so only two elevators work and are kind of slow; also you need to get to the parking garage early if you want to park in there.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor away from the street and garage. They do provide ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zombie666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Wave. Although, as mentioned the lift was being serviced at the time, so there was a little wait for the lift. Apart from that the location is perfect, close to bars, shopping bus stops and the beach. We travelled as a group of six so had 3 rooms all on the same floor. Staff very helpful and friendly. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraM924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel is a little dated but does the job for a good price. The staff, specifically Iassac and Dexter are GREAT!!
Just to be fair, my review is a bit tainted by a terrible experience on my first night. Our room was directly across from the garage. Some kids were fighting there for what seemed to be an hour to two, cursing, yelling, screaming, and choking each other. I'm not a light sleeper but this kept me up and disturbed, at best. However, Iassac was VERY accomodating. He upgraded us the next day to a higher floor and even had our bags moved. This really helped me enjoy the rest of our trip.
I'd also like to single out Dexter. We rented a car and he suggested some places that we should visit. He was always very friendly and accomodating.

Other then the amazing staff, the hotel is just ok. The location is close to eveything but I would have preferred to be right across the street from the beach (like the Aqua Surf Hotel). The garage and alley behnid this hotel really turned me off.

Hotel gets 3 stars, staff gets 5!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyNY928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patterson, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel had everything we needed, a great bar next door, International Market Place right there, so many stores very close by and a very close walk to the beach! The ONLY negative comment would be that the elevators were VERY slow, they are working on them, also our veiw of a arking garage was not pretty but we were gone most of the day anyway and at night you didnt pay attention to them. I have read many comments about the noise from outside disturbing peoples sleep, I have to say in our 5 nights there not once did we find this a problem, we slept just fine. The staff is very friendly. Overall we truly enjoyed our stay and loved that our room had a great belcony! Yes we would go back, great rates and nice stay!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaD03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Prince
Waikiki Prince
#33 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ilima Hotel
#29 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection

Property: The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection
Address: 2299 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2632 (Formerly Waikiki Wave)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Wave Honolulu
The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing