We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great palce!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston at the Waikiki Banyan
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Four of us rented a one bedroom ocean view room 12/10/12-12/12. It is located a few short blocks from the beach, and lots of places around it (stores, shopping, etc). We were on the 37th floor with a great unobstructed view of the ocean (off to the left) and some of Diamond Head. Nice little balcony to relax on. They had everything in the room we needed. If you need pool towels, you just go down to housekeeping and check them out, and return there. The pool and hot tubs were nice, but only went there once. Check in and check out were smooth and easy. My only complaint was the resort/amenity fee - if you don't use the games/dvd/internet, it is just a waste. My opinion is just charge more for the room - it's better than creating resentment. But overall- a really nice place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for providing us with your comments on your stay with us. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to meet your expectations. Many families are enjoying the various inclusions that come with the amenity fee, such as free DVD rentals and the use of the Playstation 2 in our guest rooms as well as the free WIFI internet service and the coffee and tea service daily. Thank you for chosing Aston Hotels and Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 942 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

Well what can we say about our stay at this hotel. Well to start we arrived at 11am and was told that we couldn't check in to at earliest 3pm due our carpet being shampooed. Well we just flown in from Oz been up for 36hrs and last thing we needed to hear. Then when we finally got into our room WOW its was a sub-standard room for our honeymoon. To start with no gifts for our special occasion,then we found rips in our bedroom curtains,the shampooed floor well lets say very stained floor,shoe marks on the kitchen floor, a rip(hole) in the tinted screen on balconey sliding door, the double bed was on a metal base, that was bigger then the mattress and you either kicked the end or when getting up you scrapped your legs on the base and the mattresses kept sliding apart as nothing holding the mattress together and also there was no headboard on the bed. The dressingtable with large mirror was falling apart as mirror wasnt attached at back properly. There was water damage on the ceiling and you could see how poorly the paint work was in the lounge room by the switches as just painted around them. The sliding doors of the wardrobe were water damaged and paint chips on the base and the doors kept falling of the hinges. And if your a smoker dont stay on the 37th floor stay on the 6th or lower. Oh we did get our honeymoon gifts next morning. A 2 glass bottle of champange and a box of chocolate coated nuts WOO HOO!!!!!!!.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for providing us with your comments on your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for the room you stayed in and please also know that we have worked with our individual owners and are commencing a renovation project with them that is scheduled for the 2nd quarter of 2013. We offer all of our honeymooners and guests celebrating an anniversary a complimentary split of champagne and a box of Hawaii's own chocolate covered macadamia nuts as a celebratory gesture. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

$12 a day with in and out privilege is good for Waikiki parking.
Someone left positive review about front desk Jason however I 've got RUDE attitude from him.
I guess he treat hot guest differently.Very unprofessional.
This is not fancy Hotel.Just avoid front desk.
They are not helpful at all.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank greenonion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

We appreciate your comments and feedback on your stay. We do take all comments seriously and will follow up on them. It is unfortunate that your encounter with Jason turned out the way it did as we have received many complimentary comments, reviews and letters on not only Jason but the entire front desk staffs ability to service and meet our guests requests and needs. Mahalo for selecting Aston Hotels and Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The recreation deck with the play structure was the best! My husband and I traveled to Honolulu to see our young grandson and wanted to be sure there would be a safe place for him to play while visiting us. We couldn't have been more pleased with the times we enjoyed with him on the recreation deck. It was very nice to have a condo to head to right up the elevator when he tired and snacks and some quiet time were needed. The furnishing were a bit dated, but very comfortable. The location is super convenient with the zoo close by and Waikiki beach just a short walk. Check in and check out was easy and it was extremely helpful to have the parking included in the room. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Stay as high up as you can for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheri_pdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for providing us with your comments and feedback on your stay with us and we are glad to hear that your grandson enjoyed his time spent on our recreation deck and the children's playground The Banyan does have one of the largest recreation decks in Waikiki and it is a safe and secure enviroment for children to play. Happy to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom (2912) with a nice ocean and pool view. Room was spacious, but dated. It was much more comfortable to sleep on the sofa than pulling it out into a bed. The first might they have us a white metal crib and our 11 month old got her leg stuck between the bars. The staff brought us a pack and play that hadn't been cleaned. Aside from that, it was a nice place to stay for 3 nights before heading to the north shore to relax.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarciaAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Mahalo for your comments on your stay with us. We are in the process of finalizing a renovation project with our individual unit owners which will start in the 2nd quarter of 2013 that will target the remaining rooms that need updating. Thank you for chosing Aston Hotels and Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was a good centrally located property. Jason at the front desk was the best - so helpful and accommodating. The hotel was great with shortening our booking at relatively short notice due to a family matter at home. Nothing was too much trouble.

The room was a little tired and could do with a makeover, but that aside, was clean and spacious and comfortable. There was not enough hanging space (half the wardrobe was locked for storage) and there should be two bedside tables and lamps. With some deft furniture manouvering we fixed this. The kitchen was adequate for two people, and it was great to come back to for a quick lunch or just have breakfast.

Great location, not in the thick of all the beach hotels, only one block from the beach and close to the zoo and easy walk to diamond head. Overall an easy, good stay.

Room Tip: We had room 3014 in Tower B and it had lots of living space, kitchen, great views and was on a corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Mahalo for providing us with your comments on your stay. We will be beginning a renovation project with our individual unit owners in the 2nd quarter of 2013 and will emphasize the remaining units that need upgrading. We are glad to hear that our staff was able to accommodate and handle your requests during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at the banyan for 1 week in nov,we loved it only 1 block from the beach,we had an ocean view 30th floor we had a corner room ,they are bigger than normal,new kitchen,we were on holidays so did;nt use it much,great view off the beach,the resort had a great coffee shop,selling lovely cakes fresh juice,salads small meals etc,closed about 7pm,the little supermarket next door to it sold every thing icecreams ,grog,milk breakfast cereal,the pool was lovely and clean,plenty of bbq's,my daughter,her husband and 3 children,also stayed as many hotels don;t cater for 5 people so it was handy for them,they let 1 child stay with us each night as we had more room,it was no trouble for the hotel to put in another bed,they were very helpful,we booked a surf bus tour to the north with Bree ann she was wonderful and very helpful,only saw her a few days then some guy was at the tour desk,he was not very friendly or helpful wait for Bree ann,we would go back at stay at the banyan again.The 1 and only thing we did'nt like was the curtains in the bedroom,they were to see through,the night looked like daytime

Room Tip: pay the little extra for the ocean view as it is ever changing,we were next door to the laundry it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mickeyGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Mahalo for provding us with your comments on your recent stay with us. We are certainly glad to find that you enjoyed your time here and we do look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
651 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aston Waikiki Sunset
#8 of 46 in Honolulu
1,446 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at the Waikiki Banyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Address: 201 Ohua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3653 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Waikiki Banyan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range: $190 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at the Waikiki Banyan 3*
Number of rooms: 876
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a block from the beach, this exceptionally kid-friendly property features one-bedroom suites that accommodate up to 5 people at no additional charge. It has the best recreation deck in Waikiki, complete with children's playground open late, so you can enjoy it after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston at the Waikiki Banyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At The Waikiki Banyan Hotel Honolulu
Resortquest Waikiki Banyan
Waikiki Banyan Hotel
Resort Quest Waikiki Banyan
Aston At The Waikiki Banyan Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing