We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hasn't been updated since the 50's!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aston at the Waikiki Banyan
Lahaina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hasn't been updated since the 50's!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed in roon 1807, and could not believe how bad it waw! Cupboards were pressed board, formica countertops in kitchen & bath, no dishwasher, window air conditioning, ratty kitchen chairs & counter, stained ceiliings, all in need of paint! Bedding changed every 3 days! And this was far from the "cheap" rooms. Parking $12 per day or $72 per week, cash only.
Will NEVER go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chillybear772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    395
    185
    76
    54
See reviews for
514
139
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Pool slated to reopen on 14 April. So, if this is a consideration I would look elsewhere. Maintenance is being performed in units as well...but they are very considerate about noise. I usually stay in Privately owned condos that I rent through property management and have been pleased. But pool closure this time made me sad! Otherwise good location, property, value.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank divecolorado707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Mahalo for your recent comment, yes unfortunately during this time is when the Waikiki Banyan Association closes the pool for 1 week to do their annual maintenance. Which we understand would make us sad as well! However we feel extremely lucky that the Waikiki Banyan AOAO takes maintaining the pool very seriously and works extremely hard during this 1 week so that the pool may return in a timely fashion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the Banyan in Sept 2012 for 5 days. we had a beautiful renovated ocean view suite with full kitchen. I looked at other suites in the hotel and can tell you that the Banyan is under renovations and that they are working with the owners to upgrade the suites.

Great location and away from the noise of Waikiki and only a block from the beach.

You are about 3 blocks from the International market and Waikiki but an easy walk with lots to do and see. Stock up on groceries at the food pantry, it will save you alot.

They have a great pool deck with 2 hot tubs and they are hot. BBQ area and tennis courts.

You can catch the bus right around the corner and it will take you to Diamond Head. We walked back after hiking to the top and it was awesome.

Front desk staff was wonderful and helpful.

We rented a car for 2 days from Dollar and headed up to the North Shore and Pearl Harbour and Pearl City. Great outlet stores there.

All in all I recommend the Banyan for the staff, cleanliness, price and location

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
We sincerely appreciate your comments and Yes hoping to get majority of the rooms renovated in 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Tennis court closed for an undetermined period of time. Swimming pool closed 9 days for renovation. Water supply to room cut off 1/2 day for maintenance. Daily cleaning at 5pm; very inconvenient. Mandatory daily charge of 15 USD for wifi and free movie rentals. However, dvd player in room has parental lock set, so could only be used for cartoon. Technician had no clue how to reset lock. Rooms are good size, but the whole complex is worn-out and tired.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel is a good place to stay if you are interested in being located near where all the action is. Staying here puts you are blocks away from the beach, restaurants, shopping, and nightlife. Rooms are condo-style: simple, with a pull-out couch bed, and possibly a kitchenette. This is more like a no-frills place, but is valuable when it comes to convenience. They have a pool and hot tub also, and you have excellent views of the area if on a higher floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missjae15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I had read some bad reviews about this hotel which had me a little anxious but it turned out to be a decent place (at least the unit I had-1208-managed by Aston)-the rooms were well used but clean and spacious. Roll away bed was cheap and could not support an adult but was good for the kids.
One of the sliding doors was off the track but I did not bother to have them come fix it as it could still be used and there were minor "wear" issues with inconsequential things like broken blind/baseboard tiles etc. (I have seen a lot worse and I travel a lot for business). Great location/cheap parking/good kitchenette/decent staff/liked the video rentals for nighttime entertainment for the kids. Would stay there again with the family as price is right for a unit that can sleep up to 6.

Room Tip: I had a standard suite on 12th floor but it had an ocean view (not sure if that was a bonus)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We reserved condo #1507 for $130 per night, a very good price for expensive Waikiki, especially for a condo with a seperate bedroom and kithchen. It has a decent swimming pool/hot tub but the gorgeous beach is only a block away. The bed in the bedroom was comfortable, but the pull-out Murphy bed was very uncomfortable. The sliding doors that seperate the living room & bedroom were not connected to each other & hard to open & close. There were water stains on the ceiling and on the 2nd night we found out why. Getting up to use the bathroom at 10 pm I found water pouring out of the light fixture in the ceiling. I called the booking agent who rented us the condo and they sent some one up right away. Apparently the people in the condo above us didn't use the shower curtain and the water was leaking down to us. I've been a dispatcher for maintenance at an upscale hotel so I know this kind of thing happens all the time. It was great that some one came to fix it immediatley, even though it was late.
Overall a decent value but next time we may splurge on a more upscale property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank roandoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,102 reviews
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#47 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at the Waikiki Banyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Property: Aston at the Waikiki Banyan
Address: 201 Ohua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3653 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Waikiki Banyan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at the Waikiki Banyan 3*
Number of rooms: 876
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a block from the beach, this exceptionally kid-friendly property features one-bedroom suites that accommodate up to 5 people at no additional charge. It has the best recreation deck in Waikiki, complete with children's playground open late, so you can enjoy it after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Aston at the Waikiki Banyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At The Waikiki Banyan Hotel Honolulu
Resortquest Waikiki Banyan
Waikiki Banyan Hotel
Resort Quest Waikiki Banyan
Aston At The Waikiki Banyan Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing