We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Waikiki Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Clean, close and reasonably priced, this hotel is frequented by people on to other destinations. The buffet breakfast, free WiFi and onsite (pay) laundry add value. A perfectly nice hotel not far from the action of Waikiki.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the mountain view upgrade, in fact avoid it -- mountain view rooms are on a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnandDeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Aloha Act Two,

Sunny greetings from the Coconut Waikiki Hotel! We thank you for choosing us while on Oahu.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay here and that we did have offerings that added value to your overall experience, thus; we were able to meet up with your expectation.

We thank you once again for your feedback, and certainly the entire team is looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.


Mahalo,

Sean Gabriel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,144
    970
    225
    54
    22
See reviews for
524
1,251
201
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have just returned after a week stay here. We were happy with the view over the canal towards the mountain.
As the trip was our "Baby'moon (our last trip before having our 1st child) we were happy to be a close enough walk to everything in Waikiki but also far enough away to have a quiet nights sleep.
As we only tend to use our room for sleeping at night and napping the huge King Size(?) was great.
You will either love or hate the colour combination of the hotel personally I liked it and thought it set a holiday vibe.
Staff here were so friendly and only too willing to help out with any requests, having a tour desk located in the hotel meant we could plan our week without leaving the Hotel.
If you're looking for a Beachside penthouse you shouldn't stay here but if you're after a modest home base with friendly staff then I reccommend it.

Being on Floor 9 we did notice that when it got windy the windows rattled as others have said but it was no issue for us. the in room WIFI isnt the highest speed however it did well for what we needed.

Room Tip: Being within close proximity to restaurants don't worry about there being no onsite kitchen for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyCX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Aloha AnthonyCX,

A very warm and lovely greeting from the entire team of the Coconut Waikiki Hotel! We are delighted to receive your beautiful feedback in-regards to your stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to read beautiful feedback from our valued guests, thus; we are glad that we met with your expectation during your stay. Indeed, our friendly staff was part of your “Baby’moon” and turning it into a memorable experience. We are delighted to hear that you took a personal liking to our color combination.

AnthonyCX, once again I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your beautiful feedback, hence; choosing us the Coconut Waikiki for your holiday escape. The entire team is definitely looking forward to welcoming you back to the Waikiki very soon once again.

Mahalo,

Sean Gabriel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, BC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel suited my needs well enough. It was located within walking distance to pretty much everything in Waikiki, the room was nice enough, and the staff was accommodating. I only gave it four stars because everything felt a bit dated, and it was a tad pricey.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigTim78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Aloha BigTim78,

A very warm greeting from the entire team of the Coconut Waikiki Hotel!! We thank you for providing us your feedback on your recent stay. While we never want to hear that someone’s stay is less than perfect, we always appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests on what we can do to improve our services.

BigTim78, once again my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that we were not able to exceed your expectations and we hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.

Mahalo,

Sean Gabriel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Hi, Stayed at this hotel in October/November 2012 over Halloween. We picked this hotel after checking out tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. The main reason for our trip was to celebrate my 50th birthday " HAWAII 5 0 " get it?. We were picked up at the airport by town car and taken to the front door of the hotel. Our room wasnt ready,but the very nice receptionist took our luggage and put it safely in a locked room and told us to come back in a hour, no problem.The hotel is on Lewers st , so we decided to walk down to see Waikiki beach for the first time, we turned right outside the hotel and walked down the street passing restaurants and bars on the way. Crossed the main street which is lined with highstreet shops , quick look in these, slightly longer in the jewelry stores. At the end of Lewers follow a path to beach and there it is the Pacific ocean and Waikiki beach.Our room was a king size and very well appointed. It had a small kitchen with fridge. Table. The bathroom was small but had everything needed and very clean.The king size bed was very comfortable and the pillows were terrific. The air conditioner was struggling at times to keep the room cool. The view wasnt great opposite a block of flats but you could look down Lewers st.All in a very comfortable and clean room. Maid service was done every morning when we went out. Breakfast was included. Make your own waffles ,fantastic. Sausages and egg in hot plate. assorted pastries and cereals. Orange and other beverages, syrup on table. We loved the breakfast. Limited tables if you hit a busy time, could sit outside at tables, but sometimes it was raining and seat cushions were wet. Use complimentary newspaper to sit on.The morning staff refilled the waffle mixture and the fresh pineapple quite regular.Set you up for the mornings shopping. The shops are just 2 mins down the street. From Prada to tacky holiday momentos. The ABC stores are everywhere and sell most things you could possibly need.There is one 2 blocks down , very handy for coca cola and bud for fridge.We hired a car, well a Camaro sports convertable 5 Litre muscle car AWESOME MACHINE in burnt orange colour, well the hotel is valet parking only and cost $25 a day but worth it. You just drive up to the door and the wee guy comes out and takes your keys and parks your car in the garage under the hotel. when you want it again just ask the very nice people at reception , and then you here it screeching out the garage to the door for you, very cool ,definitely Hawaii 50.!! The hotel doesnt have a restaurant . On Lewers st there are lots of places to eat, Chinese, Indonesian and American(Mcgullycuddys hot chicken wings are to die for!!) all 2 mins away and no need to book, just walk in. Other places are the Cheesecake Factory , Dukes Steakhouse which we loved. We were there over Halloween, the whole population turned out in costume, the streets were barriered off and traffic managed by Police.Very very busy but great fun to see all the different people ,highly reccomend this time to visit. Would tell everybody to go to this hotel. hope to get back in 2015.
Robert & Tracy.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robertdougall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Aloha robertdougall,


A very warm and lovely greeting from the entire team of the Coconut Waikiki Hotel! We are delighted to receive your beautiful feedback in-regards to your stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to read beautiful feedback from our valued guests, thus; we are glad that we met with your expectation during your stay. Indeed, Halloween in Waikiki is great and our attentive staff was a part of your holiday and turning it into a memorable experience. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 50th birthday with us.

robertdougall, once again I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your beautiful feedback, hence; choosing us the Coconut Waikiki for your holiday escape. The entire team is definitely looking forward to welcoming you back to the Waikiki very soon once again.

Mahalo,

Sean Gabriel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel is october 2012, The hotel is great in a great location and right in the action but far enough away from the action if you want to chill.

I booked a standard room and requested a corner room and im glad i did. The balcony was huge and as it was a corner room i got 2 views.

The rooms are great, clean, modern and have a small kitchenette which is helpful.

Breakfast is great...... Alot of choice and plenty available.

The pool is small and shaded but i didnt go to honolulu for the pool so that didnt matter.

They also offer free beach towel rental which is great so you dont have to take your own towel.

around a 10 minute walk to the beach but only 2-3 minute walk to the action.

Great hotel and very resonable i paid £80 per night for 2 including breakfast

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Aloha ladream,

Warm greetings from the entire team of Coconut Waikiki Hotel! We thank you for choosing to spend your vacation with us.

It is great to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one. We are glad to hear the time that you spent in residence with us met your expectations and that the location was convenient for you to enjoy Waikiki and other awesome nearby beaches to experience.

The entire team of the Coconut Waikiki Hotel is looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Mahalo,

Sean Gabriel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for convenience for my business trip. Great welcome at the check in and Sean the manager had champagne and chocolates waiting in our room. Room was nice with a wet bar, small fridge and microwave. Laini faced the canal and is close to all sorts of restaurants, shopping and not far from the beach. The room was nice and the bed comfortable. You can even print boarding passes, etc for free and send faxes for free too. The down side was to have power in your room, you need to leave a key card in a slot by the door and parking is $26 a night. Ouch. You have to valet park.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Aloha Katie M,

A very warm and lovely greeting from the entire team of the Coconut Waikiki Hotel! We are delighted to receive your beautiful feedback in-regards to your stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to read constructive feedback from our valued guests, thus; we are glad that you were conveniently located near shopping and restaurants to spend time during your business trip and we were able to print your boarding passes and send faxes for free.

While we acknowledge the positive feedback, we would also like to thank you for your view in-regards to having to power you room by using your room key.

Katie M, once again I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your beautiful feedback, hence; choosing us the Coconut Waikiki for your business trip. The entire team is definitely looking forward to welcoming you back to the Waikiki very soon once again.


Mahalo,

Sean Gabriel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

A very comfortable hotel. Walking distance to Waikiki centre and beach, and much cheaper than those on the beach. Staff are very helpful with early check-in and change/shower after check-out. The lounge and swimming pool area could be jazzed up to provide a more social atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aussievoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Aloha aussievoyageur,

A very warm and lovely greeting from the entire team of the Coconut Waikiki Hotel! We are delighted to receive your beautiful feedback in-regards to your stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to read beautiful feedback from our valued guests, thus; we are glad that we met with your expectations during your stay. Indeed, our staff was very helpful in which was part of making your holiday a memorable one.

While we acknowledge the positive feedback, we would also like to thank you for your view in-regards to the lounge and swimming pool areas that need to be improved.

aussievoyageur, once again I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your beautiful feedback, hence; choosing us the Coconut Waikiki for your holiday escape. The entire team is definitely looking forward to welcoming you back to the Waikiki very soon once again.

Mahalo,

Sean Gabriel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#17 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Waikiki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Waikiki Hotel

Property: Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Address: 450 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coconut Waikiki Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coconut Waikiki Hotel is a comfortable blend of warmth and simplistic design, our hotel offers a peaceful and playful vibe one block from shopping and only three block from Waikiki Beach. The hotel features a delightfully warm lobby and the following complimentary amenities: Continental Breakfast WiFi access in-room and throughout hotel, daily local newspaper, local & toll-free calls, 40" or 42" LCD TV's, wet bar, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and safe. A small, intimate pool area with wrap around deck and fitness center are available to all guests. Free continental breakfast is available for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Coconut Waikiki Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
Best Western Coconut Waikiki
Aqua Coconut Plaza
Coconut Waikiki Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing