We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good condos in Waikiki”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston at the Waikiki Banyan
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Aston/Banyan. The condo we had featured a full kitchen, king bed, and good "sunrise" view of Diamond Head. I would stay here again. The price was high, but it was high season. I would expect that the price would closely follow demand, since this type of condo is very common in Waikiki. The unit itself hadn't been renovated for awhile, but it was what it needed to be -- a clean, comfortable, spacious place to stay. Parking was $12/day, and the beach was less than two blocks away. Not the place you'd spend your honeymoon, but a great base camp for exploring Oahu by car, or hanging out in Waikiki. This is a safe bet.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solabiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your stay with us. We are happy to see that ou enjoyed your stay with us and your time spent in Hawaii. We do hope to have you back with us should your travels find you back on Oahu in the future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 926 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Waikiki is not necessarily a relaxation, out of the way type place, where you can get a way from it all! It is a hustle and bustle type of place where you can do lot's of shopping, hang out at a beach for some basic surfing or just see and be seen by the many tourists that flock to this place.

So hotels that are right on the Beach, that are affordable you really can't go past the Aston. It is clean, the rooms are nice (except for the carpets that are getting old) and best of all they provide a pretty decent "free" breakfast, that can also turn into lunch if you pack up and extra bagel or two!

The $12 a day parking is annoying, but what do you expect at a place as busy and popular as Waikiki beach. Staff are friendly enough and most rooms have a nice Ocean view.

Our tip, don't rent a car for the first few days, then organise for one and head one day to Hanauma bay for some of the best snorkling in the world. Then spend another day crusing around this beautiful Island.

The Aston is perfect for this, for those wanting to stay at Waikiki Beach, want and Ocean view room and are on a budget.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louballs929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

While we appreciate your comments, I believe that you were stay at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel and not the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan. The only thing that puzzles me is that the parking charge you are referring to is for the Banyan. Irregardless, both the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel and Aston at the Waikiki Banyan appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Mahalo for chosing Aston Hotels and Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Four of us rented a one bedroom ocean view room 12/10/12-12/12. It is located a few short blocks from the beach, and lots of places around it (stores, shopping, etc). We were on the 37th floor with a great unobstructed view of the ocean (off to the left) and some of Diamond Head. Nice little balcony to relax on. They had everything in the room we needed. If you need pool towels, you just go down to housekeeping and check them out, and return there. The pool and hot tubs were nice, but only went there once. Check in and check out were smooth and easy. My only complaint was the resort/amenity fee - if you don't use the games/dvd/internet, it is just a waste. My opinion is just charge more for the room - it's better than creating resentment. But overall- a really nice place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for providing us with your comments on your stay with us. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to meet your expectations. Many families are enjoying the various inclusions that come with the amenity fee, such as free DVD rentals and the use of the Playstation 2 in our guest rooms as well as the free WIFI internet service and the coffee and tea service daily. Thank you for chosing Aston Hotels and Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Well what can we say about our stay at this hotel. Well to start we arrived at 11am and was told that we couldn't check in to at earliest 3pm due our carpet being shampooed. Well we just flown in from Oz been up for 36hrs and last thing we needed to hear. Then when we finally got into our room WOW its was a sub-standard room for our honeymoon. To start with no gifts for our special occasion,then we found rips in our bedroom curtains,the shampooed floor well lets say very stained floor,shoe marks on the kitchen floor, a rip(hole) in the tinted screen on balconey sliding door, the double bed was on a metal base, that was bigger then the mattress and you either kicked the end or when getting up you scrapped your legs on the base and the mattresses kept sliding apart as nothing holding the mattress together and also there was no headboard on the bed. The dressingtable with large mirror was falling apart as mirror wasnt attached at back properly. There was water damage on the ceiling and you could see how poorly the paint work was in the lounge room by the switches as just painted around them. The sliding doors of the wardrobe were water damaged and paint chips on the base and the doors kept falling of the hinges. And if your a smoker dont stay on the 37th floor stay on the 6th or lower. Oh we did get our honeymoon gifts next morning. A 2 glass bottle of champange and a box of chocolate coated nuts WOO HOO!!!!!!!.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for providing us with your comments on your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for the room you stayed in and please also know that we have worked with our individual owners and are commencing a renovation project with them that is scheduled for the 2nd quarter of 2013. We offer all of our honeymooners and guests celebrating an anniversary a complimentary split of champagne and a box of Hawaii's own chocolate covered macadamia nuts as a celebratory gesture. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

$12 a day with in and out privilege is good for Waikiki parking.
Someone left positive review about front desk Jason however I 've got RUDE attitude from him.
I guess he treat hot guest differently.Very unprofessional.
This is not fancy Hotel.Just avoid front desk.
They are not helpful at all.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank greenonion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

We appreciate your comments and feedback on your stay. We do take all comments seriously and will follow up on them. It is unfortunate that your encounter with Jason turned out the way it did as we have received many complimentary comments, reviews and letters on not only Jason but the entire front desk staffs ability to service and meet our guests requests and needs. Mahalo for selecting Aston Hotels and Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The recreation deck with the play structure was the best! My husband and I traveled to Honolulu to see our young grandson and wanted to be sure there would be a safe place for him to play while visiting us. We couldn't have been more pleased with the times we enjoyed with him on the recreation deck. It was very nice to have a condo to head to right up the elevator when he tired and snacks and some quiet time were needed. The furnishing were a bit dated, but very comfortable. The location is super convenient with the zoo close by and Waikiki beach just a short walk. Check in and check out was easy and it was extremely helpful to have the parking included in the room. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Stay as high up as you can for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheri_pdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for providing us with your comments and feedback on your stay with us and we are glad to hear that your grandson enjoyed his time spent on our recreation deck and the children's playground The Banyan does have one of the largest recreation decks in Waikiki and it is a safe and secure enviroment for children to play. Happy to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom (2912) with a nice ocean and pool view. Room was spacious, but dated. It was much more comfortable to sleep on the sofa than pulling it out into a bed. The first might they have us a white metal crib and our 11 month old got her leg stuck between the bars. The staff brought us a pack and play that hadn't been cleaned. Aside from that, it was a nice place to stay for 3 nights before heading to the north shore to relax.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarciaAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Mahalo for your comments on your stay with us. We are in the process of finalizing a renovation project with our individual unit owners which will start in the 2nd quarter of 2013 that will target the remaining rooms that need updating. Thank you for chosing Aston Hotels and Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,500 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach
Aston Waikiki Sunset
#8 of 46 in Honolulu
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at the Waikiki Banyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Address: 201 Ohua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3653 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Waikiki Banyan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range: $164 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at the Waikiki Banyan 3*
Number of rooms: 876
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a block from the beach, this exceptionally kid-friendly property features one-bedroom suites that accommodate up to 5 people at no additional charge. It has the best recreation deck in Waikiki, complete with children's playground open late, so you can enjoy it after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston at the Waikiki Banyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At The Waikiki Banyan Hotel Honolulu
Resortquest Waikiki Banyan
Waikiki Banyan Hotel
Resort Quest Waikiki Banyan
Aston At The Waikiki Banyan Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing