We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Ranked #67 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We have just returned to Australia after a wonderful holiday. This hotel's staff did everything possible to assist us in any we asked. The light breakfast, which is included in the tariff was great and we had a wonderful time at the Manager's reception. There is some street noise but it has to be expected if you want to stay in such a great location. The hotel offers massage and some spa treatments and the staff there were also very obliging. This location is close to bus stops, supermarket, the beach and the main activity area of Honolulu.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussies106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,069 - 1,075 of 1,688 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed here twice during our stopover to/from the Big Island. Both times we experienced friendly staff at the front desk during check-in. The first time we got a complimentary upgrade from a standard to a deluxe room. The second time we had made advance reservations via travelocity.com but the hotel didn't have us in their system. The hotel was full, so the front desk person called travelocity to see what happened with our reservation. He was kind enough to wait on hold for a long time before reaching someone. After learning that our reservation had not gone through, he gave us a jr. suite at the same price we paid online. I was thankful that we didn't have to go to another hotel (it was almost midnight). The whole thing probably took nearly an hour to resolve; they went beyond the call of duty in my mind. The rooms are nothing fancy, but meet your needs for a clean, convenient place to sleep. The only complaint is the noisy location (hard to avoid in Waikiki).

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scorpio021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

We loved our stay here.
We were on a tight budget, but still wanted a really nice stay. This hotel was perfect, only a 5 minute walk to the beach.
The room was small, but there was enough space for us to relax and feel comfortable. It was very clean & there was a microwave & fridge with a set of dishes, wireless internet worked in our room, so we had just what we needed.
The staff was very friendly & helpful, especially the gentleman looking after our bags the day we checked out (we weren't flying out til 10pm that night). We accessed our bags several times that day & he was always very accomodating.
We used the pool & shower beside it for a last minute clean up, & even got to enjoy a few free margaritas each at the manager's reception! They were not keeping count and were very generous!
The free continental breakfast was great too...light & tasty. Fresh made pancakes, toast, oatmeal, muffins & pastries, tea, coffee & juice. Not fancy, but filled our bellies enough til lunchtime.
All in all, we'd stay here again for the $75/night pricetag.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hate-being-cold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

This hotel was completely adequate for our needs. We were just staying in Waikiki for a couple of days before driving to the North Shore. Its a very quick walk to the beach. The lobby was lovey, the staff friendly and helpful. Our room was small but comfortable. The sheets were soft and clean. We even had a mini-fridge! Breakfast was nice. There was fresh fruit and pancakes. The bathroom could have used a fan. And its true, the truck noise at 6 am is obtrusive. We pricelined the room and we got a reasonable deal for what we paid.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emidolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

I’ve stayed at the Aloha Surf a dozen times on business. The hotel was remodeled a few years ago. It is modern and stylish. The rooms are also nicely decorated. The upper rooms have a wet bar, micro, and frig. Parking is extra cost, and a limited number of stalls. Street parking is scarce and tricky. Phone before your trip and request a parking pass. Breakfast is minimal. Many restaurants, tourist stores, and markets nearby. The neighborhood can be a bit dicey. I have been approached by a dope dealer and a well-dressed hooker, but never saw any serious crime. The most serious problem at the hotel is noise. The louver glass windows do not hold back noise. Rooms facing the street will hear buses and traffic all night. Rooms at the end toward the beach will hear trash trucks at 0530. Request an upper room on the rear, toward the north end.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCal_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We really enjoyed all 6 days at this hotel. It was clean and very well located. It is great place to stay, very clean and well staffed. Nice people.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dartina11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

Recently stayed at the Aloha Aqua Surf Hotel - 2 blocks from Waikiki Beach. Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor, we knew it would be perfect for us. The rooms are small - and I do mean small! But so what - we only used it to sleep and shower in - had microwave, small refrigerator, coffee pot - coffee was supplied daily. This hotel is CLEAN and the service was top notch - from the front desk to the housekeeping staff, this was an amazing bargain to stay in Waikiki. Breakfast was included (700-830 am) and was fresh fruit, numerous pastries, pancakes, juices, coffee, tea, oatmeal, etc - and the front desk supplies ethernet cables (no charge) for wifi in your room. If there is an area they need to improve on, it is their wifi capability in your room - always "low" and not so reliable. But this is one of the very few hotels in Waikiki Beach with free breakfast and free wifi - and the prices to stay are a real bargain. We have already decided to return and will definitely stay at this hotel again - it was everything we needed and there are many restaurants, a grocery store, convenience stores, etc within a one block area. All in all, one of the best vacations we have had (and yes, we have been before but never at such low rates) - if you are looking for a high end, beachfront hotel, this will not be the place for you - but if you want clean, friendly and only 2 short blocks from the beach and all the action of Waikiki Beach, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimicindie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.1 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
682 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,926 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#74 of 84 in Honolulu
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ewa Hotel
Ewa Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
#73 of 84 in Honolulu
1,224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Address: 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: $135 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, one of Waikiki's most popular hotels, is a boutique hotel located 2 blocks to the beach and steps from world class dining and shopping. The large, open air lobby connects to a fitness area and Internet cafe as well as a relaxing pool area with cabanas and barbeque grill lit by tiki torches every evening. Continental breakfast is served complimentary daily for bookings made directly through Aqua. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Aloha Surf allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Interent throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towels and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, Aloha Aqua Surf guest rooms offer AquaBLISS pillow top beds, LCD TV's, mini-refrigerator, a microwave, coffeemaker and safe. Select accommodations offer views of the magical Koolau Mountain range and Ala Wai Golf Course. Self Parking is $25 daily. Note: Oversized vehicles will not fit in the hotel parking garage. If you have what you believe may be an oversized vehicle, please call the hotel to confirm whether the garage can accommodate the vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Aloha Surf Honolulu
Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing