We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Waikiki Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct and Save 15%
Ranked #22 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria,BC CANADA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel is on the canal. The rooms in the rear are quiet while the rooms in the front have great views. We stayed for 2 days before a cruise in the former and for 2 days after a cruise in the latter. We perfer the views and just wore ear plugs. Best thing about this hotel is you are out of the crazy beachfront but within 10-minute walking distance of it. Also, breakfast and free internet make it more welcoming. Each room has a kitchenette which help keep costs down for snacks, drinks etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franklin06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Aloha Franklin06,

Sunny greetings from the entire team of Coconut Waikiki Hotel! We thank you for choosing to stay with us before and after your cruise. We sure hope that you enjoyed your cruise of the Hawaiian Islands.

It is great to hear that your stay was a good one. Indeed we are glad that you found our location and amenities accommodating. We are always thankful to receive constructive feedback on how their experience while here at Coconut Waikiki went.

The entire team of the Coconut Waikiki is looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Sean Gabriel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,068
    885
    206
    45
    18
See reviews for
476
1,145
187
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel, with a great continental breakfeast, you can even make your own waffles, which I have not seen before.
Free coffee, pineapple tea and cucumber water available throughout the day.
Room was good with a queen size bed, nice kitchenette if you wanted to microwave or make a coffee.
Only negatives I could think of the wifi was slow at some points, but they did have free computers in the lobby which worked quickly.
Free towels for beach use and they did have a pool we did not use. It always seemed to be windy around the hotel due to the canal, but as soon as you walked to the beach it was hot and calm.

Would reccomend the hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickpresti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here for five nights for Thanksgiving 2012. The hotel is clean and the hotel staff was helpful and friendly. The breakfast area is right in the lobby and was kept clean throughout the morning. Their is a sign in the breakfast area that says something like "All food must be consumed in the breakfast area", which made me feel like I was going to get in trouble for taking breakfast up to my room each morning.

Each floor has 10 rooms and the hotel has 10 floors. The _05 rooms have a view over the canal. From the hotel floor plan, it looks like the _08 rooms are the largest. There are steps from the 10th floor that go to the penthouse, which I didn't see bookable online.

The location is about as far away as you can get from the beach within Waikiki, but that also means it's away from the crowds. It's a short walk to the beach and several restaurants. We will definitely consider this hotel for our next (8th) trip to Waikiki.

Room Tip: There is a shuttle service in the hotel just down the street (towards the beach) that offered a ride...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife, 5 year old son and I stayed here for 4 nights in November and we were very pleased and we really don’t have anything negative to say. Here are the positive points:
- The staff were really friendly and helpful, even before our arrival with their prompt answers to a few emails.
- The room was great and included a “mini kitchen” area, ie sink, cupboard, microwave and fridge).
- The valet parking (only option available) was quick and efficient.
- The continental breakfast exceeded our expectations. We only expected muffins, juice and coffee but they also had waffle makers, cereals, eggs, sausages and pastries! That or perhaps I underestimate what a continental breakfast includes.
- The wifi worked very well and the hotel also provides free access to four computers connected to a printer in the lobby, so you can check in online and print up your boarding passes (assuming you don’t do this with your smart phone)
- The building, lobby, rooms, etc are up to date and have that “boutique” hotel look and feel to it.
- The concierge is very helpful and can book a number of different items for you.

There is also a pool but we never tried it as we were out all of the time during the day.

Location wise is pretty good too, only needing a 5 to 10 minute walk to Waikiki Beach, along with all its stores and restaurants.

We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoreVacations:)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in November 2012. It was just my husband and I in the standard room with a king bed and the room seemed so tiny. It was nice having a fridge in the room, but the pictures of rooms I had seen didn't show how cramped they were. Maybe our room was just a smaller one, but we would pay more to stay somewhere else. It was nice to have a free breakfast, but I have had better continental breakfasts when staying in other hotels. A good thing was that the staff was pretty nice, but it did take them a while to help us when all we wanted them to do was call us a cab for the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loves_Beaches_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

During our last trip to Waikiki, we stayed at a few different places. We stayed here because I wanted to use up our frequent flyer points. Would have been better to just paid because it took all our points. Anyway we stayed 4 night and only paid for one (cash). Whoever decorated this hotel sure had an imagination, loved the colours and patterns. Rooms are comfortable with large bed, little kitchette, nice seating area, balcony, and a tiny bathroom. Felt good to hang around. Rooms are attended to daily & even though we asked for a complete cleaning daily, only the bare essentials were done - clean towels, coffee packets, and the bed was made. Cleaning could have been more thorough. WiFi in room worked perfectly & there is free computer use in lobby. Morning breakfast was great but sometimes ran out of sausage which upset my husband. Location is nice & area is fairly quiet however, for me, too far from the beach. My husband did walk to the golf course so he was happy. Front desk staff are great and they even give you a towel that you can take to the beach. Pool clean just a little too cool. For the most part our time here was pleasant and we were happy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#8 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,586 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#21 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#11 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,107 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#20 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,281 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#16 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Waikiki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Waikiki Hotel

Property: Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Address: 450 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coconut Waikiki Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coconut Waikiki Hotel is a refreshing blend of high-tech and mod design, our colorful Art Deco hotel offers a peaceful and playful vibe one block from shopping and only three block from Waikiki Beach. The hotel features a delightfully hip lobby and the following complimentary amenities: WiFi access in-room and throughout hotel, daily local newspaper, local & toll-free calls, 40" or 42" LCD TV's, wet bar, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and safe. A small, intimate pool area with wrap around deck and fitness center are available to all guests. Free continental breakfast is available for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Coconut Waikiki Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
Best Western Coconut Waikiki
Aqua Coconut Plaza
Coconut Waikiki Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing