We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, shabby rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Ranked #65 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We loved the location of the Aqua Aloha Surf, but the rooms are so tiny and shabby. We stayed for a couple of nights in December and the trade winds almost blew out the windows! It was so noisy. We were on the 14th floor and we could hear lots of street noise throughout the night.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower floors are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Aloha "BarbaraL",
Thank you for your feedback. We are working on a project to renovate our guest rooms in 2013.
Hopefully the next time you come and stay with us, we will have a nice new room for you to stay in.
Happy New Year!
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,680)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 1,680 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

You really can't beat the location and the price. Rooms are clean, staff friendly, free breakfast. Also you have a frig, microwave and dishes. If you want to eat in, you can pick up a roasted chicken at the Food Pantry and microwaveable veggies and have dinner. Helps you save on some expenses. Very reasonable cost for Hawaii and especially Waikiki. You're in the heart of Waikiki, a short couple of blocks to the beach, Duke's statue and shopping. There's an Alamo/Enterprise only a block and a half away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Satchie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Aloha "SatchieC",
Thank you for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on trip advisor.
Mahalo
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is the 4th year in a row I have stayed at this hotel during my winter get away. As usually the staff is what makes this hotel a stand out. I will confess that it is starting to show a little bit of wear a tear; my a/c unit was so loud (grinding noise) when I went to my room that I immediately requested a new room. They took care of it right away and even gave me a free upgrade, (which I do appreciate).

The rooms are fine, basic and clean. Breakfast was included with my room (a Continental breakfast; pancakes, oatmeal, juice, coffee, fruit, juice and muffins). Considering the cost in Waikiki for food, this really does help keep the cost down.

It is located only a couple blocks from Waikiki beach, easy to get to from the airport, via bus or shuttle. Free wifi (only in the lobby) and of course their superstar front desk people.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Aloha "Megsss",
Mahalo for returning to stay with us again. Four years! We appreciate your loyal patronage. By this time next year all of our guest rooms should be newly renovated. We are working on a plan to renovate our guest rooms in mid 2013. I am very excited about it. I thikn you will love the results.
Mahalo
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great place as far as location and price. Rooms are decent size and very clean upon arrival. Maids also were very kind and accommodating. On my day off, when i wanted to sleep in they came back several hours later to clean the room. My only complaint being that i recieved a phone call from the lobby that they had recieved several complaints of smoking in my room. I don't smoke, however i did throw a coworkers empty cigarette box in my trash so it wouldn't be left in our rental car. The hotel staff was apologetic and said he must have the wrong room, but it just rubbed me the wrong way.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferMari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Aloha "JenniferMari",
Thank you for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf. I am sorry about our front desk calling you about the smoking when you weren't smoking. I am glad they apologized for their mistake. Because all of the guest rooms at the aloha surf, including lanais, are smoke free we do our best to curb this behavior. We do have a designated smoking area outside the building, but we do not allow smoking in our rooms or lanais.
I appreciate you sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor
Best Wishes,
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The service is average at best. I called to ask for a certain type of room, and they said they cannot guarantee anything - which is kind of funny if you can't even tell what room is available one day in advance. Sometimes no one answer the phone for service but when they do staffs are mostly friendly.

The room is rather tiny and expensive. The hotel is old and not very well maintained. The air conditioner sucks and cannot keep the room cool in November, which make sleep terrible. It has wired internet but no WIFI, which seems to be backward in the age of smartphone and tablet.

It is in a good location, 5 minute walk to the strip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Aloha "Elty123"
Mahalo for staying with us during your recent visit to Waikiki.
I appreciate you sharing your experience here on trip advisor. We are working on a plan to renovate our guest rooms in 2013. This renovation will address the issues you mentioned in your comments.
Mahalo and Aloha,
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel and found the staff welcoming, the hotel rooms are comfortable and clean. The front desk was helpful time after time answering dunb questions from two aussie tourists. We appreciated all that they have done for us and would recommend them to anybody looking for reasonable accommodation in waikiki.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Aloha "MartinP",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf during your recent visit to Waikiki.
We appreciate your business and your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best Wishes,
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Second trip to Honolulu. Arrived a day early from Fiji and were accomodated no problem. 15th floor, junior suite. Queen + double hideabed both good. Furnishings definitely look tired and should be replaced. Patio furniture minimalistic. Bathroom average. Everything working fine. A/C good altho' the unit was pretty rusty on exterior. Service good. Front desk helpful, tour staff on site. Free WiFi in lobby and wired in suite. Continental breakfast next to front desk in a very tired establishment. Not sure what the relationship is between hotel and restaurant, whatever, they need to spruce this place up to 2012 standards. We tried the dinner buffet in same place and it was poor. Thirty mins after opening, the food was tepid at best. I told the server who shrugged it off. I understand the hotel is actually a mixture of time share and units with out of town owners whose units are rented out in their absence. In practical terms it made no difference. Lots of Canadian guests and owners. Price was the main attraction. ABC store 50 yards. Bus to Pearl Harbor, Ala Moana shopping, Diamond Head 100 yards. Definitely convenient. Car rental not required here.

Room Tip: Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Aloha "KsW_MD",
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on trip advisor. I appreciate you selecting the aloha surf for your recent visit to Waikiki. we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Tim Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.1 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#75 of 84 in Honolulu
761 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
Pearl Hotel Waikiki
#74 of 84 in Honolulu
1,208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ewa Hotel
Ewa Hotel
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
482 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Address: 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: $131 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, one of Waikiki's most popular hotels, is a boutique hotel located 2 blocks to the beach and steps from world class dining and shopping. The large, open air lobby connects to a fitness area and Internet cafe as well as a relaxing pool area with cabanas and barbeque grill lit by tiki torches every evening. Continental breakfast is served complimentary daily for bookings made directly through Aqua. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Aloha Surf allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Interent throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towels and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, Aloha Aqua Surf guest rooms offer AquaBLISS pillow top beds, LCD TV's, mini-refrigerator, a microwave, coffeemaker and safe. Select accommodations offer views of the magical Koolau Mountain range and Ala Wai Golf Course. Self Parking is $25 daily. Note: Oversized vehicles will not fit in the hotel parking garage. If you have what you believe may be an oversized vehicle, please call the hotel to confirm whether the garage can accommodate the vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Aloha Surf Honolulu
Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing