We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Value in Waikiki” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aston at the Waikiki Banyan
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Value in Waikiki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The Banyan is located a short walking distance from the beach and it's still within walking distance to everything - the zoo, all the shops, and restaurants. When first walking in, the Banyan has a beautifully updated lobby area, there's even a nice waterfall/fountain with a coy pond at the bottom. They have a cafe and a little store on site with souvenirs and basic amenities. The front desk staff and everyone on the property was very cheery and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying in a higher floor. I had a mountain view room, which I liked more than the ocean view, because at night the mountains are lit up with all the city lights. There was a nice sized balcony in the room with a table and chairs, where I spent a lot of my time. the room itself was a bit dated but it was very tidy and clean. I loved how the bedroom had a large sliding door which made the room feel much more spacious and open. This is a great family property as they have a great recreation area with tennis courts, pools, BBQ areas, and a playground.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fishbombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
This is fabulous news! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, looking forward in welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    395
    185
    76
    54
See reviews for
514
139
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at the WaIkiki Banyan on our 10-day Hawaiian vacation and on Nov 2, 2013 my family and I were trapped on the hotel elevator between the 14th and15th floor and the door won't open. We sound the alarm and 15 minutes later the hotel personnel in charged arrived and told us not to call 911 because the maintenance guy is coming. During the long wait my son, who is autistic had to pooped inside and fainted for lack of air and heat. We stayed inside the elevator for more than an hour before we got freed. In an emergency situation like this, why did the hotel in charge forbid us to call 911.

Room Tip: Hawaiian travelers beware that if you are trapped in the hotel elevator you are in the mercy of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2401marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
We were extremely surprise to hear of your encounter and immediately forwarded your concerns over to the Condominium Association along with the Managing agent. Though you're accomodations were not made via Aston, we still welcome your feedback. We at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, would like to express our sincerest apology for I'm sure this was extremely terrifying experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed 8 days.
No problems.
Excellent room. Fantastic view, make sure you get "ocean view" room.
Close to beach, transport, shopping.
Well priced.
Will stay here again.
Ask at front desk for a bus reference sheet, gives you all the bus numbers and how to get to places.

Room Tip: Get an "ocean view" room in Tower 2
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Viiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Awesome suggestion! Yes the front desk staff is available 24 hours a day/7 days a week to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our 7 days staying here. We had a really good sized kitchen which we utilised (tip from the front desk was to take a taxi to Safeway rather than shop at the tourist supermarket a few blocks away). Utensils provided were basic, but covered everything we needed. The place was spotless and cleaned daily, which isn't always to be expected at apartment hotels.

The bus and Waikiki trolley stop is just around the corner, two blocks from the beach, so just a few minutes walk. This part of the beach has sea walls making it really safe swimming for littlies.

There is even a café and convenience store in the foyer, and a tennis court and playground on the pool deck.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 23rd floor, meaning very little street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KiwiTraveller012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Look forward in welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

it took days to find a place in waikiki on the internet, something reasonably priced and with space to relax. This Hotel had it, a good price and good amount of space, two double beds, kitchen and lounge.

our flight from Australia arrives at 6am, other places I've been to have let us into the room, not here, "We were full last night you should have booked a room if you wanted in early"
nice reception from the man on the front desk!!
other than that the staff were fairly helpful and unobtrusive, everything else was OK too, old air conditioners that kept the room cool.

its really just me that EVERYTHING in Accommodation in Hawaii needs an update, the whole place seems stuck in the 70's, perhaps thats part of the charm of the place, but give it another 20 years and it will be way behind the times. up market shops seemed to be the only new things.

all in all though, the place is good, lean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antinmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
We appreciate your postive comments and we do try our best to accomodate all our valued guest with either an early check or late check out. However, may at times be unable to. We will be addressing this at our next general meeting, as using proper verbiage is an important part of our job. Hope we were able to at least store your bags and offer you suggestions on where to have breakfast while you waited for your room? Look forward in welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

My elderly parents and a handicap autistic bother were stuck in the elevator. Management, staff and security refused to call emergency. During the hour of being stuck in that elevator staff would yell to them "do not to call 911"and "just wait!" While being stuck in the elevator my parent's phone didn't work and would cut off so they were not able to call 911 anyways. They got so sick waiting and my handicap bother had to defecate on the floor. People in trapped enclosed and in sick condition should wait for emergency, not wait for lazy "elevator man" to take his time to arrive. I suppose my family is lucky none of them didn't have a panic attack, seizure, or die which could have very well happened thanks to your "just wait" treatment.
Even after 30 min of being stuck personnel and staff refused to call the fire department or emergency! When I called security pleading them to call the fire department after 30 min of of being trapped, I was threatened by security James "if we called emergency, you'll be charged over $800.00!" then he hang up.
Hotel guests should not be charged forced tortured and get sick in a stuck elevator! By absolutely no means did the management, staff, or security handle the situation professionally. Clearly there was no rush to help these people stuck getting tired and sick in the elevator. Security and management were also trying to blame "traffic" for the long wait. That entire island can be circled within an hour. Clearly there was no rush to help these people stuck getting tired and sick in the elevator. It practically took and hour before some "elevator man" even set foot on the property.
The treatment towards my family was disgusting torture and absolutely unacceptable!
What should have happened was the fire department should have been called immediately to get trapped people out of a malfunctioning elevator first, then call the "elevator man" to fix the malfunction. Instead security and staff wanted the convenience of fixing the elevator while making my family sick waiting inside it because it was cheaper! Sham on the security management, and staff who were more worried about the elevator rather than the human lives trapped in it. I'm sure if it were your family members stuck in an elevator, you would not leave them to wait for some lazy "elevator man"..

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Karma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We were extremely surprise to hear of your families encounter and immediately forwarded your concerns over to the Condominium Association along with the Managing agent that your family had made their arrangements with. Though your family had not made their reservation arrangements with Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, we like to express our sincerest apology for I'm sure this was extremely terrifying for them. We would like to welcome your family back to the stay in one of our units and I will be happy to personally assist them with their reservations. I can be reached at miho.kamanao-espiritu@astonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moree, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed at the Aston Waikiki Banyan for 10 days in October 2013. Location wise, this hotel is good. It about 1 block from the strip/beach and restaurants. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was on the 20th floor. The rooms were spacious, the beds comfortable, the shower was a bath/shower. Bed linen is changed every 3 days. We had a kitchen in our apartment which came in handy (eating out at every meal loses its charm after awhile!). The cleaning of the rooms was a bit iffy - in 10 days our room wasn't vacuumed once, and after spending days at the beach, the last thing you want to do is to have a shower and be walking on sand. Overall though, I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay on Waikiki.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Look forward in welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,102 reviews
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#47 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at the Waikiki Banyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Property: Aston at the Waikiki Banyan
Address: 201 Ohua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3653 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Waikiki Banyan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at the Waikiki Banyan 3*
Number of rooms: 876
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a block from the beach, this exceptionally kid-friendly property features one-bedroom suites that accommodate up to 5 people at no additional charge. It has the best recreation deck in Waikiki, complete with children's playground open late, so you can enjoy it after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Aston at the Waikiki Banyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At The Waikiki Banyan Hotel Honolulu
Resortquest Waikiki Banyan
Waikiki Banyan Hotel
Resort Quest Waikiki Banyan
Aston At The Waikiki Banyan Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing