We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly staff...Good Value & Location...Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Ranked #63 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Winchester, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Super friendly staff...Good Value & Location...Clean”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Staff super friendly and helpful. Building is older but very clean. Location is good...within walking distance to beach, shops and restaurants. Very nice walking/running path by a canal practically right outside the front door if you want to get away from the crowed streets and sidewalks. We stayed in this hotel on Oahu for 5 nights before hopping over to the Big Island. Two specific things that stand out about our experience at this hotel is (1) One our way to breakfast the morning after our first night there we were stopped by a staff at the front desk and offered a larger room with a bigger bed for the rest of our stay. (2) Aaron, the concierge in the hotel was a pleasure to meet and full of information about the island and things to do. I had booked the Hummer "LOST" tour before coming to the island (which I highly recommend with KOS Hummer Tours) and that is where we first met Aaron. He picked us up at the hotel the morning of our tour and during the day we learned that he worked for Expedia at our hotel and offered to help us with any activities that we wanted to do during our vacation. We stopped by his desk the next day. He helped us find a rental car for our arrival on Big Island at a great price and helped us decide to do a helicopter tour on Big Island and the whale watch on Maui. These are things that we knew that we wanted to do while in Hawaii, he is not at all pushy like a salesman but truly wants you to enjoy and get the most out of your stay. He even called after we got on Big Island to make sure we received our rental car without any problems.
It is employee's like this that make a business successful. Thanks for everything. Susan & Don

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctheworld64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Aloha "ctheworld64",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf during your recent visit to Waikiki. Thank you for mentioning our Super Friendly Staff. I am very lucky and proud to work with this collection of guest service professionals. Many of our team members started working in high end resorts here in Hawaii and have found their way to us. They bring extensive training and experience with them. What they love about our little Aloha Surf is that it is small enough for them to reach out and really connect with their guests. This is the difference. No matter how hard they try, connecting with guests in a hotel with 1500 rooms is very difficult. Here we get to know our guests, we "Talk Story" with them about their vacations and are able to suggest experiences for them to try. It's Great.
Mahalo,
Please come see us again soon,
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    617
    349
    129
    89
See reviews for
272
695
195
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
160 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel is located several blocks from the beach and is at least partially away from the masses of visitors. Yet it is easily walkable to the famous beach. The parking is limited and a fee is charged. The nearby parking lot is more expensive than the hotel!

The included breakfast is of average quality but is sufficient in quantity.

The rooms are above average size with a sofa and coffee table sitting area.

Room Tip: For the balue I would definitely stay here again. Choose a higher room to lessen street noise and im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ofmyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Aloha "ofmyheart",
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Aloha Surf. I am glad you found our location convenient. we are just steps away from all the action. Two blocks from the beach.
We look forward to your return
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great property and friendly staff.

Great value considering property offers breakfast, free wifi and staff willing to provide great non-expensive suggestions for tours.

A special thank you to Mr.Nolan, at the front desk, for all his suggestions on how to tour the whole island and great trackings routes.

From check-in to check-out I have always pleasantly surprised with the interactions from all the Hotel's staff. The openness of the lobby and breakfast areas allowing the chirping of the birds to be heard and occasionally flying is definitely relaxing and a great way to start a day in a marvelous nature.

I would definitely stay with them again.

Thank you all,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pb9997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Aloha "pb9997",
Mahalo for staying with us. I am glad we were able to provide you with a great value here at the Aloha Surf. Thank you for mentioning Nolan. He is awesome!
Take Care, We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Aloha
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon,ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights before our cruise and enjoyed it,was very clean,the staff was all friendly.If I ever go back to Hawaii would definetly look into staying there again.The room view over looked a canal and a golf course,ask to stay on the 16th floor.The continental breakfast was good,the food was hot and they cleaned up after guests fast.It is only a 2 1/2 block walk to Waikiki beach.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor on the corners looking towards the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cscdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Aloha "Cscdg",
I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. I hope you enjoyed your cruise.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mahalo
Tim Clark, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. The staff was super friendly. The only thing I would have to 'complain' about is that it was a bit loud early in the morning due to street noise, e.g. garbage truck, traffic...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin96704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Aloha "Martin96704",
Mahalo Martin for staying with us. Thank you for taking the time to sharte your experience here on trip advisor.
I hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Tim Clark, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Brilliant little hotel. It is two blocks back from the main stip but only a five minute walk. One block down were all the bus stops so was very easy to get around.

Staff are extremely helpful and have a tour desk and they give you excellent advice on the different tours available.

Rooms were serviced daily. Rooms are cosy, but come with fridge coffee machine and microwave. All have a balcony and the views are great. Beds are wonderfully soft and are so very comfortable.

Street noise can be a little bit loud but not enough to disturb.

I would most definately stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisawesley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Aloha "LisaWesley13",
I'm glad we were a Gem for you. We appreciate you staying with us.
See you soon
Tim Clark, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a great small hotel just 3 block off of the beach. The hotel staff is very welcoming and makes you feel like family while staying there. The rooms are clean and have in room fridge, coffee maker and safe.

Room Tip: You are in Hawaii! You aren't in your room much, so they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciscis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Aloha "Ciscis",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki. I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you return soon.
Mahalo
Tim Clark, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Property: Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Address: 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, one of Waikiki's most popular hotels, is a boutique hotel located 2 blocks to the beach and steps from world class dining and shopping. The large, open air lobby connects to a fitness area and Internet cafe as well as a relaxing pool area with cabanas and barbeque grill lit by tiki torches every evening. Continental breakfast is served complimentary daily for bookings made directly through Aqua. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Aloha Surf allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Interent throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towels and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, Aloha Aqua Surf guest rooms offer AquaBLISS pillow top beds, LCD TV's, mini-refrigerator, a microwave, coffeemaker and safe. Select accommodations offer views of the magical Koolau Mountain range and Ala Wai Golf Course. Self Parking is $25 daily. Note: Oversized vehicles will not fit in the hotel parking garage. If you have what you believe may be an oversized vehicle, please call the hotel to confirm whether the garage can accommodate the vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Aloha Surf Honolulu
Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing