We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Ranked #64 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A good stay”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We used this hotel as a stop between Australia and Vancouver. Although a moderate hotel it was satisfied our needs. Everything was in walking distance. The rooms were large and clean. Breakfast was very basic, but having said that it was all that we needed.
The staff were very helpful and assisted us with our queries. There is wifi in the lobby. We would stay again.

Room Tip: High floors away from the street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank the_retirees_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Aloha "the_retirees_perth",
Thank you for selecting the Aloha Surf when you visited Waikiki on your way home from Vancouver. I am glad we helped to contribute to a good experience for you. Please come back and stay with us again soon.
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    626
    353
    133
    90
See reviews for
278
706
198
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

It was lucky that we had only one night at the hotel . We had meet the most terrible receptionist named Vinh . He acted like we asked for a room , not like customers , without any smile and neccesary guide , didn't give us breakfast vouchers . In the morning , when we asked about br. vouchers, he was rude saying that " let me check " . His act made us think that he himself aranged for us the wost room in the hotel ,numbered 208 . This old room was too small with noisy air conditioner . And the thing called window was inconvenient that we could'nt open it . There was even little cockroaches in the bathroom . We knew that we chose the cheapest price but we were ready to pay more for the room with river view as we susgested in our room booking . We had a very bad impression about hotel because of Vinh . We think the hotel manegement should educate Vinh again by a simply way : let him walk to Aqua Pearl Hotel and see how did these infrond - desk staffs working , talking to customers .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trinhvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Aloha "Trinhvan",
I am sorry that you had such a poor experience here at the Aloha Surf Waikiki. I do appreciate you sharing your experience with us. I will certainly address your concerns with our team members. It is our goal to provide our guests with true value and an experience that is warm welcoming and friendly. I am very sorry that we were not able to meet those goals for you.
My apologies,
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

great hotel for the price around $100.00 per night, staff very friendly fast check in and check out, 24 hr reception, Clean hotel and rooms. rooms are small compared to other hotels but we were bearly in the room so doesn't matter, Room safe, Iron and ironing board air con, breakfast good not a big selection but did the job, great location only 2 streets from the beach and restaurants with plenty of things to do and see

Room Tip: close to the beach, rooms are small but only in there for a small time
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bexy99872003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Aloha "Bexy99872003",
Thank you for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf. I am glad you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Mahalo
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We actually rented a studio unit here via the vrbo.com website (unit no. 1006 on the 10th floor). The location is nice and central while being quiet enough in a side street on the Ala Wai canal. The lobby is breezy and lovely and there is a small plunge pool on the ground floor (very deep, not suitable for small children). You are close to everything (bus stop, eateries, beach, supermarket). The property itself is well maintained and the staff are simply superb - all helpful, friendly and cheerful - and this whilst we weren't even staying in a room that the resort manages. Very child friendly too. I saw some rooms while we were there (other guests gave us a peek) and they all looked clean, well maintained and bright. I would highly recommend this place for anyone staying in Waikiki on holidays in this price bracket. I would not necessarily spend a honeymoon there but it is perfectly adequate for any other kind of stay unless you are after a luxury upmarket resort. Our balcony was big enough to hang beach towels and have breakfast/a cup of coffee and watch the sunrises/sunsets. Overall a very enjoyble stay.

Room Tip: The higher up the room the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AquaPacifica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Aloha "AquaPacifica",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf.
I am glad we were able to contribute to a successful Waikiki Visit for you.
Please come back and visit us again soon.
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is an older dated property, tiny pool with excellent service. We were checked in by a gentleman named "Douglas" which chipper attitude and efficient demeanor and humor just set the pace for a great visit. rooms are a bit dated but nice clean white linens while not a duvet was the next best thing and without question we got the most comfortable bed in Hawaii.

Room Tip: I hope all the beds are as good as the one we got. I don't know if we got lucky or Douglas reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrainelimiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Aloha "lorrainelimiac",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for mentioning our Guest Service Supervisor Douglas. He is great. I will share your comments with him.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Island, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is an affordable hotel in a central Waikiki location, booked sight unseen after reading Trip Advisor reviews as a stopover for three nights to break up our journey back to Enzed. The Aqua Aloha is obviously popular with Antipodeans; we met many during our stay all, like us, enjoying the balmy climate and buzz of Waikiki. The room was a good size but filthy around the edges, with a carpet stain embedded with solid matter I didn't care to investigate closely. This was a noisy location with considerable construction or roading activity nearby, but the beach was just a few blocks away, and we loved the locally made food from the nearby farmers market. We didn't take advantage of the continental breakfast as it finishes at nine ... And who gets up that early on a tropical vacation? The lobby is airy and pleasant, with free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurieandlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Aloha "laurieandlily",
Thank you for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf. It is our goal to provide our guests with value for their money and a good, relaxing, fun experience. I am sorry we were not able to achieve this goal for you. I do appreciate you sharing your experience here on trip advisor.
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

i choose this hotel only because of its location and price.
it is located near Waikiki beach and international market.
it was very convenient cause there are ABC mart around the corner and many restaurant.
Its price is very reasonable and the staffs were very helpful whenever i asked something. i enjoyed staying there, hope go there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank couldntbebetterrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Aloha "couldntbebetterrr",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf. I am glad we were able to contribute to a great Hawaii experience for you.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,886 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
497 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,477 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#47 of 84 in Honolulu
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Property: Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Address: 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, one of Waikiki's most popular hotels, is a boutique hotel located 2 blocks to the beach and steps from world class dining and shopping. The large, open air lobby connects to a fitness area and Internet cafe as well as a relaxing pool area with cabanas and barbeque grill lit by tiki torches every evening. Continental breakfast is served complimentary daily for bookings made directly through Aqua. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Aloha Surf allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Interent throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towels and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, Aloha Aqua Surf guest rooms offer AquaBLISS pillow top beds, LCD TV's, mini-refrigerator, a microwave, coffeemaker and safe. Select accommodations offer views of the magical Koolau Mountain range and Ala Wai Golf Course. Self Parking is $25 daily. Note: Oversized vehicles will not fit in the hotel parking garage. If you have what you believe may be an oversized vehicle, please call the hotel to confirm whether the garage can accommodate the vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Aloha Surf Honolulu
Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing