We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel/Disappointing Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Ranked #65 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel this year from July 26th-Aug 4th, I did my research beforehand and knew what we could possibly be in for because of the open lobby etc. As long as you keep your food/drinks covered etc they aren't a problem. There were several things that I did not like in the room we stayed in. First our sink became clogged after calling maintenence it was never fixed, there is no actual bathroom door, there is just a pocket door that slides and doesn't lock (not a problem for us as this was a romantic/couple trip) but it might be a little awkward for others who are traveling as friends etc. I also would recommend keeping atleast some of the blinds shut if you are staying on the front side of the hotel as it faces the Sand Villa directly across, we had the misfortune of waking up to see a couple having sex directly across from our room with their blinds wide open......And if we could see them they could see us... (LOL) The pool is very small and there is no hottub which was a big disappointment, as this a boutique hotel they are limited on space but it still was a disappointment. Lastly the daily breakfast buffet that was included in our room was less than desirable, We stayed there for 9 days and we ate the buffet 7/9 days. The only thing that changed on the menu was muffins going to a breakfast type cake and vice versa. After staying here I never wanted to see a pancake again. The daily breakfast menu consists of pancakes, boiled eggs, muffins, donuts or breakfast type cake, (depending on what day it was) white rice, sliced pieces of ham (very salty btw so beware) oatmeal, dry cereal, powdered milk, toast, water and what I thought was orange juice but tastes more like really bad tang. After all has been said I would recommend this hotel and if you aren't partial to the possibility of eating the same breakfast everyday go for it! I would stay here again but I would not partake in the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KerisaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Aloha "KerisaM",
Thank you for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf.
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel. I appreciate your feedback about our continental breakfast. It is a continental breakfast so it is not meant as a full breakfast buffet. We have added items to the continental breakfast to make it a little "more". Like boiled eggs, Ham, fresh pancakes, etc.
I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon.
Mahalo and Aloha,
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,656)
There are newer reviews for Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

509 - 515 of 1,656 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I have upgraded my room Bud the reserved room was to smal for two peoples Cleaning service Not the best reception Fine and Great
The Swimmingpool Pool is Berry smal Bud is ok

The Westjerusalem was Great an all the People ON the Island are Berry Nixe

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Phil t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Aloha "Philip",
Thank you for sharing your experience here on tripadvisor.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights and it was the best service and breakfast we had. Helene at the front desk even helped with directions. Other hotels we stayed in were fancier, cost more and gave less value. It was a short walk to the beach but was right beside the canal. If you are looking for value for your $, this is the one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelonmyShoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Aloha "AngelOnMyShoulder",
Thank you for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for mentioning Helene at the front desk. She is fantastic.
We hope you return to visit us again soon
Mahalo
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Simple but comfortable and nice.The service of the receptionists is pretty good. There is even a brazilian guy named Daniel, a very nice and helpful guy. Douglas is the one, always ready to guve you a hand whenever you need. Very good location, only two blocks away from the beach, nice restaurants and stores. A very good tip is about parking. They charge a 20,00 fare for parking, but it's not necessary. If you insist, you can definitely find some places along nearby streets.

Thank Jéferson O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Aloha "Jeferson O",
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf. We appreciate your business. I also appreciate you taking time to share your experience here on tripadvisor. Thank you for mentioning Daniel and Doug. They work hard to care for their guests.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Mahalo and Aloha
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

After our cruise we spent a couple of night in this hotel. So convenient to everything. The room was great as was the service. When our flight home was cancelled the front desk was so amasing especially the young lady on the tours desk and Kevin who were both helpful and patient as we tried with their help to sort out new flights. We would definately go back again and recommend this hotel very highly

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Aloha "Pauline O",
Mahalo for staying with us at the Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for mentioning Kevin, our Bellman. We hope you come and stay with us again soon.
Mahalo and Aloha,
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I enjoyed 5 nights at this wonderful hotel! My friend and I checked in Sunday, Sept. 15! Douglas was so wonderful and caring during our check in. Lydia gave us wonderful suggestions for the Pearl Harbor tour and Sunset cruise. Tim, the manager, served a wonderful Manager's special wipe-out special. Alecia made sure the room was clean and we enjoyed the beautiful view from the balcony. Slow Internet in Lobby only was the only negative!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buggunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Aloha "buggunn",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf during your recent visit to Waikiki. I appreciate you mentioning Doug, our Guest Service Supervisor. He will love to see his name in "Lights".
I hope you come back and stay with us again soon.
Mahalo and Aloha
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just returned from spending 5 days at Aqua Aloha Surf. Because the rooms were so reasonably priced (by Waikiki standards), I had low expectations. Boy, was I wrong. The staff works hard to make your stay pleasant. Tim, the manager, was warm and cordial serving delicious complimentary Wipe Out cocktails. Douglas was so nice and pleasant even though he was checking in several parties at the same time. We even received an upgraded room. Lydia, the concierge was helpful with booking Pearl Harbor tour & other suggestions around the island. Our room was very clean..thanks to Allicia. Love you get free towels & beach chairs to use. We didn't have to take our wet, sandy towels back to the room. Just turned them in at the front desk. Only negative...on the last day our shower was very slow draining & the lobby internet is slow. For faster service, I recommend going around the corner to the Coffee Bean at Food Pantry and use theirs. Overall, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room high up above the traffic noise
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pittypat129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Aloha "PittyPat129",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki during your recent visit.
I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you very much for mentioning our team members, Doug, Alicia, and Lydia from Elite Concierge. Our people work hard to care for our guests.
We hope you return to stay with us again soon.
Mahalo and Aloha,
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.9 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,899 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pagoda Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
503 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,501 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#49 of 84 in Honolulu
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Address: 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: $120 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, one of Waikiki's most popular hotels, is a boutique hotel located 2 blocks to the beach and steps from world class dining and shopping. The large, open air lobby connects to a fitness area and Internet cafe as well as a relaxing pool area with cabanas and barbeque grill lit by tiki torches every evening. Continental breakfast is served complimentary daily for bookings made directly through Aqua. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Aloha Surf allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Interent throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towels and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, Aloha Aqua Surf guest rooms offer AquaBLISS pillow top beds, LCD TV's, mini-refrigerator, a microwave, coffeemaker and safe. Select accommodations offer views of the magical Koolau Mountain range and Ala Wai Golf Course. Self Parking is $25 daily. Note: Oversized vehicles will not fit in the hotel parking garage. If you have what you believe may be an oversized vehicle, please call the hotel to confirm whether the garage can accommodate the vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Aloha Surf Honolulu
Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing