We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A really nice 3 star hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Waikiki Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A really nice 3 star hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I just spent 10 nights at this charming hotel.
We had a big room on the 10th floor. Beautifull view of the mountains and canal and if I craned my neck a bit standing on the balcony I could even see a glimpse of the ocean. The bed was comfortable and we used the practical little kitchenette. They also have free Wifi wich always is a big plus for me.
The only bad thing I have to say about the room is that hotel still has the old fashioned jalousie windows that are not very good a blocking out noise. It was very windy and the wind was able to run through the closed window panes and make a lot of noise that what, traffic noise was also quite loud even though we where on the 10th floor.
The breakfast was horrible in our opinion, and there where nowhere for us to sit and eat it the first day we came down. After that we decided to simply skip eating it and opted for buying breakfast at Starbucks or shopping fruit and yoghurt at a supermarket instead.
This hotel is a couple of blocks from the beach, and the pool area is tiny, so if you are planning to spend all your time by the pool or on Waikiki this hotel is not for you.
If however, you are more of an explorer like me, the hotel is really good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinnieLyngkaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that your room was to your liking and helped you to enjoy the tropical beauty of Hawaii. Being that we are centrally located, it is a convenient walk to the beach, shops and restaurants nearby.

We are sorry to hear that the complimentary continental breakfast was not to your liking. This was an amenity of our prior brand and we are currently in the process of phasing it out and focusing on other amenities to better satisfy our Joie de Vivre guests. All of our rooms contain mini-fridges that sure do come in handy when you need a place to store your store bought items.

Mahalo again for your response,

Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    907
    213
    46
    19
See reviews for
495
1,163
190
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here at the Coconut Waikiki Hotel on route to Australia. We really enjoyed the hotel, and being just off the main strip was great, as it was quieter than other places I have stayed at in Waikiki previously. The pool was a little on the small side, but still refreshing! Food was quite good and service up to the usual Joie de Vivre standards. We have stayed at other hotels by the group in San Francisco and San Diego previously.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Coconut Waikiki Hotel. We appreciate your kind words and are very happy you really enjoyed the hotel. We agree our hotel is a bit more off the main strip and, as you've noted, we enjoy a bit more relaxed atmosphere! We've thrilled we lived up to the standards Joie De Vivre is known for.

Mahalo once again for your kind review and we hope you enjoyed your time both in Hawaii and Australia!

Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A number of years ago we stayed in a Joie de Vivre Hotel in San Francisco and had one of our most enjoyable stays at a hotel from quality of service to amenities. So even though we used air mile points to stay here for 2 nights enroute to other islands, we were happy to hear that the hotel is now a Joie de Vivre Hotel. But....either San Franscisico was way too good or this one was way too average. We arrived at around 12:30 to a front desk staff who could have been a bit more friendly but no big deal. We were given, which we found out after afterwards an upgrade to a room which was large, had two bathrooms and two small balconies overlooking the canal on an angle and one side of an apartment?hotel? across the street. The room was clean and bed was comfy. Street noise was expected. The first morning when we arrived for breakfast, we only saw cereal, toast and fruit. We then chose to go out for breakfast. The second morning we had already decided to go out and saw people eating hard boiled eggs with their toast. As previous reviewers have mentioned, this hotel so needs to improve their breakfast offerings and am quite surprised that the manager continues to respond to these comments with no evidence of change. Personally if we were going to stay in Waikiki and, not as a stop over, we would choose to stay at a hotel on the beach. Having said this, the hotel is an easy walk to the main streets and beach for those who want to save their money as hotels in Waikiki are expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Breezey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Aloha Breezy,

Thank you for your honest feedback from your recent stay at Coconut Waikiki Hotel! It is disappointing to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and will share your feedback with our management so that we may explore ways to enhance our offerings. I truly do apologize that our breakfast options have not improved nor met your expectations. I will continue to find different ways to enhance the item options for our continental breakfast. Thank you again for your review and comments. If you have any additional feedback in regards to your stay I would welcome to hear it. We do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Mahalo,

Sean Gabriel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northcarolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here as a stopover. The staff were very friendly. The continental breakfast was good and included. They gave us beach towels to us on the beach which was an easy 4 block walk. The pool was extremely small so you are not able to lounge about for a suntan as sun is blocked most areas. They have great computer service free. They have a very small workout room but we got our exercise walking. The room is very small but adequate for what we needed and for the price (got a great rate through Orbitz special). The room has a refrigerator, coffee, sink and few dishes so these were pluses. The negative was that the room was not very cool. The positioning of the air conditioning kept the person sleeping next to it cold and the person on the second bed not so cool. Just never could get the room cool.

Room Tip: Booked executive suite which had pull out sofa for stay going to our destination and had regular dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vachunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Aloha vachunter,

Sunny greetings from entire team at the Coconut Waikiki Hotel! We appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful feedback in-regards to your stay with us as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest.

We are delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay and it is wonderful to hear that our team were friendly, nice and helpful hence were able to exceed your expectations during your short stay with us.

vachunter, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Coconut Waikiki Hotel for your next holiday and we thank you once again.

Mahalo,

Sean Gabriel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I've stayed in many Waikiki hotels and so far, this one was the best for service, cleanliness, value and comfort. I was there for six nights so I encountered many of the employees. All were happy, friendly and very willing to help. The location in Waikiki is close to everything but away from the craziness of the Intl Marketplace area. My airport shuttle service messed up on my departure pick up and the front desk employees kept making calls on my behalf so I could make my flight home on time. This hotel is not like the mega huge Waikiki hotels where you're treated like a number. This place is worth a visit.

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms have beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chnalvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Aloha chnalvr,

Sunny greetings from entire team at the Coconut Waikiki Hotel! We appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful feedback in-regards to your stay with us as we are always pleased to receive feedback from our valued guest.

We are delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay and it is wonderful to hear that our team were friendly, nice and helpful hence were able to exceed your expectations during your short stay with us.

chnalvr, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Coconut Waikiki Hotel for your next holiday and we thank you once again.

Mahalo,

Sean Gabriel

Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I thought this property offered charm, convenience and class. Loved all the appointments in the room and thought it was beautiful. I was sad I was there for business and only had one night in this lovely property, but will definitely return as it has now become my number one choice when on Oahu. The staff was also wonderful to interact with - friendly and inviting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MHorner808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Aloha MHorner808,

Warm and lovely greetings from the entire team at the Coconut Waikiki Hotel!

Thank you for your high praise indeed of the facilities and it is great to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one. We are pleased to hear that your time spent in residence with us was up to your expectations and making your holiday a perfect and memorable one for you.

The entire team of the Coconut Waikiki Hotel is looking forward to welcoming you back to our resort soon.


Mahalo,

Sean Gabriel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,667 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,124 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#15 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Waikiki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Waikiki Hotel

Property: Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Address: 450 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coconut Waikiki Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coconut Waikiki Hotel is a refreshing blend of high-tech and mod design, our colorful Art Deco hotel offers a peaceful and playful vibe one block from shopping and only three block from Waikiki Beach. The hotel features a delightfully hip lobby and the following complimentary amenities: WiFi access in-room and throughout hotel, daily local newspaper, local & toll-free calls, 40" or 42" LCD TV's, wet bar, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and safe. A small, intimate pool area with wrap around deck and fitness center are available to all guests. Free continental breakfast is available for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Otel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Coconut Waikiki Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
Best Western Coconut Waikiki
Aqua Coconut Plaza
Coconut Waikiki Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing