We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrigger Waikiki Shore Unit 906”
Review of Waikiki Shore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waikiki Shore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I found this rental through Orbitz. We were looking for a one bedroom unit with a kitchen, washer and dryer and good access to Waikiki. Unit 906 was a great rental find. We paid $289.00 a night for 7 nights. It was clean with plenty of space for our family of four. The kids said the pull out was not very comfortable. We did not cook dinner, but found plenty of utensils and dishes to be able to. It was a great place to make a quick breakfast and get out the door for the day. We could pop in off the beach and make a quick lunch. They came and serviced our unit two times with fresh towels and linens. An added bonus is that You can use the pool next door at the Outrigger Reef. It is a lovely, relaxed pool with pool service and clean restrooms. They have live music and Happy Hour every night too! We did not rent a car and found it very easy to call down to The Outrigger for a cab. The few days we did need a car, we found most dependable place through the Hilton Hotel. We retuned the car at night before 9pm to avoid the overnight parking fee. If you want a more upscale location look next door at The Trump Tower. I posted photos for you to see the unit. Click the photo tab to find.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 709 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

I wish I had of read these reviews before booking to stay here. There were five in our party and we arrived to an unclean apartment. One of the towels was stained and dirty and the tiles were cracked. The curtains wouldnt shut properly. The pull out bed from the sofa was sloping and the mattress was old and thin causing you I feel every spring! We raised all this with management and all they could do was provide a rollaway bed. They did fix doors that wouldn't shut and curtains. But their attitude to the problems were very poor and they did not seem concerned we weren't happy. The only good thing is the view and location.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Heathlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The only thing good i can say about this hotel, is that the view is amazing. The quality of this condo, is nothing, like what is shown in the pictures. I even called to request one of the nicer rooms a year in advance, and when the date came, they did not accomodate my wishes. The rooms were dated, and needless to say not at all what I expected. (rooms 506 & 1106) You don't feel like part of all of the excitement going on around you as there are no amenties, and the staff aren't very pleasant, it's a hit a miss. I guess it depends on the day they're having. I would not stay at this condo again. You do feel like the step child staying at this condo/hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patrice208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAhlo, General Manager at Waikiki Shore, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. It's only through your feedback can we improve. I will review with staff your comments and find out why they did not move you. If there are units available that fit your reservation we should move you. Our goal is to make the guests' stay as pleasant as possible. Waikiki Shore is a wonderful location with great views and in close proximity to shops and restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Right on the beach , with a private gate accessing the promenade and beach . Chose this location as we had family staying at the Hale Koa next door , hadn't been here previously but decided to try it out .
Had a privately owned and managed condo with a " Garden View " on the second floor , it was dated , with a small bed but it did have a partial Ocean View . It came equipped with all kinds of beach stuff .... snorkels , boogie boards , towels , mats and a beach umbrella .
Unfortunately it is right next door to another facility and staff are pushing around laundry carts and yelling back and forth all night long . This was remedied on the second night by earplugs .
Planning a return trip next year on a higher floor to obtain a better view

Room Tip: There are multiple Agencies renting Condos in this building apparently some better than others. A ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobEugeneOr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were looking for a condo-like hotel right on Waikiki and Waikiki Shore was perfect for our family of four. We made our reservations several months in advance so we could take advantage of special deals. All the rooms have the same beautiful view looking away from Diamond Head. The rooms are spacious with full kitchens and washer and dryer, towels for the beach are provided. The rooms have a little patio with table and chairs. There is no pool, but we didn't want one with the beach right there. There are many shops and restaurants to walk to. ABC Stores sell great take out meals that we took back to our room several evenings after a full day, and enjoyed the view and warm breezes from our patio. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable though this is not like a big fancy hotel, we did notice a few places that needed paint touch up etc. Some of the condos are lived in. Security is great. The pictures shown are from our 7th floor room. For several nights we stayed in the 15th floor corner penthouse which was amazing with glass on two walls so we also had views looking back at the city. We would go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuneauGraber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAhlo, General Manager at Waikiki Shore, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We are a fully furnished condominium with washer/dryers in each unit. The views are fabulous facing west towards Fort DeRussy. Most important we are a beach front location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great location and view but... Rooms 1215 and 1415 are terribly dated. If booking through Outrigger Reef be prepared to have 0 customer service from Waikiki Shore-it will leave you feeling like an unwanted child. If you are a light sleeper the street noise will keep you awake all night. The condo rules will leave you wondering why you booked here. The king size bed is actually two twins slid together so you may just slide through the crack if you know what I mean.

Room Tip: Go down the beach toward the "lagoon" hotel if you are a first timer and really want the W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omg4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAhlo, General Manager at Waikiki Shore, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Aloha
I wanted to clarify that this showed up on the Castle Waikiki Shore report but it's not a Castle managed hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Usually stay here when in Oahu. Location is great for me, can access beach right from the hotel and roam Waikiki from the other end of it. Every room has a view and it is great to wake up to this one. Condos are equipped with everything one needs, however with all the great places to eat near by, the kitchen was hardly used. One of the rare locations where you can open a window and not be exposed to A/C sounds from restaurants. You "only" get the normal city noises.

Room Tip: As of 11th floor, you have a view to Diamond Head from the door of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorenzoanello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAhlo, General Manager at Waikiki Shore, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your comments.
We appreciate your recommendation and acknowledging that we are equipped with everything one needs. We are located next to some fine restaurants and shops.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,126 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Shore

Address: 2161 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range: $193 - $744 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waikiki Shore is the only beachfront condominium on Waikiki Beach, located amid the famed restaurants and upscale boutiques of Waikiki Beach Walk. Studios, one- and two-bedroom suites are equipped with kitchens and in-room washers and dryers and have stunning views of the ocean, park, and weekly fireworks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Waikiki Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Shore Hotel Honolulu
Castle Waikiki Shore
Waikiki Shore Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing