We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Waikiki has sure changed!!”
Review of Waikiki Shore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waikiki Shore
Certificate of Excellence
Allyn, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wow! Waikiki has sure changed!!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

It has been a long time since I have been to Waikiki. There is so much to do and see on the "Strip". Hotels have sprung up all over. With that said, the Waikiki Shore is a great place to stay. I like that it was on the ocean (not many are these days) and next to a park so you didn't have to look at another hotel. We stayed in an ocean view studio. The kitchenette was great to have. Starbucks was right next door at the Outrigger Reef. We were walking distance to everything. I would definitely come back to this location,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAhlo, General Manager at Waikiki Shore, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Aloha and E Komo Mai ,
Welcome back to Waikiki.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
You are correct. Waikiki Shore is a beachfront location and within walking distance of shops and restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    264
    77
    40
    28
See reviews for
300
199
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Wow .... great place to stay. Steps from the beach,close to restaurants and great shopping.A little dated but well maintained. Wifi was a little weak but was good enough for what we needed to do. Would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigc15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAhlo, General Manager at Waikiki Shore, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.
We look forward to your return.
Waikiki Shore is a great place to stay - beachfront and centrally located..
All of our units have now wireless routers for your use.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed January 2013. First we were supposed to have a beachfront unit but when we got there none available so we had 3rd floor at the back ! Traffic noise almost impossible to shut out - slept with earplugs. There is no doubt the location is great and even from the back the views were good (especially the sunsets) but the building is like your aging Great Aunt - once beautiful and the life of the party but now the years have told and she is a bit creaky with too much cracking makeup. A number of things didn't work to start with (lights, microwave) and some broke mid-stay (hairdryer) - the handle fell off the shower screen door. Five of us couldn't fit around the table. Ok - there are other more expensive places on Waikiki beach (and it is right on the beach) and this isn't stratospherically expensive so if you can put up with things like this its probably worth it.

Room Tip: High and beach end would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brissie3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was there on a 15 night vacation from Dec 21 - till Jan 4th with my husband and my two teens (on my 20th anniversary). I knew that staying here would cost us $3600.00 and for me that is a lot of money....I could have bought my son a car for that!! I booked this "once in a lifetime" family trip almost a year prior with ONLY ONE special request. Just one. I asked that since it's our first and most likely ONLY time we will EVER be able to afford to come to Hawaii (knowing that for what I was paying I could only end up in a room only on the 2nd, 3rd, 4th floors) I asked could I PLEASE - out of those 3 whole floors - be on the highest floor and closest to the beach?? Pretty please. They said "we will put it in your file." I called a few times out of excitement to check to see if they really cared and made this arrangement for us. Nobody would tell me. Finally two days before and also the day before, I called they wouldn't tell me anything!! So I finally get to Hawaii and Im at the lobby and Issac tells me that I was black listed for calling so much and therefore the staff put me on the 2nd floor as FAR away from the beach as possible...by the road. Room 216. Nice eh? I broke down crying in their lobby on my very first day in paradise. So if you are looking for great staff - this is NOT your place. I will never forget this day and how they made me feel, and the fact that my kids had to watch their Mother cry knowing how much this trip meant to us. So I guess after Issac saw me cry he miraculouly found a new room 205 closer to the water and I suppose he figures he made it all better. But it wasn't better, this was mean, and I'll always remember this terrible moment. Anyway, this room ended up with a view that was good, the door stuck and the beds suck, and the maid bangs on your door at 8:30am most mornings and never cleans the place. But we loved the location and the beach was within view and not bad after the crap they put me through....so i acted like I was thrilled and even tipped Issac 20 bucks the next day so the staff would think I was greatful and treat my family with respect. I loved the rest of Hawaii and the awesome people and locals were amazing and I just loved everything we did. The Maitai Catermeran was awesome - those guys rule!! Learning to surf near Dukes is fantastic. Hiking Diamond Head and Manoa Falls is a must do! Cage Diving with sharks on the North Shore is unforgetable! Polynesian show is worth every penny! Watching the surfers do the pipeline on Sunset Beach was awesome! Finally, I need to mention to the lifeguard who was working on Dec 23rd at 4:40pm and saved my daughters life at Makapu'u - you are my true hero and what you do for a living floors me - if ANYONE can find out who this is for me I will be very greatful. Every day I thnk about that lifeguard and kick myself because I feel that he wasn't thanked properly. Aloha and I pray that this message will help the Waikiki Shores Condo improve so that nobody gets that kind of treatment ever again! Mahalo!

Room Tip: Dont mess with the front desk people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank SonjaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a building of individually owned units that is probably about 30 years old. Our unit was a large 2 bed 2 bath room unit that was probably renovated about 10 years ago.umit 502. It's not a flashy unit but very conform able with everything you need but looks a little tired. We stay with my wife and 3 older children for 5 nights and it was good enough. The beauty of this block is that it's extremely well located and it represents very good value for money. It has no pool and no restaurant but who needs them. Definitely not a resort but you won't do better for the money

Room Tip: The second bedroom is more a closable lanai then a totally separate room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kangaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The property attracted me due to its close proximity to the beach and good view of Fridays' Hilton's firework.

Besides that I was quite apprehensive of the property due to some mixed reviews and the condition of the property. But I have not regretted my choice.

The property though dated, is very well maintained, clean and furniture though dated, but in good condition. The only complain is the noise of the airconditioner.

We had a one bedroom ocean view apt at PH level (Penthouse level), though the name but the unit is not a Penthouse per se. It is a very functional apartment and brightly litted. It is very convenient to have the washing machine and dryer, which are in good working condition as we had travelled from San Francisco and after Honolulu onward to Las Vegas and LA. It is a good stop to get our laundry done.

The view is awesome and the kitchen well equipped. We have booked through Castle and therefore we had good service from the reception. We are so pleased with our stay that we recommended my sister to change her reservation from Embassy Suite across the road to this property and she loved the size of the apartment and the washer and dryer. Embassy Suite is nice but the one bedroom suite is rather small compared to this and there is no washing facility, it is just a nice hotel.

We had a good stay and would like to compliment the 3 reception staff, Isaac, a lady (on duty on 18 November and another fair complexion gentlement on duty on the evening abt 6.30pm of 19 November (sorry both, did not get your names) for such good service offered.

Room Tip: Choose high floor and ocean view, it is worth every penny spent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sf123_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
268 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed on the 6th floor ocean front 2 bedroom apartment, the views from our huge balcony overlooking Waikiki beach were awesome. Apartment was roomy. We had maid service daily which was great. We also had balconies for each of the bedrooms. Loved the idea of being at the end of the strip as we were next to a beautiful park. The Friday night fireworks from our balconies were the best seats in the house. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Make sure you book an ocean front unit to make the most of the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LengraMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Shore

Property: Waikiki Shore
Address: 2161 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waikiki Shore is the only beachfront condominium on Waikiki Beach, located amid the famed restaurants and upscale boutiques of Waikiki Beach Walk. Studios, one- and two-bedroom suites are equipped with kitchens and in-room washers and dryers and have stunning views of the ocean, park, and weekly fireworks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waikiki Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Shore Hotel Honolulu
Castle Waikiki Shore
Waikiki Shore Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing